We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A home from home”
other travelers have booked this property
Drinks and dinner on the patio overlooking The Fowey River.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Drinks and dinner on the patio overlooking The Fowey River.
Lostwithiel bridge beach. Patio overlooking river
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Drinks and dinner on the patio overlooking The Fowey River.
Lostwithiel bridge beach.
Patio overlooking river
Master bedroom and shower room.
Double bedroom with adjoining bathroom.
Top floor Moroccan twin bedroom with en suite shower room.
Cornish cream tea on the patio
Ground floor sitting room    doors onto patio.
Ground floor sitting room.
Ground floor sitting room.
First floor sitting area.
First floor sitting area.
First floor dining area.
First floor kitchen area.
Master bedroom and shower room
Double bedroom.
Looking over bridge into Lostwithiel
From Patio looking upriver.
Bridge at high tide.
Fowey river outside Brunel Quays.
Lostwithiel's Restormel Castle.
Eden Project 4 miles from house.
Par Beach 4.5 miles from house.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lostwithiel, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Suzieq96
Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A home from home”
Reviewed January 12, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

There are many reasons why you should stay here and one veing its a place that has everything you need and more. It is so convienent to the town of Lostwithiel ,this is a big plus as there is plenty to do there. Its also very convienent for visiting other places near by.,
The beds are so comfortable i am going to go out and buy the same matress for my home.
The view from the sitting room of the River and town is delightful. Always something to look at.
You also get a lot of support from the owner Vivienne and Jayne. Nothing is too much trouble.
Sadly in January a lot of places close just after New Year for at least three weeks. There are two very good restaurants in Lostwithiel which were closed. We did manage to go to Sams on the beach and The Duchy Restaurant at the nursery which i can highly recomend. Also Talland Bay Hotel for fabulous food and atmosphere and views. Dont rush to Jamacia Inn.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 30, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed the Moorings and Lostwithiel and hope we can welcome you back on future trips when you can enjoy more restaurants in the town. Vivienne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
215alex
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My sisters and I (all over 60 and from Australia) had a wonderful week at The Moorings in a June 2014.

The house was immaculate as well as being beautifully furnished throughout and it included everything needed to make a perfect holiday, right down to a welcoming package of fresh scones, clotted cream etc.

The scenery from the front of the house was idyllic and the village of Lostwithiel is just lovely with many fine eateries, antique shops and lots of history.

As we didn't have a car it was an ideal place to stay being so close to the railway.

I would recommend this property to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The stairs
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busterfri...
UK lake district
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed at 'the moorings' 17th - 24th may this year, all we can say is that it is absolutely perfect, everything about the moorings is brilliant, the attention to detail has been tremendous, we arrived to a lovely welcome pack of cider wine and scones, I've never stopped anywhere as well equipped as this, 4 TV's, every kitchen gadget you would need, en-suite in the master bedroom and on the top floor room, and a separate bathroom on the second floor, the house is handy for everything, railway station outside, supermarket 2 mins walk away, friendly people in the village pubs and restaurants, the view over the river Fowey at the back of the house was tranquil quiet and peaceful, we are definitely considering returning next year !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and quality of the property
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ab Fab”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

A stunning well equipped property in the very prettiest of settings. The welcome pack was well thought out and everywhere was spotless. Lostwithiel station is an easy walk if you don't want to drive and the town itself has plenty of interesting pubs,restaurants and coffee shops. We joined in a pub quiz one evening-it was hilarious, everyone made us most welcome. A lovely break from city life.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review.I really appreciate your kind comments and I am delighted you had such a good holiday. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to Brunel Quays. V
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess T
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An American's first stay in a cosy Cornwall town!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed at this property in Cornwall and thought this part of England was very charming and beautiful.

The house was very clean and didn't feel like a holiday house at all because there were nice paintings and little touches everywhere. The house provided means of entertainment when my friends and I were in the mood to take it easy and stay in. There is a wonderful selection of books, movies and games. More than anything in the house though, I appreciated the decorations and design the most, every room is darling and comfortable!

We were a little worried about how close by the train was but it actually ended up being a bonus. We did rent a car but BE WARNED many of the local roads in Cornwall are barely wide enough for one car, let alone two and they are not marked as narrow. As Americans, with our wide and well-marked roads, we were quite intimidated and found driving to be a challenge. We ended up taking the two compartment local train all over the county, which was great as we didn't have to cope with roads, traffic and parking issues.

The town of Lostwithiel is very quaint and friendly and we got to know several of the local businesses , like Frans Pantry Pasty Shop. YUM!!! Although, we had to keep in mind that the places throughout the town had early closing hours. Overall, it was such a wonderful stay, if we return we will definitely stay at this lovely property again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The old charm of the town was my favorite aspect
Liked least: I had to get use to things closing at an earlier hour than what I'm accustom to
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfk1958
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simply fabulous”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

The Moorings is what it advertises. A modern townhouse , very nicely equipped, well maintained and spotlessly clean. We used the TV room and patio as it overlooks the river and is a restful place to sit. The patio on the ground floor would be great on a warm day! The open plan living on first floor is very comfortable and all one needs is provided. Cornish cream tea , wine etc were a nice touch.

When we saw the railway near by we were concerned but actually it was fine, very useful to get into Plymouth. Certainly good for touring, plenty of local walks , castle etc and good restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved walking around the corner to get fresh local pasties and it is useful having a supermarket in the village.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanne S
Lisburn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great house. Well equipped. Lovely location.”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

This is our second stay at The Moorings. This is the best holiday house we have stayed in. The house looked exactly as advertised on the website. It was spotless and very well equipped. It was very centrally located and within walking distance of pubs and restaurants. It was lovely to barbecue on the patio beside the river. Wouldn't hesitate to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and well equipped
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing