We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COMFORTABLE stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Had a one nighter with son playing golf. Does what it says on the tin, with acceptable and comfortable accommodation. But has its downfalls - the food, particularly the breakfast was 50 minutes coming and really wasn't worth the wait - the chef was "having a Gordon Ramsey" moment apparently!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 138 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed with my sister to visit Eden Project. Great potential but tired. Stayed in room 8 in Granary and we could hear other guests. Furnishings old and tired, bathroom very, old and tired. Beds spotlessly clean, hot water was plentiful, the shower was challenging. All staff pleasant and helpful. Breakfast fine, bar meal tasty and reasonably priced.
Not top quality, but not top prices, we weren't disappointed with the value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed here as a stop-gap and found this little place. For the money this gives decent clean honest accommodation. We were put in a lovely bright airy room which had a huge double bed (2 twins zipped together) plus a further single bed. Windows on each side of the room gave for some lovely welcomed fresh air as we were experiencing some unusually hot weather. Bedding was spotless and so too was the bathroom. Breakfast was plentiful and hot with extras to the norm like haddock with poached egg. We ate in the Clubhouse Bar for the evening which was busy but very friendly and homely. Bar food was good and service was prompt, polite and effecient. We would definitely stay here again should the need arise. Really friendly welcoming staff. Well done all - keep up the good work.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 as this had dual aspect.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacee858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Went for a weekend of golf and relaxation and this hotel fulfilled it. The hotel has rooms in converted outbuildings and are pleasingly decorated and give a good nights rest. The bar and restaurant are spacious with excellent food served in both and staff are all very friendly and give a good service. There is a nice little swimming pool and the other facilities are good. The golf course is very pretty with loads of colourful rhododendrons all around, it is a very tight course and hilly in the first half, but it adds to the variety of golf shots required. The fairways and greens are well manicured and make play very enjoyable. The pro shop is well stocked and is a credit to Nick Cook and his staff, a great place and will definitely be returning

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Have recently visited with a group of friends to play golf on two days with an overnight stay. A moan to start with - the website is pretty poor. No information on the golf course or on the menus etc.

The golf course was an interesting one to say the least. Set in beautiful countryside and very well kept, the course is certainly demanding. The second day was certainly easier; once you had some idea of the layout. I would certainly recommend a buggy - there are lots of hills and quite a walk between some holes.

The hotel had a variety of buildings ail were very comfortable and well appointed. The food we had was generally pretty good and certainly good value. Breakfast in particular was freshy cooked and plentiful. The evening meal was good but not great. (If your having apple pie and custard, one or both of them should be hot!).

Overall it was a really enjoyable visit and it is somewhere to return to in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThemaceSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Had a wonderful evening at Lostwithiel Hotel, Golf & Country Club. Although I would love to have tried the golf course the evening was spent with family for a birthday party celebration. The staff were fabulous, the service was great and the food was especially lovely. Excellent place for any event, so I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The golf course here is extremely demanding. In fact, it's two courses in one: the front side is built along the side of a steep hill—the trick being to just keep the ball on the fairway; the back nine wanders through a flat river valley that is much more accommodating to shot-making.
While certainly challenging, the course is fair: the greens hold and run true for putting; and the course is well-maintained.
But there are no rental clubs (although the Pro may be able to put something together for you, as he did for me).
The hotel is something else. Rooms have been carved out of old stone farm outbuildings and are tiny, not air conditioned with minimal furnishings. Beds are prep-school sized (barely 3 ft. wide), the 'desk' is a tiny lady's dressing table, and the wardrobe has only hanging space. Carpeting is stained and threadbare and furniture is battered and old. Hot water is iffy in the shower (five of six uses were tepid or cold).
Advertised WiFi is only available in the reception area. Strong signal, but who wants to communicate in public.
The restaurant was only open for breakfast, although a fair menu was available from the bar on the first floor. Typical pub food was good and plentiful. Great bar with very good prices!
The grounds are picturesque and the views are magnificent in all direction.
The staff is cheerful and always willing to assist in any way.
For all of that I wouldn't stay for more than an overnight here, and then only to experience the golf.

Room Tip: Avoid rm. 1: it's up a steep narrow staircase.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick W, Manager at Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Thank you for taking time out in order to give us some valuable feedback after your stay at Lostwithiel Hotel & Golf Club.

The Head Green-keeper & his team will be pleased to know that you enjoyed playing the course as a huge amount of effort goes into getting it into such good condition, however, I am disappointed that you felt unable to bring up your room's shower temperature, during one of our many chats.

As yet air conditioning is not common place in the UK mainly due to our inclement climate but I recall I was able to make your room more comfortable on your first night stay after a quick visit to your room at your request.

You are right in saying Room 1 is upstairs and it should be avoided by anyone in poor health but over 60% of our our rooms are on the ground floor & in retrospect one of these may have suited you better.

I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food & beverages on offer (and the great prices) and I hope you enjoy the remainder of your holiday in England & flight home to the U.S.

All the best, Rick & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lostwithiel
0.9 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
502 reviews
3.8 mi away
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
0.8 mi away
Royal Oak Inn
Royal Oak Inn
#2 of 3 in Lostwithiel
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Cormorant Hotel
The Cormorant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Golant
353 reviews
17.0 mi away
St Mellion International Resort
5.3 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club

Address: Lower Polscoe, Lostwithiel PL22 0HQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Price Range: $61 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lostwithiel Hotel Golf And Country Club
Lostwithiel Hotel Country
Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing