We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Our party of 6 stayed at Lostwithiel GC for a 3 day golf break last week and we were all very impressed.

The golf course was in great shape and most of us managed to play close to our handicap, which was nice as it was our first visit.

The hotel is fairly small, but room 26 was perfect for a short break and it was great to have a quick swim before having a few beers and a meal evening.

All the staff made us feel very welcome and we will be back next year.

Room Tip: room 26 was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 138 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

We booked to stay here for a weekend but on arrival were extremely disappointed. Unfortunately it did not get any better when we were shown to our rooms. They were dirty and very old fashioned. Would definitely not stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 442sunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend for my birthday as we have family nearby but wanted to spend a night somewhere just the two of us before visiting family. The hotel was terrible from the offset. No logical layout to the carpark with cars and golf buggys parked wherever people felt like leaving them. The family checking in before us were told about the opening hours of the pool/ breakfast etc however we were given no helpful information just informed that they didn't have a room available as the same one we'd booked (I actually had to show a screenshot of the booking I made as the woman on reception wouldn't even believe that we had booked a double room not a twin!) we were eventually told someone would push the two beds together while we went out (brilliant).
We had dinner in the sports bar upstairs, there was no seating available other than some dated sofas directly opposite the bar and although the barman was friendly and engaging we were very much made to feel that this was a locals sports bar and our presence was not welcomed by the group of old men drinking lager and playing pool. I asked for no peas with my dinner, to which the barman replied 'I'll put it on your order but I doubt the chef will listen' lo and behold my order came out with peas, what if I had been asking due to an allergy?
The room was nicely decorated in a shabby chic style however the walls were so thin we could hear word-for-word other guests conversations, the water tanks were intermittently rumbling all night and the tv which we used to try to block out the noise would only show free view with a poor reception which kept cutting out to static.
Breakfast was the worst part of the stay. We decided to go to breakfast early however I don't think it would have made a difference what time we ate. Breakfast was ran by two overworked teenagers with no sign of management. We were not spoken to by any member of staff during breakfast. There was only one table not covered in dirty plates and that was taken while we were waiting for the buffet to be restocked meaning we had to sit at a table with no cutlery/sauces which I had to find myself. The buffet, if you can call it that, consisted of a hot plate of dried up beans, some grilled tomatoes and two greasy sausages which we felt guilty taking as a family walked in just after us. There was no toast or at least we weren't offered any. We received a 20% discount on account of the room being wrongly booked but on the basis of our experience I was unhappy to hand over any money to this poorly ran establishment. If you want an enjoyable stay do not book this hotel, however if you are after poor value for money, terrible service with a poor attitude and a tired hotel this is right up your street!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellveetea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

we stayed here for one night and found the reception staff helpful.. The room itself was very dark and felt cold I know the walls are stone but it certainly didn't feel cosy. The shower wasn't that clean. Management have recognised there is a problem with noise but nothing has been done so far and we were able to hear every noise from the room above. Breakfast was served in a very large room which is definitely lacking in atmosphere.
The location is excellent and a good base for exploring this part of Cornwall.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Recently brought a group of Old Gits to celebrate my 65th Birthday. The men to play and the ladies to go sightseeing and shopping! We all had an excellent weekend. Trudy and her staff, including the Pro. John the Barman was brilliant! They made us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was excellent and there was plenty of it and a wide selection. The Course was in superb condition with wonderful views. Thanks for making it a weekend to remember! We found our rooms to be completely satisfactory and everyone in Group would happily visit again.

David R Carter, Swindon

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

A perfect venue for our party of golfers and partners. The staff are very friendly and helpful, nothing was a problem.The rooms if a little tired are very clean and comfortable. The food was good,plenty of it,and a good choice.The golf course is a challenge with some great holes and the greens are in excellent condition.

Well done Lostwithiel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcolm m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The word I've seen used on other reviews is tired and I have to agree. The location is excellent very peacefull with good views however the hotel public areas look to be in need of redecorating and generally smartening up, the hotel layout means that the guest rooms are outside in separate small buildings but the outside areas are also in need of tidying and weeding. My room was a good size, reasonably clean with a ensuite shower, but it did have a slightly damp odour. The following morning the breakfast was a buffet style and offered a reasonable but not great choice. The best feature of my stay were the staff, all of which were pleasant and friendly. The location and layout of the hotel are very good but the presentation could do with some attention.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sm0key2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lostwithiel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
549 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
0.5 mi away
Royal Oak Inn
Royal Oak Inn
#2 of 3 in Lostwithiel
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Penrose B&B
Penrose B&B
#1 of 13 in Lostwithiel
285 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Old Chapel B&B
The Old Chapel B&B
#2 of 13 in Lostwithiel
123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#5 of 13 in Lostwithiel
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club

Address: Lower Polscoe, Lostwithiel PL22 0HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Price Range: $60 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lostwithiel Hotel Golf And Country Club
Lostwithiel Hotel Country
Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing