We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found a nugget in lostwithiel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stopped here on way to our Cornish cottage holiday, because a certain large chain charge too too much for a basic room. This place was excellent value, with real courteous and helpful staff, not computers. Just what I needed good food and beer, very comfortable bed and a swim to wake up in the morning. Pity I had no golf clubs with me. Will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 138 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

Oh what a shame, the staff to the best of there abilities struggled to provide the service required.
Breakfast was a nightmare at times, although it was mainly self service, each morning you were completely invisible when arriving in dining room when waiting for tea and toast.
There was always something missing plates, glasses, milk, STAFF. The management really need to look at this it is such a shame as our room was lovely and speaking to other guests there's seemed to be too.
You really should not have to ask all the time for things which should be automatically provided, and then feel you are being a nuisance.
I would be very happy to see a reply from management as to why such poor service is being given, your star rating should be reduced.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank wsm62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Situated in the old dairy, it was more like a small terraced house with its own front door. The room had a small dressing area, reasonably spacious bedroom and very nice sized bathroom with both a shower enclosure and a bath. It all felt very modern and attractively decorated with nice thick towels and cushions etc. The downside was my inability to access the wifi: I had the password and appeared to be connected but couldn't do anything. That was annoying. We were also unable to access the pool despite using the correct keypad number. We stayed on a Wed night and discovered the pool is used for swimming lessons on a Wed afternoon/evening. We ate in the bar and although I would rate my salad as 'fine', my partner absolutely loved his stirfry! The dessert was reasonably priced at £1.99 if taken with a main meal, so we didn't complain when it actually tasted a bit off. That was probably due to the exceptionally hot weather we'd been having. Breakfast in the dining room was very acceptable. It was mainly help yourself, but the few members of staff that were visible were as helpful as you could expect so no complaints there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed here beofre attending a wedding in Newquay. I found it a thoroughly excellent experience. In particular, I found the staff wxtremely courteous and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and I was made to feel welcome and valued as a customer. This applied to reception, manager , bar staff and waitresses alike.
The room was very clean and well appointed. A further bonus was having a long swim after a tiring drive in the heated indoor pool. Most relaxing and refreshing! I would not hesitate to recommend this establishment to my friends and colleagues and hoper to return there in the near future.
Geoff Spurgeopn

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel room I stayed in was the deluxe/superior triple room in the old dairy it was clean, tidy, comfortable well furnished with a lovely en-suit and comfy beds.
I slept very well during my stay with no intrusion of noise from neighbouring rooms.
The food was excellent homely style food and the Saturday night carvery which was laid on for us was very much appreciated after a long day of off roading.
Trudy, Sarah and there team looked after us very well and we intend on returning :-)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sibby95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I booked up 3 rooms at Lostwithiel hotel golf and country club. The reason for our stay for our stay was we would be doing a spot of green laning in the local area. We needed a place to stay with comfortable facility's. I personally made the booking by telephone speaking with Sarah. Upon our arrival we were made very welcome by Trudy and her staff. We opted to dine in for both nights which was very good food and hit the spot. The rooms were very comfortable, the staff were very helpful,food was great, Sarah from reception even sorted out taxis to town for us all.

I'm sure the hotel don't get many tricked up land rovers and trailer lined up in there car park very often and we were all a little apprehensive how our arrival would be looked upon by the locals. We needn't have worried as Trudy and Sarah made us feel at ease.

Upon reading previous negative comments about this hotel. I would urge people to ask them selves what they are looking for when staying away. If u are comparing it to a multimillion pound corporation like premier inn,travel lodge ect you might be a little disappointed by lack of staff ect. But if you want a comfortable place to stay with the personal touch this is perfect. Ok so the bar staff is also reception staff as well as golf pro shop staff as well as waiting staff ect..In my eyes this is a plus point. They are passionate about there job in these economic times loyal staff are worth there wait in gold. As I said before if you want an impersonal place to stay book into a premier inn at a service area on the A30 .

I for one will be returning with my family and friends to lostwithiel hotel golf and country club for years to come.

Room Tip: The old dairy rooms are something very special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Landynutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here with husband and our dog. Good location, went on some lovely walks. Furnishings in bar at bit worn but lovely views and evening meals were really good. The food, staff and prices were all excellent. Beds comfy, room clean and breakfast very good, juice, cereal, cooked buffet, help yourself, lots to choose from, one vegetarian and they had a good choice as well. Would stay again!

Room Tip: Stayed in Linney barn conversion with our dog. Lots of places to walk and very nice surroundings. At...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mylifeinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lostwithiel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
550 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
0.5 mi away
Royal Oak Inn
Royal Oak Inn
#2 of 3 in Lostwithiel
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Penrose B&B
Penrose B&B
#1 of 13 in Lostwithiel
285 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Old Chapel B&B
The Old Chapel B&B
#2 of 13 in Lostwithiel
123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#5 of 13 in Lostwithiel
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club

Address: Lower Polscoe, Lostwithiel PL22 0HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Price Range: $60 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lostwithiel Hotel Golf And Country Club
Lostwithiel Hotel Country
Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing