We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We did not play golf!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in June. The location is very handy for local visits such as the Eden Project and Helligan. The staff were very efficient and friendly. We used both the restaurant and bar for eating and and were not disappointed. We stayed B&B and our en-suite room was clean and adequate although the beds were on the firm side. The only problem was that the room was quite noisy as sounds could be clearly heard from other rooms particularly people walking around above.

Room Tip: Avoid a room in the Granary block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cymru1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 138 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

OK so it was a discounted deal through Groupon but it should still have measured up to the blurb! Overall it was tired and dull.
Arrived to no welcome at all only to be told we were early.Yes we were so we played 9 holes and returned to reception all of two hours later.'What was the name?' and 'if you were thinking of eating here tonight I'm afraid we are fully booked' said the 'smelly of smoke' receptionist.
Could we not have been asked on the first arrival?So, out to dinner then......
Breakfast to be fair was very good however the tables were not cleared between cereals and toast and cooked, so it was difficult to find a place on the table for everything.
No dress code, as in other golf and countrys, as there were four workmen in dirty overalls and boots seated at a table tucking in, on velvet chairs to be used in the evening for dinner!
The piece de resistance however was to be told by the young staff that there were plenty of tables in the dining room the night before and even if full we could have been squeezed in as we were residents!!!
To be fair , the accomodation was fine and, except for the reception staff, the staff pleasant but it could have been so much better if there was someone 'driving the ship'
The evening dinner was painful with one person in the dining room and, I was informed ,one person in the kitchen. The waiting time was not acceptable especially as prices were equivalent to mid range restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank artyfartyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We picked this hotel with a special offer solely for the golf. We have played on 18 hole par 3 and 9 hole long courses but first time on full 18 hole. We found it stimulating for the variety of the holes and the variety of terrain. Quite tired after first day but treated ourselves to a buggy for second day. We thought the fairways and greens were well maintained. We had a superior double room 28 and found it large, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast is fairly standard, everything that you could need in buffet style. The bar area could do with an update in decor but it met our needs. Finding ourselves so close to the Eden Project was a bonus as we were able to visit early in the morning before the crowds - bliss. Would like to go again. Value excellent because of the special offer deal, on published prices would have to move to very good.

Room Tip: Room 28 is a large upstairs room in the dairy. It has a kingsize comfortable bed, bunk beds in an L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riverbankannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Just had a long weekend in this golf club hotel. So handy for visiting the Eden Project which is only a few minutes down the road. Stayed bed and breakfast and the ensuite rooms were more than adequate. The restaurant was good. Food well presented and tasty. Service very good. Not too much going on in the local town. Indoor swimming pool on site. All rooms located in converted barns adjacent to the golf club itself. Didn't feel that we were 'in the way' because we weren't golfers. If we had been, there was a very good discount for playing golf. Will no doubt return, with clubs next time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Picked this solely for the swimming lessons with Helen Massy, and I wasnt disappointed. Helen is very personable and an excellent teacher. I would strongly recommend her, you probably can get a couple of hours tuition if you need it during your break and can make contact via the hotel.

I went in Feb as the hotel's website gives the cost as £260 for B & B inc. 4 x 40 mins lessons with Helen. I was charged £308 and wasnt impressed to say the least.

Breakfast was good as it is freshly made. Dinner was mediocre though the bangers and mash was very good. Room service will set you back £5!

The staff are very friendly and for solo travellers like myself that goes a long way. I didnt go into the gym though I am aware there is one on site.

Room Tip: Room 4 in the Granary was close enough for wifi and very quiet. Go for a walk or even better, hire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zinizana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

From the momment I lifted the telephone to book the hotel felt relaxed very pleasant lady answered the phone. On arriving equally as nice. rooms are very basic but clean, beds very comfortable, I was expecting a terrible place after seeing the reviews was pleasently surprised. The pool for my daughter was exellent, they also have a gym. About 2 miles from local town taxi cost us £10 return, but beleive we where ripped off apparently £3.oo one way. I beleive the golf course is tricky not been on it but surely you golfers love a challenge! I had a reasonable priced stay off ebay, but looking at the prices on the board very reasonable anyway. All in all a very pleasant 2 day break. One last thing dont fetch evening dresses which i did very casual and relaxed, but it is january so quiet anyway. Food prices reasonable as well. About £14 for steak.

Room Tip: room near pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzyrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We recently held our wedding reception here and we were more than happy with how it all went. The staff were very helpful and easy to work with during the preparations. The room looked beautiful and the food was really good. All courses were served promptly so that our guests, that totalled 70, were all eating at pretty much the same time. I was kept informed throughout regarding the serving of food and times at which we could enter the main room for food, and later, the evening reception. When we weren't in the main room we had the use of the bar upstairs, which worked really well.

We also stayed the night. Our room was really clean and very nicely turned out. The room service was prompt and courteous. I would highly recommend using Lostwithiel Hotel Golf and Country Club for your wedding reception.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lostwithiel
0.9 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
515 reviews
3.8 mi away
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
0.8 mi away
Royal Oak Inn
Royal Oak Inn
#2 of 3 in Lostwithiel
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Cormorant Hotel
The Cormorant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Golant
360 reviews
6.0 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
7.2 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club

Address: Lower Polscoe, Lostwithiel PL22 0HQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Price Range: $59 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lostwithiel Hotel Golf And Country Club
Lostwithiel Hotel Country
Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing