We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful estate owned by genuinely lovely family”
Review of Boconnoc House

Boconnoc House
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Boconnoc is a country house in South East Cornwall tucked down two miles of private roads. The main house is 18th century and has been restored over the last 12 years. It is surrounded by park and woodland with beautiful views down the valley to the lake and once you arrive there is total peace and tranquility. The property is available to hire for weddings, events, house parties or corporate events. There are four large reception rooms and 9 bedrooms in the house and anther 9 bedrooms in total in three holiday houses onsite. Whether you want a romantic champagne and cream tea for 2, a peaceful holiday for the family or a wedding party of 250 Boconnoc is an ideal location.
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

I visited Boconnoc as a potential wedding venue with my parents on Sunday and we were blown away. Not only by the breathtaking views all over the estate but also by the warmth and hospitality of the family that owns the property whose daughter was showing us around. We travelled from Hampshire so we were offered tea/coffee on arrival to help settle in and shown wedding albums to get a feel for the many photo opportunities available. They were not only flexible to allow us total freedom with how we wanted to decorate the house and how we wanted the day to pan out, but also very flexible with the reasonable pricing. Unlike many venues that are so grand as this one. The house has a lovely feel to it and would be a perfect venue for any occasion. The rooms were first class and two had the biggest single frame bedroom windows I have ever seen. I would totally recommend it to anyone looking to hire a venue, not only for outstanding natural beauty, but also wanting to find a place owned by genuine and down-to-earth people that don't stand on pomp and ceremony. Cannot speak highly enough of the experience.

1  Thank Niccoli87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare F, Guest Relations Manager at Boconnoc House, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2014

Dear Nicoll, Very many thanks for your kind words about the owners and Boconnoc. It was a pleasure showing you around and we do hope you have a fabulous wedding at the venue you have chosen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Boconnoc House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 73 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014

Attended as a wedding guest. Once found through the myriad of Cornish roads, you enter the estate and still have to drive the very long drive through wonderful woods. But the wait is well worth it. A fabulous old Mansion House on a huge estate, complete with its own church and an assortment of accommodation both in the Mansion House and in various estate properties around the estate. This is a brilliant location and with the service, this is a memorable place to stay when visiting Cornwall. A real gem.

1  Thank Roddy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare F, Guest Relations Manager at Boconnoc House, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2014

Dear Roddy, We are delighted you enjoyed the wedding you attended at Boconnoc this Summer. We do hope to see you here in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Was there at a financial seminar followed by lunch today. Fabulous place and grounds, delicious lunch and just a great day. A perfect venue for any event. The Fortescues were very hospitable and as well as being there themselves all the time gave us a talk about the house at lunch time. A fabulous day.k

Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare F, Guest Relations Manager at Boconnoc House, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2014

Dear Phillip, We are glad you enjoyed the event you attended at Boconnoc and thank you for the review. We hope to see you again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Lovely house, outbuildings hosts the Early spring flower shoe for the best of camellias, daffodils etc. House has undergone a programme of refurbishment & is a popular wedding venue

Thank Cornish_traveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare F, Guest Relations Manager at Boconnoc House, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2014

Dear Cornish_Traveller, We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to the Cornwall Garden Society Spring Flower. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We visited to see the gardens only for a charity event; it was May so many of the Shrubs were in bloom, making it very pretty. We looked around the courtyard, the church and the excellent model railway layout based on the local railway station at Loswithiel. We read about the house restorations, which have been taking place over the last 40 years and will return to see the interior of the house.

Thank GusHon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare F, Guest Relations Manager at Boconnoc House, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2014

Dear GusHon, Many thanks for your review of the Flower Show. We look forward to showing you in the interiors of Boconnoc House in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boconnoc House also viewed

 

Been to Boconnoc House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing