We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“home from home”
other travelers have booked this property
Driftwood
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Driftwood
Lovely comment in our guest book
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Driftwood
Lovely comment in our guest book
Happy guests
Welcome, come on in and make yourselves at home.
Fully enclosed shower in en suite
Great feedback from happy guests
sea treasure
Sunny private garden
Courtyard garden
hallway
Parking alongside Driftwood
Sheltered courtyard garden
Lostwithiel bridge
Cornish mining heritage
Evening harbour walks
Charlestown harbour
Bodmin moor
Coastal walks
Secluded beaches and coastal walks
Charlestown harbour
Fowey harbour
Eden Project
Dramatic coastline
Harbour cove
St Michaels mount
St Ives
Slippers!
Ensuite shower room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lostwithiel, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bonnie472
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“home from home”
Reviewed June 28, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

wonderful stay everything you could wish for cottage was spotless . welcome hamper was such a treat. fresh flowers . luxury bedding, towels lush, great location for the eden project, beautiful garden, one of the best we have stayed in.thank you jan for all your little extras in your lovely cottage .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything really 1 st class
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina_S...
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation in a quiet area”
Reviewed January 9, 2015 for a stay in October 2014

The apartment lived up to our expectations gleamed from other reviewers.
It was within easy walking distance of Lostwithiel although uphill which wasn't a problem for us.
It was comfortable, clean and had everything we could have wished for from a self catering property. It was quiet so easy to get a good nights sleep. We didn't meet our hosts but they left us friendly helpful little notes and check-in, check-out was easy. We would be really happy to stay again and would recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quietness
Liked least: challenging to communicate to book, not sure if this was a system issue but correspondence wasn't getting through
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissLibby...
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect place to stay in Lostwithiel, Cornwall”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A warm welcome from Jan and Steve and the hamper was a lovely start to our holiday. Driftwood was a perfect base for visiting The Eden Project and The Lost Gardens of Heligan. The accommodation wad comfortable with everything you could ever need to make your stay enjoyable. We had the best of sleeps as the bed was amazing. Be prepared for the Cornish hills but so rewarding when you see the wonderful views.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJ_Heck
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“All that we could ask for!”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We can only agree with all the positive comments of previous guests. The apartment was clean, fresh, beautifully presented with little details we really appreciated, we traveled around Cornwall quiet easily, the hosts were helpful and gave us our space, can't think of any faults! If you're looking for a peaceful romantic stay this is the place!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete S
Friedrichsdorf, Germany
2 reviews
“Drifting on a high in Lostwithiel”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We spent a delightful relaxing week at Driftwood. With its peaceful setting and very comfortable (and big!) double bed, sleep was never a problem! The flat is well decorated and furnished, with everything you would need and more. There is even a hamper of food waiting on the table, including the ingredients for a cream tea!
The town centre is only a 10 minute walk away, and it has a good selection of shops, restaurants and pubs. If you are antique hunting, then you will be delighted with Lostwithiel, as there are plenty of antique shops.
Driftwood is a great base for exploring, as there are so many interesting places to visit within a 30 minute drive. - Eden Project, Polperro, Fowey, Bodmin & Wenford Steam Railway, Lanhydrock House to name a few.
If you like lierature, then you will be interested in visiting the locations in books (and their associated TV series) by Rosamunde Pilcher(Prideaux Place and Lanhydrock) and Daphne du Maurier ( Jamaica Inn).
This is a great place to stay, and we will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 23, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Having to leave... :-(
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
stevemacA...
Belper, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“PERFECT PLACE TO STAY IN A GREAT TOWN”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Driftwood was the perfect place ,clean,modern,cosy,everything was provided to make a fault free stay.
Lostwithiel is also great base to visit Cornwall.There are some great pubs and restaurants with a handy railway station.Jan was very helpful,with some super tomatoes and green beans as well as providing us with some good local info.
This was our first return to Cornwall in 34 years(we had our honeymoon in Newquay).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing