We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real local pub with good food”

Earl of Chatham Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Earl of Chatham Inn
Ranked #5 of 13 Lostwithiel B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

On the hill to the north of the town lies the pub amongst a terrace of houses, the staff were very welcoming the beer decent and the small restaurant had a good menu. 6 of us had starters and mains and we all commented on the quality of the meal. Definitely recommended if you want a good pub meal!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Yoda-the-Navigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Earl of Chatham Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 51 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Visited this lovely pub a few times during our stay in Liskard. Great menu to chose from and food was excellent. Nice beer garden. Best part( if on a doggie holiday, like us) the dogs were welcome in too. Will def visit again on our next holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We have just returned from a four night stay at the Earl of Chatham, Lostwithiel. Nothing to complain about - the service and the friendly staff are what makes this place. As previous reviews have stated it is a locals pub but everyone makes you feel welcome. Please do not go here if you expect a quiet peaceful evening in your room (it is an Inn after all and therefore can be noisy up until 11.30ish). If you are aware of this before you go then you will be fine. Our room was a decent size with a decent size bathroom. The bed was two zip and link singles so nice and big. Our window opened onto the road. Breakfast was ok. I am fussy about certain things and the sausages were cheap so I couldn't eat them and the coffee wasn't great but they are small criticisms. The Inn is within walking distance of all Lostwithiel has to offer (it's a quiet small town). Would we return again if we were in the area? Yes probably. Thanks to the staff for being so customer focussed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bolton2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We Stayed at the Earl of Chatham 4th/6th July, the rooms are clean and tidy and the bed comfortable. We ate here one night, I had Vegetable lasagne and my husband has Beef pie which was very tasty. This is a locals pub but everyone was friendly, there was a birthday party the next night of our stay but this didn't cause us any problems and we would stay again. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was very nicely cooked.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elizabethsaxby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I headed to Cornwall for a concert at The Eden Project. We stayed at The Earl of Chatham for 3 nights from 28th June 2013. We had a fantastic time. Our room was clean and well presented, the staff were lovely and the food was great!! We mingled in with the locals at the pub and were treated to a right good time. Everyone was so friendly and we shared many laughs in the pub garden with some fantastic people. On our last morning we were a little hungover following a great night at the concert. Jackie was happy to let us keep our room until we were up to the drive home, even though check out should have been at 10am. Overall, this is a hostelry to be recommended and we will definately be back. Thanks to Jackie, her team and the lovely locals in Losthwithiel!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Had dinner here with a colleague.
Firstly we were greeted with zero enthusiasm and informed that all the restaurant tables were booked.
My starter, Brie wedges, was overcooked to the extent that 2 of the 3 were missing their filling. Surely the 'chef' noticed this - but served them anyway.
Main course of king prawns - overcooked and rubbery and served in a dish of water rather than garlic butter.
Finally the garlic bread was flabby not crisp so I guess it had been microwaved.

All served with complete indifference by the waitress. Didn't even bother to ask whether we were happy with our meals.

They claim home cooked food - I suspect freezer to microwave.

To be avoided - there is much better pub food in Lostwithiel for the same price - try the Globe or Oak.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank TykeTraveller1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarlofChatham L, Manager at Earl of Chatham Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

I am sorry this couple did not enjoy their meal. I would like to say that their comments about the food that evening could well be true on this odd occasion, as there was an emergency for the chef (me) that day and another member of staff filled in, but that is as far as this apology goes. You were fitted in the bar, as like you said all tables were booked, and therefore it was not a restaurant scenario. We were extremely busy that night so you did not get restaurant and personal service in the public bar. Quiz night was about to begin||| As for our food not being homecooked. How dare this person make that judgement on one meal that was not quite right. Our food is homecooked. I should know - I cook it.!! From pies, chillies, curries to lasanges everyone home cooked. Even our chips are not frozen. I painstakingly peel potatoes and chip them. To be truthful I feel really quite angry with the comments left by this person. I work very hard and on the whole we have a good reputation for our food and for this misinformed person to tell all and sundry our food is not home cooked and to avoid us is quite untrue and unforgiveable.

Signed by Jackie Truscott - For Earl of Chatham ( I give my name, I wonder if you can give yours)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My young son & I stayed in the Earl of Chatham for 5 nights between the 23rd-28th August, we were met by a very friendly young lady called Kate who showed us to our room which was very clean & was perfect for our needs.
The friendly welcome we recieved put my 5 year old son at ease straight away, everyone we came into contact with whether it was at breakfast or during the day were very polite & very much interested in what we were doing during our stay.
A friend of ours stayed at the Earl of Chatham last year & recommended them to me & we wasn't disappointed, the staff, the pub, the food was all up to a high standard & there's no question where we will be staying next time we come to Lostwithiel.
Thank you Jackie, Kelly, Kate & everyone who made our first stay in Lostwithiel one to remember, look forward to seeing you all next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elsie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lostwithiel
0.4 mi away
Royal Oak Inn
Royal Oak Inn
#2 of 3 in Lostwithiel
205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#4 of 13 in Lostwithiel
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#9 of 13 in Lostwithiel
15 reviews
0.5 mi away
Penrose B&B
Penrose B&B
#1 of 13 in Lostwithiel
280 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Old Ferry Inn
The Old Ferry Inn
#4 of 25 in Fowey
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earl of Chatham Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earl of Chatham Inn

Address: 39 Grenville Road, Lostwithiel PL22 0EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lostwithiel
Price Range: $86 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Earl of Chatham Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earl Of Chatham Inn Lostwithiel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing