We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wont be returning here!”
Review of Earl of Chatham

Earl of Chatham
Ranked #7 of 23 Restaurants in Lostwithiel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Truro
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wont be returning here!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our meal was warm when it arrived. The food looked like ASDA basics, and the locals talked loudly about fighting.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kuale p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaczkie55z, Manager at Earl of Chatham, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Apologies to this customer. What can I say - our food is usually thought of as very good. Perhaps the person concerned could tell me, please, when they came in and what meal they had. We do have have different staff on some days. However, I would say that most of our food is homecooked - and certainly nothing resembling an Asda Basics range.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    46
    11
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
“delightful”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at the Earl of Chatham for the last week in August, the accommodation was clean and comfortable, the food homemade and tasty, we ate at the pub every night! The landlady and all the staff were very helpful and made us very welcome, the locals were really friendly, a lovely atmosphere, we hope to go back soon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jane g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaczkie55z, Manager at Earl of Chatham, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us a very positive reveiw. We appreciate that you enjoyed your visit to our pub and would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

What can I say - this pub is fantastic, the staff are friendly - the food is great - the atmosphere is welcoming. A truely local public where everyone is made to feel welcome - cant fault it

A big thumbs up!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Friend145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely country pub”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My family & I were staying in St. Austel for the week & decided to try The Earl of Chatham on the Thursday evening whilst on our travels around the area. We were very glad that we did! We were pleasantly surprised to find such a warm, friendly pub with a lovely atmosphere. Our meal was absolutely fantastic. The lady behind the bar was friendly & helpful as was the waitress. We will definitely be back next year & would highly recommend The Earl of Chatham to anyone thinking of visiting the area

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilysnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very unimpressed!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Not a great atmosphere, staff were rude and abrupt, and derogatory and snide comment overheard. Made our excuses in the end and left. Not our kind of place

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Ptse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaczkie55z, Owner at Earl of Chatham, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for the reveiw which added to the previous one has upset me as friendliness has always been our hallmark. I intend to call a staff meeting as obviously I do not know which member of the staff is being rude but to emphasise to them the importance of customer care. I hope that if you ever come back you will see that we are in fact very welcoming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earl of Chatham also viewed

Lostwithiel, Cornwall
Lostwithiel, Cornwall
 
Lostwithiel, Cornwall
 
Lostwithiel, Cornwall
Lostwithiel, Cornwall
 

Been to Earl of Chatham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing