We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Earl of Chatham

Earl of Chatham
Ranked #7 of 23 Restaurants in Lostwithiel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed August 27, 2012

What can I say - this pub is fantastic, the staff are friendly - the food is great - the atmosphere is welcoming. A truely local public where everyone is made to feel welcome - cant fault it

A big thumbs up!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Friend145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Earl of Chatham
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 121 of 145 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

My family & I were staying in St. Austel for the week & decided to try The Earl of Chatham on the Thursday evening whilst on our travels around the area. We were very glad that we did! We were pleasantly surprised to find such a warm, friendly pub with a lovely atmosphere. Our meal was absolutely fantastic. The lady behind the bar was friendly & helpful as was the waitress. We will definitely be back next year & would highly recommend The Earl of Chatham to anyone thinking of visiting the area

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lilysnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Not a great atmosphere, staff were rude and abrupt, and derogatory and snide comment overheard. Made our excuses in the end and left. Not our kind of place

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Ptse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaczkie55z, Owner at Earl of Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for the reveiw which added to the previous one has upset me as friendliness has always been our hallmark. I intend to call a staff meeting as obviously I do not know which member of the staff is being rude but to emphasise to them the importance of customer care. I hope that if you ever come back you will see that we are in fact very welcoming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Unfortunately my family were made to feel quite unwelcome at The Earl of Chatham.
This pub has a lovely outdoor area and the menu looked brilliant - we were very much looking forward to trying the food. However we decided against ordering food after being spoken to quite rudely. Any questions we asked regarding food etc were met with irritation from the lady behind the bar. It's such a shame because we would have visited reglarly when in Lostwithiel as its a nice little pub but I will not ever spend my money at a place where the staff can't treat their paying customers with some respect. Furthermore we had to listen to this lady have a good old moan in the kitchen near the outdoor area - very off putting

3  Thank MelC44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaczkie55z, Manager at Earl of Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

My apologies to this family. I am trying to identify the member of staff so that I can deal with this complaint. As a rule my staff have always been friendly and helpful and I am most upset that one of my staff may have offended a customer. I would be really grateful if the author of this review would contact me so that I can establish who the staff member was.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Not made welcome, though food was OK. Told there had been bereavement in family but should not have affected customers.

3  Thank 777robroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earl of Chatham also viewed

Lostwithiel, Cornwall
Lostwithiel, Cornwall
 
Lostwithiel, Cornwall
 
Lostwithiel, Cornwall
Lostwithiel, Cornwall
 

Been to Earl of Chatham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing