We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Molesworth Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Molesworth Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Just come back from 3 days spent in Cornwall staying at this lovely B&B. The house is beautiful and we stayed in the South Room which had a lovely en-suite with separate large bath and walk in shower. The room was very clean and made up each day. Lovely soft towels replaced when needed. Staff all very friendly and informative - especially the lovely lady who served breakfast (sorry we never did get your name) but a big thankyou to her. Breakfast was plentiful with fresh fruit, yoghurt cereal and then a cooked breakfast of your choice and tea and coffee. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 274 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

We made a last minute booking at Molesworth Manor and overall we were satisfied with our one night stay. Some of the rooms have special titles - ours was the "Seigneur de la Trinitie" - and it was very quirky and interesting. Clearly there has been a great deal of attention to decorative detail and the Manor itself is beautiful. The breakfast was also first class. I guess our only issue was to do with the lack of a genuine welcoming, friendly and sincere personal touch. Somehow we did not feel like valued guests? Hard to pin down but this was just how it felt to us - and I have lost count of how many good hotels etc we have stayed in over the years! A pIty because this place could be stupendous if a bit more effort was spent on the "softer side" of the business.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Formbyite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
molesworth1, Owner at Molesworth Manor, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for all of the kind things you mentioned about Molesworth Manor in the review.I am sorry that we did not manage to meet all of your expectations on the "softer side " of the business but please let me assure you that we do focus on our customers.Our aim is to be "helpful but unobtrusive" as a previous reviewer described us.We only have a few housekeeping staff and try to manage the rest of the business ourselves while juggling two young children and a dog( not literally!) so at times we can be stretched and this may have ben one of them.Also only staying for one night you may not have had a fully representative view,please return for a longer stay and let us know if the experience merits a "stupendous " rating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This has been my second stay at Molesworth and it was like the first time I visited the place. The house is beautiful and would simply take your breath away. The breakfast is lovely and made using produce that is locally sourced. The rooms are comfortable and well kept. I also enjoyed walking to Padstow along the creek every day I was there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I reiterate what other guests have to say, just an excellent place to stay, a beautiful old home. The owners are helpful but unobtrusive. The place is well equipped with everything you could need and more. Excellent food. A place you can relax in.

Room Tip: Think they are all good, choose by how much you wish to pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Disillusioned82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a couple extraordinary Basil Fawlty moments at Molesworth Manor which if they weren't so thoughtless and rude, would have been quite funny. The final insult was when I was having trouble picking up the weak wi-fi. The proprietor told me no-one else had had that problem, with the clear implication that this was my problem not his. Undeterred, I asked if I should stand near the router. With a exasperated gesture he said I could use his laptop on the adjacent desk. It wasn't on. I asked him how to turn it on. He said to another couple standing nearby: 'that's the trouble with people who get a computer for Christmas and don't know how to use it'. He told me he'd come down to Cornwall to 'run a b&b not do IT' and something else about having been in the IT business for 30 years. Perhaps, as a previous reviewer has mentioned, he should brush up on his people skills. That said, Molesworth Manor is pleasant enough but on the main road through village so there was traffic noise with the windows open. Nothing makes up for owner's chippy attitude.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarlowMoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
molesworth1, Owner at Molesworth Manor, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

I am sorry that your reviewer took my musings on the internet and wifi personally.I was in the middle of serving breakfast for 20 people and trying to check out guests at the same time so while willing to help, the internet connection was not the main priority.We provide a computer for guest use and I directed her to that in case there was a problem with her computer.No offence was intended and I am sorry that it was taken that way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just come back from a 3 night stay at Molesworth Manor. The old manor house is a lovely old home that is very well kept inside and out with a lot of attention to detail, a credit to the owners & staff.
All the staff make you welcome and they can not do enough to make your stay with them a good one. The breakfasts and very good and tasty with good options for everybody. The bedrooms are very clean and comfortable, bed is comfy for a good nights sleep, bathroom spacious with fluffy towels.
Location is quiet and just a short taxi ride away from the harbour in Padstow with all its bars and restaurants if you did not want to do the lovely walks into Padstow.
The owners are very welcoming and Jessica is lovely & hard working and Geoff is just a lovely humorous special kind of character, they broke the mould when they made him.
Their are so many nice things to say about this place and the staff who work hard making this a special place to stay, but you should really go and experience it for yourself.
We would highly recommend Molesworth Manor as a place to stay for a quiet break. We did the wonderful walk through the countryside to Padstow and back again everyday and the views were wonderful, this took about an hour each way.
We look forward to returning for another wonderful stay in the near future.
Rob & Jackie Northern Ireland

Room Tip: Enjoy the tranquility of Molesworth Manor and the wonderful walks walks into Padstow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night in July. Room was very comfortable, good selection of teas and extremely clean. I was particularly looking forward to breakfast and it didn't disappoint. Great selection and the Cornish hot breakfast tasted really good.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DC3MX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Petherick
3.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
417 reviews
1.9 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,513 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Mill House
The Old Mill House
#2 of 55 in Padstow
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Old Custom House Inn
Old Custom House Inn
#14 of 55 in Padstow
599 reviews
1.9 mi away
Woodlands Country House
Woodlands Country House
#9 of 55 in Padstow
237 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Harlyn Inn
The Harlyn Inn
#26 of 55 in Padstow
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Molesworth Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molesworth Manor

Address: Little Petherick, Little Petherick, Padstow PL27 7QT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow > Little Petherick
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Little Petherick
Price Range: $172 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Molesworth Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Molesworth Manor is a delightful 17th century manor house in an area of outstanding natural beauty. It is only 1.5 miles from Padstow and has ample parking avoiding the inconvenience of trying to find a place for the car if you stay in town. It has 9 beautifully appointed bedrooms, 8 of which are en-suite. It is a convenient base for visiting most of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Molesworth Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molesworth Manor Little Petherick, Cornwall, England
Molesworth Manor Hotel Little Petherick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing