We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blissful short break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Liskeard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forest Holidays Deerpark, Cornwall
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Blissful short break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Recently returned from a 5 night break at Deerpark. We were blessed with fantastic weather which made all the differrence for a UK holiday. Our cabin was beautiflly clean and really peaceful. Other cabins were being refurbished but ours was lovely and benefitted from early evening sunshined making it the perfect spot for a hot tub, although if the site had been busier the hot tub might have been a bit public, as it was the site was fairly quiet and we had a blissful time. The cabin was luxurious and very comfortable no complaints at all. The site was very centrally situated for site seeing in the local area, I have thoroughly recommended to all my friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaynewo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Deerpark, Cornwall, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind review following your recent Forest Holidays break at Deerpark. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you were lucky with the weather. The setting at Deerpark is particularly tranquil and even when all the cabins are full it’s amazing how peaceful and private it feels. I am delighted to hear that you have recommended us to your friends and I hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    126
    54
    10
    6
See reviews for
206
185
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

The title says it all. I think this totally makes the difference in how you would rate this holiday. We had the misfortune of having a cabin the week before (apparently) it was due for redecoration. It was grim in places with mucky hand prints on most walls, tired furnishings and generally not the standard on which you were led to believe it would be from the brochure,

On the positive side the hot tub was very clean and well maintained as were both the bathrooms but I couldn't relax on the stained sofa at night. Not what you expect if you have booked the top cabin a golden oak. In additional probably most disappointingly of all was the fact our cabin was in the most exposed overlooked position on the entire site, we had another cabin directly in front, another to the side and on the other side was the main entrance road to the site so people gawped into our balcony whilst we sat in our 'secluded hot tub!'

We reported our concerns immediately as we were hugely disappointed but were told that they were full, despite one of our neighbours later on in afternoon being moved into a different cabin?! To their credit they did their best to try to offer a discount and meals etc but by then the damage had already been done.

Having walked the entire site, its lovely and most of the cabins are not overlooked and have lovely views into the forest. Having briefly seen the renovated cabins they also looked really good. I feel the cabin we stayed in should not be classed as golden due to its location.

Room Tip: Rooms furthest from the reception are more secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enjoylife_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Deerpark, Cornwall, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with your cabin. We are refurbishing as you say, which will make a big difference. I hope you would consider staying with us again despite problems on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We booked a last minute weekend (fri-mon) stay with our three young children, we travelled from london, with the children soon getting bored with the long drive and hubby complaining about needing to stretch his legs ect.... finally arrived at 6pm signed in and collected our keys from the friendly reception staff, it was very dark on the way up to our cooper beach cabin luckily I read up before leaving home and packed a few touches which the children enjoyed, lighting the way for us up to our cabin I think it was number 30. Upon entering our cabin we were pleasantly surprised it was very clean and smelled fresh the decor was fine the veranda was lovely the double room on the mezzanine level was lovely and the twin room for the children equally nice the beds were very comfortable. We definitely thought the journey down from London was worth it. The following day we signed up for the children to participate in the duck race which they enjoyed, my eldest and husaband also went on a night walk to spot bats which was enjoyed by both of them. All in all it was a lovely break great surrondings good facilities lovely staff, in a peaceful settings. Also I'd like to add that we had a problem with our car revving on our way down from london and fortunantly one of the girls on receptions boyfriend was a mechanic and he fixed the problem for us (for a modest fee) and saved us a fear bit of worry and garage costs.
I have recommended deerpark forest cabins to all my colleagues with young children. We plan to visit another location during the summer term. We would visit deerpark again but would stay for longer than a weekend, because of the long journey down from London. Mrs S M

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChynaBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Deerpark, Cornwall, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent short break at Deerpark. I am so pleased the holiday made the journey from London worth it. The good thing about being in the forest is that once here, the children can burn off as much energy as they need to. I am delighted you would consider returning (and have told your friends about us) and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just back from what my other half and I agree was the perfect holiday. We've never stayed in a log cabin so had no idea what to expect. Now, we can't wait to plan our next Forest Holiday!

The site and our cabin were very clean. We stayed in Cabin 2 and felt completely tucked away from everyone else, despite only being about 60 seconds walk from the retreat/farm shop. While we could see others - we couldn't hear them thanks to the stream that gently flowed just outside our cabin. We both felt really lucky to get Cabin 2 as we weren't sure how much privacy the other cabins offered.

Location is great. The cycle was great fun - despite not being on a bike for over 15 years. We heard a woodpecker and also rolled through some of the most breathtaking scenery, the bluebells being a particular favourite. We didn't spend much time on site, but it was tranquil when we were there. We ventured out to Looe, Poluran and Polperro - with the latter being our favourite stop. If you do visit Polperro, check out painting by Graham Munt - they're beautiful. Also, have a chocolate ice cream in a wafer cone from the shop inside the car park - one of the best ice creams I've had.

There's a shop on site which is reasonably stocked and the prices were pretty fair. There's an ASDA not too far (driving) from the site too that may also be worth a visit.

Staff on the site were a mixed bag. When we went to hire bikes, the guy ventured off to find someone that knew what they were doing and then completely forgot about us. Thankfully, about 15 minutes later, another member of staff passed by and got us the help we needed. Special thanks to Frank in the shop - he's a lovely man that really makes you feel like nothing is trouble and he's there for whatever you need. The Ranger (sorry, forgot his name) was also very friendly and engaging.

Overall, we can't wait to go back. You'll love it, I'm sure.

Room Tip: Cabin 2 is almost completely secluded. Bring bigger towels, the ones on site are a bit small. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksousa83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Deerpark, Cornwall, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you very much for writing a review after you stayed with Forest Holidays at Deerpark recently. It is fantastic to hear that you had a perfect holiday. The area around Deerpark is great for exploring and I am sure our future guests will find your tips very useful. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just come back from 5 day break in deerpark, first of all Ii would say is dont read the reviews as I did before we went & I was dreading it. The setting is lovely its in the woods it's so peaceful no one around when you look out of the cabin it's just woods lovely. The cabin was clean really nice hot tub outside log burner inside we had cabin silver 39, we had two bedrooms it was all clean, tidy. Kids spend most of their time in the outdoor hot tub, it was serviced when we was there, the kitchen had everything u have a home dishwasher microwave, tablets , washing up liquid, tea towels little hand towels in each bathroom. The log burner was nice in the evening even though we had lovely weather it was a nice touch to the cabin. We even had scrabble with the words left welcome that was a nice touch. Would I go back yes it was an amazing holiday so relaxing even with the kids, staff was friendly & helpful . This is an amazing place book it your have a fab holiday like we did.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaMasteRZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Deerpark, Cornwall, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I am so pleased that you had a great holiday with us at Deerpark and enjoyed your cabin and all the facilities. We will be delighted to welcome you back again either at Deerpark or one of our other UK locations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We visited Deer Park for a mid week break at the end of April 13,5 adults and 3 VERY large dogs. The whole holiday was based around our dogs as we were bringing them for a spot of sea swimming.! I had looked for almost a year for suitable properties in the Looe/Seaton area where they accommodate more than 2 dogs and being Newfoundlands,they are very large and mostly,very wet.!! A lot of places only allow small or medium dogs,if more than 1.!! So this was a great find. Brilliant place to stay with dogs,ours loved the winding river just down from the chalets. Very quiet during the day and night,which is what we wanted. Our cabin,number 17,was perfect for the dogs(bar the steep staircase inside,but soon got used to it). Being a dog friendly cabin,we weren't too sure what to expect,but it was perfect. Very clean(not so when we left.!). Only downfall was the Geese who made a beeline for the dog food on the decking,which sent the dogs wild. They appeared to spend a lot of time down that end of the pond. Lol.... Good base to be if you want to travel around around and visit the villlages and beaches in the area. This was our first 'doggy' holiday and we will be booking again next year at this site. A 'must' for anyone who is trying to find somewhere dog friendly,with lots of dog friendly pubs and beaches near by. P.S-lovely cider in the Retreat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Deerpark, Cornwall, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Deerpark. It sounds like a very busy holiday with 3 large dogs to look after and exercise. I am pleased that the cabin and location worked so well for you and we look forward to welcoming you back again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just spent a weekend in Deerpark with nice weather. When we arrived our cabin was by mistake occupied by another family, so they gave us another Golden Oak cabin (44). The location of this one was not nearly as nice as the deck with the hot tub was overlooking the carpark/road/neighbour and not as it should have been - turning out to green area. Very disappointing with that view being in the forest.

The cabin looked tired/worn. A couple of bulbs were not working, door to bathroom could not close, dirty hole in wall near sink, toiletpaper holder falling off, key difficult to open with, most of the 5 tv channels with zigzag stripes on the screen, deck not cleaned at all. In general not the standard we expected after seeing the website. A deep clean would help at least. Should have been at discounted price in my opinion. Hot tub nice though and well looked after.

We only participated in the duck race, but the activities looked interesting and fun and the people working there were nice and helpful. Would have liked to join the night-vision event, but it was full - only for 12 people. Lovely Cornish scones and coffee at the Forest retreat. Beautiful bluebells in the forest. Spent one day visiting Polperro/Looe and the Zipwire adventure. Polperro was nice - Looe too touristy for our taste. Another day at St. Michaels Mount and Lands End.

Would not go back there, but would look at other Forestholiday sites again, but I would make sure the cabin was one of the refurbished ones.

Room Tip: I would choose the cabins facing forest/lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birgitte_H_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Deerpark, Cornwall, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent break at Deerpark. I am concerned to hear that you were disappointed with your cabin and we will be reviewing the cleaning situation following your feedback. I am pleased that the other aspects of your break were enjoyable and that you also had the opportunity to explore the local area. I do hope you will consider coming to one of our other locations as you have mentioned, perhaps try our newest, at Blackwood Forest in Hampshire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liskeard
13.5 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Liskeard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Pencubitt House
Pencubitt House
#1 of 5 in Liskeard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
19.5 mi away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pine Green Valley Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Holidays Deerpark, Cornwall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Holidays Deerpark, Cornwall

Property: Forest Holidays Deerpark, Cornwall
Address: Liskeard PL14 4QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Liskeard
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Liskeard
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Deerpark Forest Cabins Hotel Liskeard
Forest Holidays Deerpark, Cornwall Liskeard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing