We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous setting!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Liskeard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forest Holidays Deerpark, Cornwall
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We have just got back from a weekend break here with my husband and 2 children (2.5yr & 10mth old). The site was just lovely, very picturesque. We stayed in cabin 24 which is a silver birch. On a whole the cabin was lovely but it did need a good clean and updating. The shower door in the downstairs bathroom was loose and the tiles had mould on it. Also the tv reception was rubbish but I didnt mind that it was my 3 yr old and husband that did :-)!

The staff were very friendly and welcoming and made a fuss of our children. We would definitely return again.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katestripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
There are newer reviews for Forest Holidays Deerpark, Cornwall
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 553 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2011

The location is beautiful and so was the welcome. Upon arrival we loved it from the outside by then entered. Initially the smell of 'Dog' was overpowering. This turned out to be the door mat which must have been used as a toilet and bed. So we had to take up and place outside for the duration.
After a 4 hour drive initially our first reaction was positive but having put the kettle on, we started to notice things which we felt let the cabin down. It seems really petty as I'm starting to write them down, but its only fair that other should be aware.
All the curtains in the cabin had rings missing or were handing down in the corners, there was mould on the shower wall and I felt the kitchen looked tired. Outside on the terrace the hot tub had unclean water in it. I did question it, as ours at home is always crystal clear but you couldn't see the bottom in this one. Perhaps it was too many chemicals, but even so, the water should look inviting....
Again I feel petty writing this, but it has to be said, the picture on the TV was barely legible due to such a poor signal.

On a positive note, the views were stunning and the place was really peaceful. All the above could be rectified within an afternoon and its such a shame its left.

If you do visit you'll have a nice break, but from my experience, its not like the advert depicts.......

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Stevenbell1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Beautiful lodges set in the forest. Cabin had been reburbished in March. Cabin no 25, not really over looking the pond as on map, but still in a great location. No telephone signal at all. We went & bought an indoor ariel for tv, as reception not great. Take Mosquito spray if you are staying in upstairs bedroom. Lots of brililant things to do in the forest park for the little ones. The addition of the Wii, is a great idea, as we had sunshine & showers all week. We did take our own games & controller, although you can hire them from the reception. Down stairs bathroom was with a large shower, beds were comfy. All the mod cons in the Golden Oak cabin. Chinese takeaway will deliver to lodges & also reception will make pizzas & deliver them to the lodges too. Lots of wild life to photograph and beautiful surroundings, walks, etc. If you are there for the week, they don't come in an service the lodges at all, so no clean towels, etc, so a hoover might have been handy. You can park right by the lodges, so that was good. Wifi is available at reception, not in the lodges. Overall a very relaxing break, beautiful surroundings, very helpful rangers too.

Room Tip: Lodges 16, 17, overlook the pond & get the sun
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank cookieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Having been to Keldy Cabins in Yorkshire last year, we again went for a Silver Birch (cabin 15 was allocated to us) for a 5-day break in Deerpark. On arrival we found that the Retreat was not open until 4 for us to check in (early checkins are available) and so we went to nearby Looe for an hour or so. On returning to the Retreat we were welcomed by Jenny who took our details, gave us our keys and told us either she or Rachel would be with us within the hour to check everything was ok. We entered the cabin (approx 20 steps down from the road to the lakeside cabin) to find the layout identical to the Keldy cabin, so we immediately felt at home (the only difference being the recent addition of a log burner in the sitting area which we used for one night).

Jenny arrived as promised and checked everything was ok and informed us again of all the facilities and on-site activities of which there were many.

We took our two-and-a-half year old to the Ranger-led pond dipping session which he thoroughly enjoyed (tadpoles, mayfly lavae and flies, sticklebacks, caddisfly lava etc all found) with a VERY knowledgeable Ranger (Martin).

The hot tub saw plenty of action for relaxing in the evenings and although I am normally completely dependent on my iPhone and Internet connection, found the lack of any phone signal to actually be a good thing!

On the whole the site, staff, cabin, activities, wildlife and general ambience if the place is absolutely top notch and we're already thinking of returning next year!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mishabgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Having been to Keldy Cabins in Yorkshire last year, we again went for a Silver Birch (cabin 15 was allocated to us) for a 5-day break in Deerpark. On arrival we found that the Retreat was not open until 4 for us to check in (early checkins are available) and so we went to nearby Looe for an hour or so. On returning to the Retreat we were welcomed by Jenny who took our details, gave us our keys and told us either she or Rachel would be with us within the hour to check everything was ok. We entered the cabin (approx 20 steps down from the road to the lakeside cabin) to find the layout identical to the Keldy cabin, so we immediately felt at home (the only difference being the recent addition of a log burner in the sitting area which we used for one night).

Jenny arrived as promised and checked everything was ok and informed us again of all the facilities and on-site activities of which there were many.

We took our two-and-a-half year old to the Ranger-led pond dipping session which he thoroughly enjoyed (tadpoles, mayfly lavae and flies, sticklebacks, caddisfly lava etc all found) with a VERY knowledgeable Ranger (Martin).

The hot tub saw plenty of action for relaxing in the evenings and although I am normally completely dependent on my iPhone and Internet connection, found the lack of any phone signal to actually be a positive.

On the whole the site, staff, cabin, activities, wildlife and general ambience if the place is absolutely top notch and we're already thinking of returning next year!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mishabgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Having attended the Forest Holidays Forest of Dean site a few times we decided to have a change and it was well worth it.
The site is fantastic and set it a beautiful location. The friends we took were so impressed they booked to come back within 12 hours!! We had a two bed Golden Oak. It directly over looked the lake and although we were right next to the road into site we didnt get disturbed at all. The cabin is furnished to a very high standard. The bathrooms deserve a special mention - one downstairs with a huge walk in shower and one upstairs with a bath over looking the forest. The beds were comfortable. The cabin was stocked with enough games to last a month! The kitchen was not as stocked as in the Forest of Dean. It is advised that plastic glasses are used in the hot tub but these are not supplied. The cabin was plently big enough for two couples - enough room to have our own space when we wanted. The hot tub was lovely and well worth having. Amazing with the view of the lake and the trees.
The staff at the Retreat were all very helpful with excellent standards of customer service. We didnt do any activities but there was lots to choose from and we have already planned what we want to take part in next time. The Ranger even took the time to come and see us to explain he was holding an activity outside our cabin and asked us if we minded. The shop is well stocked with lots of local produce - especially cider!
The site is ideally located - we visited Caverns, an Animal Park and numerous villages all within a few miles. The walks around site are great. The site does feel like it is in the middle of nowhere and be warned - there is absolutley no mobile reception.
Exceeded expectations - cant wait to return!

Room Tip: Book a Golden Oak out of season - great value
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nic2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

We stayed for four days from 4th March 2011, from the moment you arrive you immediately feel a sense of calm and relaxation. Staff are very helpful and shop on site sells all you need food and cider wise to get you started. The Cabin we had was a silver birch that can sleep 6 people and had 2 bathrooms,good parking space and not forgetting the amazing hot tub !
No mobile signal at the cabins so you will not be disturbed.
Only a few miles to drive to Polporro and Looe - both worth a visit. We shall back in the near future !

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank bumblebeebromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liskeard
7.8 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
684 reviews
24.5 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#21 of 37 in Newquay
364 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Newquay View Resort
Newquay View Resort
#4 of 78 in Newquay
415 reviews
12.4 mi away
Ruthern Valley Holidays
16.7 mi away
Meadow Lakes Holiday Park
Meadow Lakes Holiday Park
#10 of 37 in St Austell
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Holidays Deerpark, Cornwall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Holidays Deerpark, Cornwall

Address: Forest Holidays Deerpark, Liskeard PL14 4QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Liskeard
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Liskeard
Also Known As:
Deerpark Forest Cabins Hotel Liskeard
Forest Holidays Deerpark, Cornwall Liskeard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing