We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful country hotel”
Review of Pencubitt House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pencubitt House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Liskeard
Certificate of Excellence
Cobham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful country hotel”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

My wife and I (in our 50's) decided to return to the area, well known to us in our younger days.
I now realise why this hotel was given such a good rating. It would not be an exaggeration to call it a real gem. The couple that own it are very friendly, helpful and competent (in perfect balance). The pictures show the style, but don't do it justice. The lounge and dining room in particular were a delight, and beautifully kept. The hotel is probably best suited to those who enjoy a peaceful setting. We had the balcony room, and when the weather permitted it was lovely to take in the valley view. We saw a buzzard close by. A regular by all accounts. Our room was a good size, including the ensuite. The room cleanliness was first class.
We had the inclusive breakfast every morning. All the usual items including fresh fruit salad. The full english matched the high standards with quality bacon and a local herby sausage. We had the 3 course dinner on our first night, and if I've a nicer lamb shank, then I can't remember when. This was our only dinner, as you have to advise them in the morning if you want it ( so they can buy in the fresh ingredients) and we could not be sure to be back. As it turned out we were around for another 2 of the 4 nights, but the guest book shows ample alternatives.
By the way I'm not on a commission, but credit where credit's due.
It's 5 minutes walk to Liskeard station, and I'd recommend the single track train journey to Looe. Only £3.70 off peak return.
I am trying to find a reason to go back soon. What more can I say.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    29
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
37
259
24
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wincanton
2 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Small owner-run hotel. Owners very friendly and welcoming. Quiet, peaceful setting with lovely garden and rural views. The hotel and rooms are decorated and fitted out to a very high standard and everything is clean and comfortable. The food, both breakfast and dinner, is of a very high standard. Everywhere you look the impression is that the owners place a high priority on attention to detail; and it is the detail that makes a difference.

The downsides are not criticisms, just a reality of running a small hotel. The restaurant is closed for dinner on Saturdays and Sundays (though several local restaurants are not far) and dinner menu choices have to be made at breakfast. If you want pools; gym; sauna etc. this is not the place for you - For us, we look forward to going again before too long.

Room Tip: The King Balcony room is 1st floor room with a large balcony with a table and chairs - great views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

On the drive up to the Country House, it looks really grand, I think the photos on the website don't do it justice, for exterior and interior. We were welcomed by Clive Emmerson, the owner, he was very friendly, and helpful, and changed my mother-in-laws room when she mentioned she wanted a bath, so they are very accomodating to ones needs. The bedrooms aren't huge, but charming, and very clean, with everything you could need, so not a problem, and the views are just lovely. The grounds around the House are so pretty and well kept. We only ate breakfast there due to our busy schedule, and it was very nice, with all the options you would expect. All the communal rooms are grand and very well presented, its a shame we didn't have more time to spend in the hotel. All in all I can't think of anything I didn't like, and would highly recommend this hotel for all ages.

Room Tip: mention if you would prefer a bath or shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne IN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Pencubitt was the 2nd stop on a week-long walking holiday and a more welcome sight we hae never seen at the end of day 2 being footsore and tired! The grounds are lovely with some fun garden spots . We had a beautiful large room with a really comfy bed and sofa sitting area and a spacious bathroom. Being a Sunday and the dining room closed; Clive our host was very helpful with the rundown of places to eat in town that night along with some great bits of history about the area that we would have never known if he had not shared. Breakfast was more than enough the next morning and very tasty.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akw46845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

My husband & I have stayed at this lovely country house hotel five times now.The hotel and grounds are superb and the owners are fantastic.
The hotel is in such a picturesque setting and is quiet and peaceful.The views from the house are beautiful. Mr and Mrs Emmerson (the owners) are always helpful and friendly .Breaakfast is a delight.
The train station is a 5 minute walk so you can leave the car at Pencubitt and visit many places from Liskeard.
No children ,no dogs .....perfect!R

Room Tip: Room 9 is our favourite...super large bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maisiepup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
137 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

If you want an hotel with a 'wellness centre' and staff unable to understand English, a cheap and cheerful bungalow B & B on a main road, or a guest house that promotes itself as a 'home from home' as an excuse for corners cut, boil in the bag food and decor in need of refreshing then avoid the Pencubitt.
Here is accomodation that is discreet in the professional self assured manner of its management and presents the highest of standards in terms of immaculate decor, a sumptuous comfortable lounge most un-hotel like in that the furnishings are more John Lewis than workmanlike commercial hotel contractor. The cleanliness and complete lack of scuffed paintwork, cracked tiles etc, or indeed anything remotely less than pristine was evidence of an almost paranoid attention to detail and the highest of personal standards.
And as for the food ..... well let me just say that an ex-professional chef reigns in the kitchen and could give the egotistical 'celebrity' TV chefs a run for their money.
Our room, albeit on the bijou side, was cleverly decorated in 'designer' looking fabrics, very quiet and with lovely views. Good to note that the car park was out of sight so Poseurs in Porsches are wasting their time, and from whatever public room or bedroom you had rural views or that of lush greenery.
The restaurant was warm and welcoming but a tad overwhelming in it's redness and assorted plates dotted around the walls and assorted knick-knacks on most horizontal surfaces. The look-a-like Art Deco table lights were a delight however.
Background music was at exactly the right level, that is, just discernable but not intrusive, but the Pan Pipe CD needs to be binned pronto - so very naff & 1970's. But when the food is so good who cares. We didn't.
Placing your dinner order at breakfast may hint at 'B & B with evening meal if requested' and irk those who expect instant 24hr subservient service but it does ensure food is freshly prepared using all local produce. Be aware the evening meals may not be available at the week-end, and Liskeard is a bit grim when it comes to quality eateries.
Here is lovely accomodation run by a welcoming and charming couple so very confident that being genuine and not patronising is the key to making guests feel comfortable.
The fact that we intentionaly left places to see and things to do in order to revisit says much of our experience. As for value for money - Mr Rolls or Mr Royce put it best, Quality Service Is Best Remembered Long After Price is Forgotten.
.

Room Tip: Look at the website room pictures and read the descriptions carefully
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SunbeamSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Just spent a couple of nights there with her indoors. Had a very pleasant stay and the owners are very friendly. Great breakfast too. It chucked it down with rain for the whole time we were there but I'm sure when the sun is out it would be even more lovely.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccmountainbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liskeard
6.2 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
7.4 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Liskeard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
24.6 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pencubitt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pencubitt House

Property: Pencubitt House
Address: Lamellion Cross, Liskeard PL14 4EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Liskeard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Liskeard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pencubitt House near Liskeard in Cornwall features nine comfortable en-suite rooms together with a relaxing guest lounge and licensed bar where you can read, check emails, or simply enjoy a drink whilst overlooking the garden views and the beautiful rolling countryside of the Looe Valley. Pencubitt really is an ideal location for exploring South East Cornwall and Devon. Whether that be the local fishing villages of Looe and Polperro, the harbour town of Fowey, The Eden Project or the Lost Gardens of Heligan and with Dartmoor, Plymouth, Bodmin Moor, Lanhydrock and a day trip to Padstow less than an hour away - the choice is yours! We serve a traditional and hearty breakfast to set you up for your day! We can also offer afternoon Cream Teas, picnics and take-away continental breakfast. Our aim is to ensure you enjoy your stay with us in our relaxing and comfortable character home. We look forward to meeting you and welcoming you to Pencubitt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pencubitt House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pencubitt Country Hotel
Pencubitt House Liskeard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing