We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golitha Falls

Golitha Falls
Ranked #1 of 31 things to do in Liskeard
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

I've been visiting Golitha Falls over the years, first as a teenager, then young mother with small children, then just after my father died, and this year we made a special trip to see the exceptional bluebells in bloom this year. My father particularly loved this place, and I remember our basset hound loving it too. The woods are truly magical. I feel a powerful special atmosphere there.
The path is easy to follow, although slightly damaged by the flooding this winder.
The first section gives easy access even to those who cannot walk too far, while the nimble of foot can climb along by the riverside.
The falls are beautiful.
Excellent photo opportunities.
And the bluebells .....
I look forward to many more visits in the future.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank joannas322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    97
    22
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Looe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

A beautiful walk along a great spot to look out for otters! It probably gets busy in the tourist months but out of season I can definitely recommend it!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sylverwytche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

A really beautiful forest walk alongside a winding, splashing river. It was raining but still magical. Wellies essential!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank squidsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lostwithiel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Golitha Falls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Excellent place to visit.An area of ancient woodland that sits alongside the river Fowey.Near Liskeard, Cornwall PL14

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bobchin1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Easy Country and wildlife walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Near St. Cleer and Sibleyback Lake, this attraction is very accessible to all. Depending on the time of year you get floods or drought, trees in leaf or bare, but it's always enjoyable, whether just for walking the dog, photographing the swollen river as it descends the falls or just strolling, it's a pleasant hour away from it all. There are information panels telling you what to look out for, from otters to dippers, as well as more common river dwellers.
There is a good big free car park near toilet facilities.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank marcpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golitha Falls also viewed

 

Been to Golitha Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing