We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, charming and authentic”
Review of Carnglaze Caverns

Carnglaze Caverns
Ranked #4 of 31 things to do in Liskeard
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Quaint, charming and authentic”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Love this place and I can see why people hold concerts or choose to get married here. It gave a real sense of what it must have been like to mine slate. Impressive. The owners are friendly and the gift shops full of good stuff. Great outing for when the weather's a bit dodgy. Hard hats supplied.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank s1m0ne192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    131
    66
    17
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

A little below expectations but I cannot say anything bad about this place. A small cave space, a bit of a difference for someone who did not visit caves before. Our toddler seemed to be scared at times-I would not recommend to take a young children. Overall ok.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Magdalena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
2,532 reviews
869 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6,623 helpful votes
“Expensive.”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Quite interesting but an expensive experience. We have subsequently been back for a concert that cost less to get in than our earlier look around.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jannerbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“evening concerts”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

woah! what a place! simply an amazing venue for a concert... the atmosphere is mind blowing and you really cant experience anything like this somewhere else.

Helpful?
2 Thank sarah120301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting but overpriced”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Carnglaze is an old slate mine with three very large underground caverns. You are provided with a laminated plan and then it's self-guided. We enjoyed looking round but it's quite a short trip - it took us around 45 minutes to complete. The underground pool is very beautiful. However, I think £10 per adult is too expensive - there is not enough there to warrant such a high price and in our guide book it said it was £6 per adult - which is much more realistic. We didn't look round the woodland garden as it was raining so perhaps this adds to the value of the trip - I'm not sure. There is no cafe there, only a vending machine and a picnic area which we felt was a missed opportunity. There are a few small cabins selling hand-made jewellery, gemstones, fossils and ornaments most of which seem reasonably priced.

I came away feeling a bit disappointed that there hadn't been more to see especially since it cost us £24 for what turned out to be quite a short visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnglaze Caverns also viewed

 

Been to Carnglaze Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing