We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cheesewring Hotel

The Cheesewring Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cheesewring Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Liskeard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Beautifully appointed room. Comfortable bed. Warm welcome. Excellent food available. Ideal base to explore the area. Good walking close by. Pack good waterproofs though. We have visited many times for meals this was our first overnight stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    13
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Well what can I say...
Marcia n Gary are just fab !
So so welcoming and down to earth couple.
Made our stay so comfortable in such a beautiful setting. The highest inn in Cornwall.
Our room was beautiful n serviced every day, tea coffee tv wifi etc. Comfortable bed on suit to die for n a shower big enough to party in.
Food was great, full english every day yum ! With other breakfast options available.
All the staff where very welcoming n nothing was too much trouble.
A beautiful setting in easy reach of Looe beach n Plymouth n surrounding areas.
The locals where a blast... had a fab time and will most definitely be returning in the future.
I can't say enough about the place... totally made our stay A1
Thanks again guys for everything.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

After a chilly walk with the dogs at Minions we were looking forward to a cosy pub with good wholesome pub food. We were not disappointed! Warmth radiated from the fire and the atmosphere was warm and welcoming too. Quite an extensive menu to tempt all tastes. We were very pleased with the meals which were of extremely good value. Service was prompt even though most of the tables were taken and the waiting staff friendly and helpful without being over the top. Will definitely return and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

My wife and I with another couple had a table for 4 for lunch. Excellent food, OK service and prices in the middle of the road. Good atmosphere, pleasant, clean and an altogether experience we would all be very happy to repeat ....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

you cannot beat the food at the cheesewring and Saturday night entertainment is unbeatable friendly staff well worth a try lovely place to go walking . Try walking up towards caradon mast and check out views of cornwall

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

This is a great pub in a great location, the food is good, decent size portions and enough variety to suit most palates.
With real log fires and decent beers on taps, its got all you would want from a proper Cornish pub out on the moors.
Definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Homer069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

When I read the "only" poor review of these premises after visiting I had to check that I had actually been to the same place.
Social Club? No, social hub of the area where anyone stranger or local is immediately made welcome and treated like a friend.
Moved on from that kind of pub grub? Please no, keep serving the huge portions of tasty filling food which true pub clientele love. There is a huge selection of food to suit everyone's taste and all reasonably priced and always a selection of real ales to enjoy
The staff are all friendly and nothing is too much trouble with them
I would defy anyone to find a pub which serves a home made fresh Chicken Kiev for £8.25 or an excellent burger for under £7
My wife and I spent 5 nights here while visiting relatives in the area and could not have been happier with our choice of accommodation or food we had only been in the bar for a few minutes and were spoken to by several locals and made very welcome. In fact we will be keeping in touch with one couple with whom we became very friendly.
I can only implore anyone thinking of staying here or visiting for a meal to ignore the poor review and look at all the excellent reviews

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liskeard
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Liskeard Hotel
1.6 mi away
Trecarne House
Trecarne House
#1 of 1 in St Cleer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
4.8 mi away
Pencubitt House
Pencubitt House
#1 of 5 in Liskeard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Wheal Tor
Wheal Tor
#3 of 5 in Pensilva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
4.0 mi away
Nebula Guest House
Nebula Guest House
#1 of 15 in Liskeard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Racehorse Inn
The Racehorse Inn
#9 of 23 in Launceston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheesewring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheesewring Hotel

Property: The Cheesewring Hotel
Address: Minions, Liskeard PL14 5LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Liskeard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Liskeard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cheesewring Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Cheesewring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheesewring Hotel Liskeard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing