We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced rubbish!!!!”
Review of The Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ship Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Lerryn B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Poor service
Very slow 3 courses in 3 hours!!!!
Kept interrupting whilst eating
Poor menu Selection
Very overpriced for poor quality food
Apple crumble had skins on and NO CRUMBLE!
Dogs scrounging at table!
Sticky table
ALL ROUND DISGUSTING VERY DISSAPOINTED WON'T BE RETURNING EVER AGAIN HOPEFULLY GET THIS HORRID TASTE OUT MY MOUTH!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kerensa29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
There are newer reviews for The Ship Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 161 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

We really enjoyed the food we selected including vegan and vegetarian options the locally sauced 'wild garlic' soup I particulary enjoyed-they where generous too in sharing tips on the preparation of the food.The menu is far more creative than the usual run of the mill choices-as a vegan it is a welome change not to end up with the chips and salad option!The dogs mentioned in other comments were around but never a nuisance or begging for food-but perhaps I am biased in considering them rather an asset.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Lynne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The 3 of us had Easter Sunday lunch there yesterday, and we were far from impressed with what we encountered. we arrived punctually at 1pm as we had booked a table, and they could find no record of it, but found us a table anyway.
The plan here is to look at the menu and "specials blackboard" and order it from the bar
We already had drinks and all we wanted was 2 roast dinners and one veggie alternative ,no difficult eh
Anyway I approached the bar and the person there allegedly the owner was in a bit of a state trying to process the previous order on the till.
I said no prob "take your time" and she did,getting more and more confused by the minute.
after 10 minutes she asked rather reluctantly what I wanted, I placed our order and waited.
Fair enough the food came quickly, but lets say the presentation was a bit to be desired, how you can screw up presentation of meat and 2 veg is beyond me.
However than managed it magnificently
The meat looked like it had been cut with a chain saw and was of dubious quality containing a lot of fat, gristle and blood.
Not great
It was also not vary warm.
A bit of a let down, however having a selection of dogs roaming the dining room,I suppose they benefited from the leftovers. {hygienic NOT}
I think this pub should UP ITS GAME as at the moment its living on a reputation gained from the past by a Professional
landlord/landlady

Room Tip: give it a miss, its to far off the beaten track for this rubbish food
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank drhawk100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I have been to many pubs in cornwall being a big ale drinker so was looking forward to visiting the ship. Big mistake, I couldn't actually finish my drink (skinners) as smelt and tasted terrible. Felt like we were intruding in somebody's front room as didn't look or feel like a pub...a real disappointment as gives a lovely impression. I have even biked past it since and being thirsty have not popped in so must be bad!! Never again....

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Just returned from a family lunch at The Ship Inn. Absolutely great place. Old pub in historic setting on the River Fowey. Friendly and efficient staff, well prepared and presented food at very reasonable prices. Good choice of wine and real ale. Shame we had to leave before the band started playing! We will be back. Tony Sheridan

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We visited with baby, dog and extended family for Sunday lunch on the recommendation of our holiday accommodation.
The pub itself is full of character and the staff were friendly and approachable. The public car park is within easy walking distance and is free of charge and situated on the waterfront - very pretty.
We were seated in the conservatory/restaurant area at the rear of the pub and consequently were not allowed to take the dog in with us but we could have taken him with us if we had booked a table in the bar.
A high chair was provided for the baby and the food was good - a choice of roast chicken, pork or beef and the vegetarian option was tasty although unusual (marrow stuffed with sag aloo). The vegetables accompanying the meat were varied - roast potatoes, carrots, broccoli, red cabbage, turnip, parsnips as well as Yorkshire puddings. It was just like having an old fashioned Sunday lunch at home - plain but tasty.
Unfortunately the pub was short staffed on the day of our visit so service was not quite as efficient as I am sure it normally is but everyone was very friendly and we will certainly go again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We have stayed on a number of occasions. Without fail , the bar is full of fun and the beer excellent. The rooms are clean , tidy and warm with plenty of tea , coffee and water. Breakfast was cooked to order and most enjoyable. We ate in the restaurant on 2 evenings , both nights I can only describe my meal as excellent. Bearing in mind my choices varied from lobster to pate to start and mussels to steak for a main course , that is not a bad effort!! We tried 3 different wines over the 2 evenings and all were very good as well as perfectly chilled. It is hard to see how any of the staff could have been more helpful , or fun! All in all a very enjoyable experience, the village is beautiful and The Ship tops it off, well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerryn
3.6 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,381 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
504 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Cormorant Hotel
The Cormorant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Golant
353 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
684 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Address: Fore Street, Lerryn PL22 0PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lerryn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lerryn
Price Range: $98 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Inn Lerryn, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing