We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stay”
Review of Halfway House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingsand
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Halfway House Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Kingsand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delightful stay”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We flew from the USA to attend a wedding at the nearby Polhawn Fort, and booked the Halfway House Inn for our stay. We can't say enough good things about it. The rooms are large, modern and clean with enormous bathrooms and a teapot and biscuits in every room. The staff is relaxed and helpful, assisting with everything from taxi reservations and activity suggestions to getting cash back in a town that has no ATM for foreign bank cards (they did it for us). The downstairs pub is cozy and clean, and morning English breakfast is a feast. The inn itself is perfectly situated between Kingsand/Cawsand near the water. We enjoyed many a stroll through the village and along the beautiful Coastal Path to nearby sites like Mt. Edgcumbe and Penlee Point. Would return anytime!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tralala102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    27
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
30
39
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had two nights at the Halfway House as we had a wedding at the nearby fort. We were impressed with the lovely modern rooms; very comfortable beds and spacious, clean bathrooms. The double shower was very nice! Flat screened television and coffee/tea facilities with complimentary cookies was a nice gesture. As mentioned in previous reviews, it would be a good idea to pre-book a park as it was very full when we arrived. As we needed two rooms, it would have been better to have the rooms closer together, rather than have the children on their own down the hallway. The breakfast was very nice; a choice of cereals and a cooked breakfast. Fruit would be a nice option though for those who do not want a cooked breakfast. A later check-out on the Sunday would be ideal after a wedding as we missed the last breakfast with us all sleeping in after a late night at the wedding. Overall, a very pleasant stay at the Halfway House Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lailbale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We booked the Halfway House Inn as we were attending a wedding at the nearby fort. We arrived late in the evening and were shown straight to our room with no messing around and left to it. which is just how i like it.

The room was cosy and quaint with a very nice large bathroom and double shower. The bed was heaven and one of the comfiest i have ever slept in. Breakfast was cracking and prompt.the staff who worked there and the gentleman who i assumed owned the place were very very helpfull and very friendly ( although i wouldnt reccomend waking him up at 1am, we wern't given the correct outdoor key!)

Checkout was 10am, we had thought it 11am like most places but even though we didn't venture down until 11.30 we were not once disturbed, which was pretty fabulous as some places come knocking.

The Town - We very naively arrived with no cash. Living in London we use card for pretty much everything. If you do present your card to someone the chances are they will look at you like you have lost your marbles. There is also no cashpoint as our taxi driver very sarcasticly pointed out. the inn were again very helpful and sorted us out. also note if you arrive late ( and round these ends this is 9pm!) you won't be able to get anything to eat and no shop will be open. You will however have a few beautifully located pubs to have a pint in.

We would definetly recommend The Halfway House Inn if you are attending a wedding at the fort as its a very short and reasonably priced taxi away. We had a lovely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbs111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Having driven for 7 hours from Kent to Cornwall for a wedding on a rainy bank holiday Monday, we were very much in need of some food! We'd tried a few other places, all of which had stopped serving or were fully booked, and found ourselves in luck when we got to the Halfway House.

The food was great, well up to standard. Big portions, good value for money, everyone was happy. I would specifically recommend the sizzling fish platter, very fresh, tasted great.The staff were friendly and helpful. Our only issue was the lack of atmosphere, the area where we ate needed some background music; our party of 4 were easily making the most noise, and it was a little awkward. Nevertheless, it was just what we needed after a long day.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank vandrh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Staff very friendly and a great help. Room was great. Didn't spend much time there as I was making the most of the beach so used it for it's main purpose.

3 things to make it a 5/5 (at the moment it is 4.5)

1. When I went to check in they couldn't find the reservation book and asked me to come back in 2 hours....

2. At breakfast if they offered an option on eggs eg poached or scrambled

3. The TV in the room is tiny, I know we are not there to stay in the rooms however just in the morning or before going to bed it would be nice to have a slightly bigger TV.

Like I say minor suggestions and not complaints (well apart from being asked to come back in 2 hours having been on the road for 4 hours) and I had a great time... this would just make it perfect!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigpoppapump82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Just used the pub for lunch. Awesome. Quite expensive but the Fish and Chips were amazing and service friendly and quick.

One in our group could not have potato or batter so they made backed fish and veg for them. Really good.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdeWotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed here as the 2 B&B's never responded to our calls or emails. Very nice room, clean and modern with a great bath and shower. The pub itself is nice with friendly locals. Parking costs £3.50 in the car park next door.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WayneEls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsand
5.1 mi away
Whitsand Bay Hotel
Whitsand Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portwrinkle
596 reviews
13.0 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
847 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Little Fox Hotel
Little Fox Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crafthole
233 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rame Barton
Rame Barton
#1 of 1 in Rame
212 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cambridge House
Cambridge House
#6 of 10 in Torpoint
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halfway House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halfway House Inn

Property: Halfway House Inn
Address: Fore Street, Kingsand PL10 1NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Kingsand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kingsand
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Halfway House Inn Kingsand, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing