We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Welcome”
Review of Halfway House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingsand
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Halfway House Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Kingsand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed at the Halfway House Inn on Sunday evening having travelled down from Somerset to see an art exhibition. We were given a very warm welcome and shown to our room which was bright, clean and inviting. My only criticism I would have is that there was no chair to sit on, however we were not there to stay in our room! We decided to ahve lunch there before going to the exhibition and were very lucky to find a table! The place was bursting at the seams! We had delicious roast beef with all the trimmings, my husband said it was the best pub roast that he had tasted in a long while.

We then went out to the exhibition and had a little wander around then met up with friends in another pub, the Devon Port, where we spent a very pleasant time chatting and laughing. We then discovered that the only place n Kingsand to serve food on a Sunday evening was the Halfway House. When we returned there the place was absolutely full. Luckily they found a space for us! It was lovely to see a pub so full of people on a blustery Sunday evening in October. We will definitely be going again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samet2262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 112 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2011

Warm welcome from Mike + the locals. Very friendly pub in lovely location

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swansea mrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

This became our local while we were staying at Penmillard Farm. We ate in all the pubs in Cawsand/Kingsand and we liked this above all the others. It's a real pub with a traditional landlord's welcome, great ale and excellent food. I had the lemon sole one night and it was superb and priced very reasonably. Will definitely be back when we go back to the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Everything a good local should be - warm, friendly, and great food...the king crevettes were superb!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Jippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We had stayed in Cawsand previously &, as it was our Silver Wedding Anniversary, decided to try the Halfway House Inn in Kingsand. I had rung prior to our arrival to arrange champagne & roses in the room so when we arrived, I was really impressed that this also included a card from the inn itself along with a banner as well!

The room itself was fantastic, clean & extremely tidy with a modern décor & a huge en-suite bathroom & shower .... everything you could ask for was provided, even a gazebo! (ring & ask! :-D)

The food was excellent, both the evening meal & breakfast, & nothing was to diffulcult for the landlord or the staff .... as close to perfection as we could have wished for!

If I could raise just one very minor point that would be that perhaps the latest checkout time on a Sunday could be a tad later than the current 10 am, especially after a night of celebration!

Overall, a fantastic weekend & we will be going back again soon!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikbrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

The Wedding was at a local venue and options of where to stay we circulated. We were well pleased with our chioce. Clean tidy, acceptable breakfast. The only concern was the lack of hot water on the night we arrived but after that it was sorted. The local choirs belated Christmas dinner and their singing madefor agreat night.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robinia56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2008

Fairly olde worlde pub with very warm welcome, however the rooms are unexpectedley modern. They have been very well decorated and are fitted out with an excellent shower and flat screen TV. The breakfast was to die for ! Right in the heart of Kingsand with several pubs in short walking distance. Beautiful village with very friendly people. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone seeking a base in the area. One tip I would give is to enquire with them about pre-booking a space in the car park - it gets very full and there is no other parking near by.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alblue101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Halfway House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halfway House Inn

Address: Fore Street, Kingsand PL10 1NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Kingsand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kingsand
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Halfway House Inn Kingsand, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing