We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unaccomadating attitude”
Review of Trelowarren

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trelowarren
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I am a local. On one occasion this year me and a friend used the pool on a
' day pass' for £8 each. Today we tried to use the pool again but as it was august we were informed that there were no day passes being issued. This seemed fair enough, the facilities are mainly for the use of the holiday makers staying there I suppose. The only gripe I have is that the pool was totally empty! Would it have hurt anyone to have allowed 2 local people in, and make £18 at the same time? You should remember who contributes to your business profits when all the tourists have gone home. Yes, us locals! I shall never go to Trelowarren again thanks to this inflexible and ungenerous attitude.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank WendyGoodall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrelowarrenCornwall, Owner at Trelowarren, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I'm afraid that in July and August we have to support our local members and our guests in the self-catering cottages. We cannot predict when they will want to come to the pool but have to respect the fact that they have made a commitment to Trelowarren and we want them to be able to enjoys the facilities without them being too crowded.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 79 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

While in the area it is well worth visiting the yard restraunt on the Trelowaren estate. Great place to park up and wander around,the various shops and garden area make this a place where a couple of hours can easily slip by.
Then drop into the yard restraunt for lunch,decent well priced food with attentive happy staff,almost certain to enjoy the time spent. {Forgot my new camera!!}

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoyL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed in the Doctors cottage for a week and we really enjoyed ourselves. The cottage was lovely and it was nice to have our own space and a great garden, but also nice to take the short trip to the pool or the tennis court. It is a great location to explore the Lizard and I imagine the bigger cottages would be ideal for several families. The highlight for us was sea kayaking with Lizard Adventures - highly recommended. The only downside is no WiFi in the cottages and limited up at the office.

Room Tip: Doctors cottage is great for a family of four
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robblanden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We drove a long way to get here for the Sunday lunch and it was well worth the journey.

A grand estate setting, winding well kept hedge row roads and rolling panoramic green vistas make a stunning entry.

We headed straight for the New Yard resturaunt where we were pleasantly surprised to see a Sunday BBQ in action.

The short menu offered more than enough to get taste buds watering. The chef was BBQ'ing live in the courtyard making all around dizzy with hunger. He looked quite stressed though!! But he was being hassled by a persistent, uncontrollable child.

We plumped for the BBQ steak and BBQ mackerel with salad and it was all utterly delicious. The fish was so moist, tasty and just slid of the bones. The meat was tender, perfectly cooked and full of flavour. The serve yourself salad was just great and every offering of it from tomato, basil and mozzarella to orange and fennel were perfectly prepared. It was all great.

However beware!! Whilst the courtyard may boast delicious smells this won't just attract you but also many a hungry (angry) wasp. If you hate bugs go in doors. We stayed outside as we had our dog with us. This is minor and obviously a natural pitfall to alfresco eating but hard going if your with a wasp hater!!

I would suggest more and better designed seating outside as it would add to the courtyard and the guests experience.

It's worth noting that all we ate and drank was all great value for money. £30 for such tasty food is good value I feel.

Lovely afternoon but damn those wasps!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bobbyboysabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrelowarrenCornwall, Owner at Trelowarren, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your lunch - and Yes, damn those wasps one week they weren't there and the next they were. We have had a major search and destroy programme and found two nests in the vicinity of the Yard. This has improved things considerably.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This estate sits in almost the centre of the Lizard peninsula allowing equidistant access to all the local beaches. We stayed in Downas which was comfortable but less well equipped than most self-catering places I've stayed in at this price. The steep staircase was not suitable for our one year old but stair gates were provided. Wifi access only available at reception which is a bit limiting. The place has a lovely relaxing feel to it and the estate itself is worth exploring - not least the Fogou! Can recommend the pasties from nearby Geer farm. Delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Escoces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The cottage and resort were up to a very high standard, faultless really.
A very relaxing and enjoyable holiday in beautiful surroundings. The 'resort' at Trelowarren is very well designed to offer useful facilities (restaurant, spa, pool) but in a very private and discreet way, so you feel left alone if you want to.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We enjoyed our lovely property, the facility and the walking with our family and dogs. The pool and gym were excellent and the surrounding area wonderful for the coves, bays, footpaths, views and pubs. For a relaxing, 'get-away from it' holiday Trelowarren is highly recommended! We would love to visit again.................................... soon!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PPegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helston
5.0 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
699 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
623 reviews
3.8 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Mullion Cove Lodge Park
3.6 mi away
Harbour Inn
Harbour Inn
#1 of 8 in Porthleven
502 reviews
2.4 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 3 in Helston
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trelowarren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trelowarren

Address: Mawgan, Helston TR12 6AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Helston
Hotel Class:5 star — Trelowarren 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trelowarren is a Historic Estate on The Lizard in South West Cornwall. Surrounded by beautiful beaches the estate is 1000 acres of peace and tranquility within woodlands and farmland. Our 5 star, gold award self catering accommodation includes beautiful historic cottages, restored to provide warm, comfortable accommodation whilst retaining character and charm as well as our new eco-houses, with wonderful open-plan living, built to the highest standards.Trelowarren provides a safe haven for you and your family and friends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trelowarren Helston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing