We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easter stay at Wheal Liberty” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trelowarren

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trelowarren
Certificate of Excellence
Harpenden, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Easter stay at Wheal Liberty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

The cottage and resort were up to a very high standard, faultless really.
A very relaxing and enjoyable holiday in beautiful surroundings. The 'resort' at Trelowarren is very well designed to offer useful facilities (restaurant, spa, pool) but in a very private and discreet way, so you feel left alone if you want to.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    17
    1
    5
    4
See reviews for
34
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We enjoyed our lovely property, the facility and the walking with our family and dogs. The pool and gym were excellent and the surrounding area wonderful for the coves, bays, footpaths, views and pubs. For a relaxing, 'get-away from it' holiday Trelowarren is highly recommended! We would love to visit again.................................... soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PPegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Having written many reviews on trip advisor and never having written a bad one, I am sad to say this is my first.
Trelowarren is a beautiful place (this is why it got a terrible as opposed to a poor rating). However, customer service is very poor. The lady at reception and restaurant staff are quite 'off' and makes you feel more of a hindrance than welcome.
The food in the restaurant is lovely, but overpriced for the portion sizes. The pool is only open for a few hours a day - despite saying it can be open at other times and "just ask" (written on the board) but this is met by a response which makes you feel like you are imposing!!
I view a spa break/stay as somewhere to relax and unwind. However, the customer service does not make this feel like a welcoming place and really lets this place down. It could be a lovely place. Having been to a lot of other spa breaks in both Cornwall and further away, I can say this one I will never be visiting again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 8SunnyDays8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrelowarrenCornwall, Owner at Trelowarren, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We are glad that you found Trelowarren beautiful and that your food was delicious. We have an outdoor pool heated by a biomass boiler and so in cooler weather in the spring we do put the cover back on to make sure that we don't waste the heat - but we are happy to take it off again for our spa day visitors to have a lovely steamy swim. Our service is intended to be cheerful, open, friendly and even (when appropriate) a little informal, so I will talk to everyone about the danger of seeming 'diffident'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We discovered the Trelowarren Estate in September, last time we were holidaying in Cornwall. The high standard of the restaurant on the estate gave us the confidence to book a week in April in one of their self-catering cottages. We had also wandered around and seen how lovely all the properties looked. The houses are beautifully spaced out around the estate and I think most have their own garden. All seem to be very private and peaceful.
We were so relieved when we arrived - the property was immaculately clean and very well-equipped. We have throughly enjoyed our week here and have taken advantage of the pleasant walks available on one's doorstep. Many people staying here seem to bring dogs with them, just as we did. It is so refreshing to find immaculate holiday properties that allow dogs to stay - thank you! We look forward to our return and cannot wait until our son is old enough to enjoy all the estate has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequent_Traveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrelowarrenCornwall, Owner at Trelowarren, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
I'm glad that you loved your stay at Trelowarren. Wood fired ovens are a little hard to manage but I am sure when you come again this year's young chef will have eliminated the occasional singed corner. He is getting rave reviews at the moment and trialing great new combinations like goats cheese and wild garlic, as well as the traditional tomato and basil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at Trelowarren many many times and every time look forward to my forthcoming trip.

The accommodation (self catering cottages) are at an extremely high standard and suit whether you intend to self cater and cook (eg dinner services for 8/ food processor etc included) or eat out/ at the New Yard Restaurant on the Estate or on the hoof during days/ evenings out.

Close to the beautiful Lizard/ Kynance Cove and the unspoilt Church Cove, lots of National Trust properties Trelowarren is ideally suited for all kinds of holidays

The owners of the estate have built a great team who go out of their way to be helpful. Babysitting can be easily arranged either from the staff or trusted local families. The New Yard Restaurant has gone from strength to strength over the years and has a fabulous menu drawn largely from local produce. The wine list is lovely and reasonably priced

The only disappointment was the Pizza night run by the family in one of the old estate buildings. I paid London prices to eat slightly charred and cold pizza out of a box with the most rubbish wine I can remember drinking since my 'Lambrusco from a box' student days. This needs improving - I won't go again until I hear it does.

Other than that the Trelowarren experience is truly lovely and I can't recommend it enough

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1966girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrelowarrenCornwall, Manager at Trelowarren, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Trelowarren and thank you for all of your feedback on the different aspects of staying here. I am sorry you had a dissappointing evening in the pizza shop. We can certainly look into what happened that night and make sure it doesn't happen again. We have a great following for the the Pizza shop so it is important that we keep the standards high and make sure we meet your expectations.

I hope it will not be too long before we can tempt you back to try it again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at Trelowarren (Wheal Liberty) for 3 nights in January and thoroughly recommend this.

The house we stayed in was a two bedroom 'lodge', with every amenity we could have wanted.
We had bed & breakfast for the three mornings of our stay, one of which was courtesy of a fantastic 'breakfast pack' which was waiting for us on arrival (the restaurant was not open for our first morning). This consisted of home made bread, croissants, ham, preserves and cheese, which was lovely.
A small quantity of milk, coffee, tea and sugar was also provided.

The rooms were tastefully decorated and very comfortable, as was the bed, with crisp white sheets and lovely towels.

We ate in the New Yard restaurant for two mornings, enjoying a lovely traditional English cooked breakfast. We also enjoyed an evening meal in the same restaurant, which was superb.
The waiting staff (Kirstie & Nicky) were friendly, warm and welcoming.

All in all a lovely place to stay. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Wheal Liberty was ideal for two but does have two bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CornwallMole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrelowarrenCornwall, Front Office Manager at Trelowarren, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Trelowarren. I am so pleased you enjoyed both the breakfast box and breakfast in the restaurant, we look forward to seeing you here again soon.
Kind regards

Mary - in reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have just returned from a week staying at Trelowarren, more specifically, in Downas holiday cottage.

The cottage was decorated simply using tasteful and good quality furnishings. The kitchen was extremely well-equipped (you can tell someone who actually cooks had thought about what a holiday cottage requires!). The bathrooms were hotel-standard and the cottage was immaculately clean throughout.

Arriving on a dark and wet winter's night, we were thrilled to find the cottage with the lights on, fire lit and a tea tray waiting for us in the kitchen and fresh milk in the fridge.

A big plus is that sheets and towels are provided - again hotel quality (I am wary of these at many holiday rentals, but not here).

Trelowarren is in a great location to explore the Lizard, the Helford and Western Cornwall, as we undertook many local walks, and visited St. Ives, Helston, Penzance and Falmouth. We would have done more if the weather had been better, and we wanted to try some estate walks too. There is plenty to do on the estate and if you fancy a more relaxing break, you can enjoy lunch or dinner every day in the excellent restaurant, just a few steps away, too. The spa is very nice and I had a wonderful treatment there - such a quiet and relaxing spa - and Kim, the therapist, was brilliant.

We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrelowarrenCornwall, Front Office Manager at Trelowarren, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I am so pleased you had a good stay at Trelewarren and enjoyed Downas so much. We always try to make sure you have everything you need in the houses, it does make such a difference to your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Mary in Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helston
5.0 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
3.8 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
14.3 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
4.3 mi away
Mullion Cove Lodge Park
1.9 mi away
Tregaddra Farm B&B
Tregaddra Farm B&B
#3 of 39 in Helston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trelowarren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trelowarren

Property: Trelowarren
Address: Mawgan, Helston TR12 6AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Helston
Hotel Class:5 star — Trelowarren 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trelowarren is a Historic Estate on The Lizard in South West Cornwall. Surrounded by beautiful beaches the estate is 1000 acres of peace and tranquility within woodlands and farmland. Our 5 star, gold award self catering accommodation includes beautiful historic cottages, restored to provide warm, comfortable accommodation whilst retaining character and charm as well as our new eco-houses, with wonderful open-plan living, built to the highest standards.Trelowarren provides a safe haven for you and your family and friends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trelowarren Helston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing