We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous place to stay either as part of a busy family holiday or as a short break/ grown up hideaway!”
Review of Trelowarren

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trelowarren
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A fabulous place to stay either as part of a busy family holiday or as a short break/ grown up hideaway!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at Trelowarren many many times and every time look forward to my forthcoming trip.

The accommodation (self catering cottages) are at an extremely high standard and suit whether you intend to self cater and cook (eg dinner services for 8/ food processor etc included) or eat out/ at the New Yard Restaurant on the Estate or on the hoof during days/ evenings out.

Close to the beautiful Lizard/ Kynance Cove and the unspoilt Church Cove, lots of National Trust properties Trelowarren is ideally suited for all kinds of holidays

The owners of the estate have built a great team who go out of their way to be helpful. Babysitting can be easily arranged either from the staff or trusted local families. The New Yard Restaurant has gone from strength to strength over the years and has a fabulous menu drawn largely from local produce. The wine list is lovely and reasonably priced

The only disappointment was the Pizza night run by the family in one of the old estate buildings. I paid London prices to eat slightly charred and cold pizza out of a box with the most rubbish wine I can remember drinking since my 'Lambrusco from a box' student days. This needs improving - I won't go again until I hear it does.

Other than that the Trelowarren experience is truly lovely and I can't recommend it enough

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1966girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrelowarrenCornwall, Manager at Trelowarren, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Trelowarren and thank you for all of your feedback on the different aspects of staying here. I am sorry you had a dissappointing evening in the pizza shop. We can certainly look into what happened that night and make sure it doesn't happen again. We have a great following for the the Pizza shop so it is important that we keep the standards high and make sure we meet your expectations.

I hope it will not be too long before we can tempt you back to try it again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    18
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
38
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at Trelowarren (Wheal Liberty) for 3 nights in January and thoroughly recommend this.

The house we stayed in was a two bedroom 'lodge', with every amenity we could have wanted.
We had bed & breakfast for the three mornings of our stay, one of which was courtesy of a fantastic 'breakfast pack' which was waiting for us on arrival (the restaurant was not open for our first morning). This consisted of home made bread, croissants, ham, preserves and cheese, which was lovely.
A small quantity of milk, coffee, tea and sugar was also provided.

The rooms were tastefully decorated and very comfortable, as was the bed, with crisp white sheets and lovely towels.

We ate in the New Yard restaurant for two mornings, enjoying a lovely traditional English cooked breakfast. We also enjoyed an evening meal in the same restaurant, which was superb.
The waiting staff (Kirstie & Nicky) were friendly, warm and welcoming.

All in all a lovely place to stay. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Wheal Liberty was ideal for two but does have two bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CornwallMole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrelowarrenCornwall, Front Office Manager at Trelowarren, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Trelowarren. I am so pleased you enjoyed both the breakfast box and breakfast in the restaurant, we look forward to seeing you here again soon.
Kind regards

Mary - in reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have just returned from a week staying at Trelowarren, more specifically, in Downas holiday cottage.

The cottage was decorated simply using tasteful and good quality furnishings. The kitchen was extremely well-equipped (you can tell someone who actually cooks had thought about what a holiday cottage requires!). The bathrooms were hotel-standard and the cottage was immaculately clean throughout.

Arriving on a dark and wet winter's night, we were thrilled to find the cottage with the lights on, fire lit and a tea tray waiting for us in the kitchen and fresh milk in the fridge.

A big plus is that sheets and towels are provided - again hotel quality (I am wary of these at many holiday rentals, but not here).

Trelowarren is in a great location to explore the Lizard, the Helford and Western Cornwall, as we undertook many local walks, and visited St. Ives, Helston, Penzance and Falmouth. We would have done more if the weather had been better, and we wanted to try some estate walks too. There is plenty to do on the estate and if you fancy a more relaxing break, you can enjoy lunch or dinner every day in the excellent restaurant, just a few steps away, too. The spa is very nice and I had a wonderful treatment there - such a quiet and relaxing spa - and Kim, the therapist, was brilliant.

We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrelowarrenCornwall, Front Office Manager at Trelowarren, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I am so pleased you had a good stay at Trelewarren and enjoyed Downas so much. We always try to make sure you have everything you need in the houses, it does make such a difference to your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Mary in Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We recently held our wedding at the New Yard Restaurant here which has been detailed in a seperate review (also wonderful!) but as a number of our friends and family stayed here, and my husband and I also stayed here on our wedding night, I thought I would write a review of the accomodation as well.

The houses range in size from 2 bedrooms to much larger but they are of a consistently high standard with lovely comfortable beds, big soft sofas and lovely wooden kitchens.

The estate itself is beautiful (lots of photo opportunities for a wedding!) with long walks, a spa centre and the fabulous restaurant on site. The whole team at Trelowarren were really helpful - thanks in particular to Mary who organised everyones accomodation so well and Kirsty who runs the restaurant and couldn't have been more helpful!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily01Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrelowarrenCornwall, Manager at Trelowarren, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad you all had such a wonderful stay at Trelowarren. We wish you all the best for your future and look forward to welcoming you and your friends and family back to Trelowarren over the coming years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2012

In October 2012 we had a week's holiday at Trelowarren - making this our 4th visit over four years. Our family group ranged from age 4 to age 70. We have previously stayed in the older cottages (Carleen, Doctor's Cottage) and on this trip we stayed in a modern house (Skewye). The accommodation is superb - comfortable and tasteful - everything you need but spacious enough to leave room for one's own belongings. There are both short and longer walks on the estate itself, as well as more substantial walks a short drive away either along the sheltered Helford valley or on the more rugged Lizard peninsula. Trelowarren has a large and beautiful heated outdoor swimming pool, and a tennis court. The staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly - for example, keeping the pool open beyond its official hours if someone wanted to swim, coming to the house at short notice to explain how to work the TV/dvd, and the chef at the on-site restaurant being very obliging in supplying us with a couple of critical ingredients that we had forgotten to buy for a special recipe we were cooking. There is only one thing wrong with Trelowarren - it is too far away from where we live for us to go there more than once a year!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MVV_Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrelowarrenCornwall, Manager at Trelowarren, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoy Trelowarren so much. We look forward to seeing you again in 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Trelowarren is an exceptional place - luxurious accommodation, great facilities like the pool, tennis court and galleries, friendly staff and a glorious woodland location, just a short drive from the beautiful Lizard coast. It's the most relaxing place we've ever stayed - you can spend a couple of hours walking in beautiful scenery without even leaving the estate and, on dark nights, you're treated to the hoots of the owls. We will be back...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JournalistLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrelowarrenCornwall, Manager at Trelowarren, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Rude - over rated , the crowed gathered in the reception. Area were saying ' we do not like to work' and these people visiting are horid ' . My daugher who is 3 was told to be quiet as she was excited with being in the pool. The pool was nice the cafe was Øk but the people were horried. Do not stay if u have kids

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Trelowarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrelowarrenCornwall, Owner at Trelowarren, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
What a pity that you felt you had a bad experience in the reception although I gather from your review that you weren't staying with us so. We have lots of children staying at Trelowarren (and five of our own) and our customers are a pretty chilled and friendly group so this account does seem very unusual.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helston
3.8 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
797 reviews
5.0 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
674 reviews
3.6 mi away
Trengilly Wartha Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
574 reviews
2.4 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 3 in Helston
86 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mullion Cove Lodge Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trelowarren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trelowarren

Property: Trelowarren
Address: Mawgan, Helston TR12 6AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Helston
Hotel Class:5 star — Trelowarren 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trelowarren is a Historic Estate on The Lizard in South West Cornwall. Surrounded by beautiful beaches the estate is 1000 acres of peace and tranquility within woodlands and farmland. Our 5 star, gold award self catering accommodation includes beautiful historic cottages, restored to provide warm, comfortable accommodation whilst retaining character and charm as well as our new eco-houses, with wonderful open-plan living, built to the highest standards.Trelowarren provides a safe haven for you and your family and friends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trelowarren Helston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing