We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mealtimes were unique !”
Review of Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Angel Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Helston
Reviewed October 27, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights and were quite pleased overall , the rooms were clean , staff quite pleasant and food was great . our only negatives were the very thin windows on front facing rooms that let in ALL noises and the mealtime experience - we had only a verbal menu , a choice of 2 starters and little else but the food was good . i got the impression that there were some staffing issues . also of note was that our dirty tablecloth from the previous night was on our table for breakfast , a little careless but no harm done !

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loneloony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 89 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2010

Booked with some reservation after reading some of the previous reviews. Needn' t have worried. Lovely staff, room clean and warm, fresh white towels, crisp clean sheets, tea and coffee facilities. En suite. Good shower, hot water. Slept well. Comfortable and quiet (room 15). Nice bar. Nice breakfast. What more could you want? Would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellor97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

Service, service, service!!! WOW!!! nothing is too much trouble for the Angel Hotel! We were in Helston for Flora Day. The whole town was booked solid! and we were lucky to get the last room at the Angel. We sheepishly enquired if it would be possible to get breakfast at 6:15am as we didn't want to miss the beginning of the days celebrations that start at 7am! "Of course, no problem at all" was the reply. The owner showed us to our room (very nice young irish man with a lovely accent). We had been told on the phone when booking that the rooms weren't fantastic as the hotel had just been taken over by new management only a month beforehand and they had not had time to address the rooms yet and were given a discounted price to reflect this. We were expecting the worst, but we were delighted to see that the room (tho basic) was spotlessly clean, bright and fresh.
After we settled into our room we headed down to the bar to get the weekend off to a good start. It was fairly busy already and "the craic (as the owner says) was already mighty" such a great atmosphere in the bar. friendly, safe, fun. We pub crawled all around the town on two night and always ended up back at the Angel. (plus the pints were defintely cheaper)
the breakfast was supurb with very generous portions. served by two lovely waitresses on Flora Day and then by a lady who I'm pretty sure is the owners own true and true "Irish Mammy" . It was such a comfortable relaxed atmosphere. So if you like a bit of banter, good food, great guinness and "the craic" this is the place to stay. If you're looking for sterile, bland, service, an inferior breakfast and a long walk from the town stay at the travel lodge like our friends who also ended up in the Angel every night!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deep_South_Blues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

The Angel Hotel is situated right in the middle of Helston Town and as we had spent the day walking in this beautiful part of Cornwall it was nice to just get off the bus and our hotel was just a few yards up the street.
Our rooms were at the front of the hotel which overlooks the main street and even though it was quite basic it was spotlessly clean and fresh.
We asked if we could get a nice meal somewhere and were told that the hotel had just recently opened a new restaurant and was gaining a good reputation amongst locals so we decided to try it. We were so glad we did as there was plenty of choice on the menu and two of us had steak and the other two had the Fajita Towers . When it came to dessert some people next to us recommended the Angel cheesecake...delicious!!
All the food was fresh, homemade and well cooked.
We spent the rest of the evening drinking the best guinness outside of Ireland (turns out the owner is Irish),chatting to lots of people, laughing and to top it all the staff managed to talk us into taking part in the Karaoke!!!
The next morning we came down to a freshly cooked full english breakfast along with cereal, yogurts,juice,tea and coffee served by friendly, cheerful, helpful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeGreatBritain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We had spent a week travelling round Cornwall staying in nice pubs and B&Bs and were impressed by the high standards and friendly people. Our last night in Helston unfortunately left a bad taste. Compared to the rest of Cornwall, where we had struggled to find vacancies, the Angel had no problem fitting us in at short notice, which should have been a clue. We saw posters announcing Karaoke that night, but were assured it finished at midnight. Our room, facing onto the street was tired and shabby, but clean enough. And that's about the best thing I can say about it. The noise mentioned by other reviewers will keep anyone but the hard of hearing awake: the karaoke did finish at midnight, but then there is the club next door which kicks out at 2am. Everyone then congregates on the street below the window and shouts drunkenly, fights and waits for the police to finally disperse them at about 3am Quite bizarrely the bar staff then stagger from room to room at 4am, presumably looking for somewhere to crash, knocking on our door (and every other on the floor) and opening it before giggling "er, sorry, room service", when they realise it is occupied. After no sleep, we went down to breakfast at the agreed time to find a some guests but no staff. A friendly businessman who had stayed there for a couple of days told us this was normal. Eventually, the stroppiest waiter in the world sloped in and deigned to get us breakfast, which was actually rather nice... However, his manners were apalling, not bothering to tell us or our newly made friend that he had brought in the coffee the businessman had ordered half an hour earlier, but instead plonking it on the bar and walking off to mop the floor. We checked out as soon as we could.
Two positive notes on Helston, if not the Angel: The atmospheric Blue Anchor with its potent home-brewed beer and the Halzephron Inn in nearby Gullawoe for fantastic pub food.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whatever169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

Friendly staff, excellent food, immaculate rooms and the hospitality is second to none.
No negatives to say about Helston or the hotel.
Have been working in Falmouth quite often and always stay in Helston at the Angel Hotel.
8/10 for entertainment and have a fine selection of beers, wines and spirits.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelli-jelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Very dissapointed - made a booking for 4 people, Not only did it take 3 attempts to make this booking in the 1st place.and only to be told upon their arrival there was NO room at the Inn... rang only to be told that there had been an error and have double booked! No attempt from the staff to sort this little probem out. when the people staying had travelled 2 hours worked a 10 hour day, all they want to do is get showered, changed and relax before the next days work.... i got the feeling from the numerous telphone calls that the staff staff seem to think their in a holday park !!!!

Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
Thank oc1Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helston hotels
2.1 mi away
Harbour Inn
Harbour Inn
#1 of 8 in Porthleven
515 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
0 mi away
Queens Arms
Queens Arms
#1 of 2 in Breage
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 3 in Gweek
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
No.52 Bed & Breakfast
No.52 Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 38 in Helston
31 reviews
9 mi away
Old Temperance House B&B St Keverne Cornall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel Hotel

Address: 16 Coinagehall Street, Helston TR13 8EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Helston
Price Range: $80 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Hotel in central Helston dates back to the 16th century and was once the town house of Lord Sidney Godolphin who was First Minister to 3 Monarchs. Thereafter, it became a noted coaching inn and has been trading for over 250 years. The Angel is located on the Main High street and offers 1 premier room, 13 double/twin bedrooms, 2 single room & 3 family rooms all en-suite. This is the prime location to see the Furry Dance on Flora Day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Helston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing