We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cornwalls best BnB”
Review of Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Angel Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Helston
Lincon
1 review
“cornwalls best BnB”
Reviewed May 5, 2009

We stumbled upon a wounderfull little bed and breakfast/hotel during our trip to Helston in Cornwall, the place was full of charecter from the word go... the place i am told had only been re-opened for around two weeks by a local 23 year old man with a strong irish background (if your a guiness lover then you will be in your element here!) however you would never know the hotel was ever shut!. We had breakfast which we were told was cooked fresh by the owners mother, and then enjoyed an afternoon of tea and a couple of cheeky beers!?! during the same evening.
Conclusion -
Basic BnB, Great staff, Enjoyable atmosphere, Well priced, All round good package!.
Would recomend to anyone, Below comments may well be aimed at the previous owners, so please disregard and make up your own minds, i know we did!!.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christina-mikei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    19
    11
    14
    18
See reviews for
16
26
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2009

I came to vist family in Helston in August and some other members of the exntended family had got there before me so I booked into the Angel for the couple of nights that we overlapped. It's such a lovely old building. the well in the bar is really cool as is the history of the hotel. The owner was telling me about knocking down walls during refurbishment and finding little rooms all over the place. I really enjoyed my stay. The staff were so helpful and friendly. I agree that the rooms need a little upgrading but I heard rumour that this is now imminent and would be done before Flora day. If this is the case then I can do nothing less than highly recommend ing this hotel. I really can't uderstand how anyone could give this place a bad review. The breakfast was also excellent and I may even go back for that alone!

  • Liked — The quality of service
  • Disliked — Probably the room decor if I HAVE to pick something but that won't be a problem for much longer if my sources are correct
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gobnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markyate
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We stayed for three nights over the August Bank Holiday. To be honest it was the only place we found with a vacancy. I then worried when I subsequently read Trip Advisor!
However we found the place to be OK. The staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast great, and there was no evidence of
-excessive noise
-Us being locked in
-Not working lightbulbs
OK- so the rooms are a bit tired, but are clean. Considering the price - £65 for a double room with Breakfast - I think it's a good deal!

We'd definitely considering returning - great central location, car parking, and only three minutes walk from the Blue Anchor pub - can't be bad

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rooms 'tired'
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterStansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2008

We stayed at the Angel hotel last week. It was the only hotel to have availability on the night we wanted, we now know why!

We checked in okay. The barmaid who took our money up front, asked us what time we wanted breakfast, we said between 0900-1000 hours?.

Our room overlooked the main street, which seemed to be the local race track for the youths of Helston racing their loud cars around the town until the early hours. Our room door did not shut properly. The shower in the room was filthy, no hot water and it came out a little faster than a drip. The plumbing was also questionable as everytime someone in the building flushed their toilet the rest of the rooms could hear it. The beds were uncomfortable and the room was badly in need of redecorating

After an uncomfortable night, we thought we would at least get a decent breakfast. How wrong we were. We arrived at 0950hours(breakfast until 10.00 according to the hotel staff from the previous day) and found the hotel locked down; the bar was locked and so was the reception, we could find no staff members to speak to, eventually a rather rude duty barmaid told us that as we did not come down on time, everything had been turned off and that she should have finished work at 0900hours. My wife asked if we could have a cup of tea, but even this request was refused. She then shut the door in our faces and stormed off. She did not even seem to want the room key returned.

In short, avoid this hotel like the plague.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — evrything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiterhino_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Helston hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cambs, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2008

I read the other reviews of the Angel Hotel, and thought - it cannot be that bad!

The Angel Hotel was the only venue that had availability for my stay, which should have been warning enough.

The negatives:
My room overlooked Coinagehall Street; the window was single glass and therefore offers no soundproofing whatsoever from the young people driving their cars with loud exhausts up and down until 2am, or the seagulls which caw from 4am, or the partygoers falling out of the pubs from 11pm onwards.
Internally listening to the music blasting up from the pub is great, if you like karaoke and rave music.
The carpet in my room was dirty; the duvet cover smelt of the previous occupant, my bin had not been emptied. The shower takes a good 10 minutes to warm up and then only trickles out.
The public bar constantly smells of stale disinfectant.
The staff are un-interested and sombre.
My experience cost me £65 a night!

The positives:
The breakfast is really good (scrambled eggs particularly so), the girl that served breakfast on 30/08 was lovely and cheerful.

If you are going to the Angel, take ear plugs, an eye mask, and your own bed linen - good luck!

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jaffadub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2008

We stayed in the Angel hotel for 1 night whislt in Helston for a friends wedding. We all enjoyed our stay at the Angel, the staff were very friendly and the managers were even more friendly. We didn't realise breakfast was included in the price so it was a nice surprise to go down to a fry up ( which was very delicous!!!)
The Angel has parking round the back (which a few of the others we looked into didn't) which was good as parking outside on the road is very restricted. All in all we had a great stay here and would definatley stay again.

  • Liked — friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — nothing bad to say
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2008

Me and my partner stayed at the angel as we had a wedding, when we first phoned to book the room the owner was polite, helpful, and answered all the questions that i needed.
We arrived to a friendly atmosphere and the staff and owners were very polite and made us feel very welcome.
The room was not up to the best standard but they just need decorating it was clean and warm which is what you need.
In the morning when we come down we had a cooked breakfast and tea which was all made by the cheery owner who still had a smile on her face even tho she was in the bar working till late the night before, we cannot fault the service of the staff in this hotel and we would definatley book to go back their again,
well done everyone who works in the angel you are doing a fantastic job keep up the good work.

  • Liked — the warm and friendly welcome
  • Disliked — the rooms were clean but do need decorating
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinky_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helston
5.5 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
788 reviews
4.5 mi away
Trengilly Wartha Country Inn
5.8 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
John Francis Basset Hotel
2.1 mi away
Harbour Inn
Harbour Inn
#1 of 8 in Porthleven
471 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queens Arms
Queens Arms
#1 of 2 in Breage
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel Hotel

Property: Angel Hotel
Address: 16 Coinagehall Street, Helston TR13 8EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Helston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Hotel in central Helston dates back to the 16th century and was once the town house of Lord Sidney Godolphin who was First Minister to 3 Monarchs. Thereafter, it became a noted coaching inn and has been trading for over 250 years. The Angel is located on the Main High street and offers 1 premier room, 13 double/twin bedrooms, 2 single room & 3 family rooms all en-suite. This is the prime location to see the Furry Dance on Flora Day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Helston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing