We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful stay”
Review of Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Angel Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Helston
london
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A delightful stay”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We have just returned from a three night stay at the angel, whilst on a family visit to Helston. We stayed in the Premier Room on the first floor overlooking the street. We were impressed with the size of the room, and found it very warm, clean and cozy. The whole hotel is very welcoming, with Michael giving us a very warm welcome when we arrived, albeit at mid evening. He and the other staff are exceptional, and should be commended for creatiing such a warm and friendly atmosphere throughout our stay.

The breakfast was outstanding, and being in the business we were very impressed with the quality, also being able to have our meal quickly and efficiently was a delight. We ate our evening meal in the hotel the first night, and can safely say that the steaks we had are by and away the best meal we have had for a very long time.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, yes, there are areas where work is still in progress, but that is due to the hotel being in the midst of being updated. We found the room quiet, and no noise from the street. You are on the main street of the town, and we enjoyed watching the world pass by.

We will certainly be returning here, and look forward to our next visit. Full marks to all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dynamic-hoteliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAngelHotelHelston, Front Office Manager at Angel Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a lovely review.

All of your kind words about our staff have been passed on and they're all very pleased to hear that the hard work they're putting in is really paying off!
With our new menu and new chef we have had a fantastic amount of positive feedback and we are very happy with these responses.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back as you we a pleasure to have as guests

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    19
    11
    14
    19
See reviews for
16
26
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
helston
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We are locals and often call in to The Angel for a drink, we are always made very welcome no matter which members of staff are on duty. We love the history and genuine olde world feel of this place and the most recent management change has been for better as this place is a very difficult beast to tame due to its sheer size and unavoidable lack of 'trendiness' like most of the other places along this road. It plays to its strengths now with its history, charm and elegance and its a good thing it doesn't now try to compete in the 'grooviness' stakes which would cheapen its classiness. Whether or not this proves to be a sound financial strategy remains to be seen.....we hope so. The friendly, comfortable surroundings have but one fault.....an accessable smoking area is desperately needed because when approaching the front door, you often have to barge your way through a group of smokers huddled around and blocking off the front entrance which i'm sure would inevitably put off casual visitors because of the 'mental barrier' this creates and that is a shame because the Angel Hotel is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairdooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAngelHotelHelston, Front Office Manager at Angel Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your review about our hotel.

We do try very hard to please every customer we have and make every visit a memorable one.
The character of the hotel is something we try very hard to keep apparent and we don't want to modernize too much because as you say, it could take away the charm of this old building.

We do in fact have a smoking are to the rear of building (in the beer garden) and customers are always told to smoke out there but unfortunately not all listen, which is a great shame but hopefully something we can easily amend.

We are very glad that you continue to visit us and we hope that you always will, we look forward to welcoming you again and again!

Many thanks and kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed at the Angel Hotel whilst visiting my daughter. AS soon as we walked through the door we were met with a warm, friendly greeting. The hotel itself was welcoming, spotlessly clean and invited you through the door. We could choose what time we had breakfast and this was lovely, freshly cooked and served with a smile. On the evening we chose to eat in the restaurant in the hotel. The food was well cooked and very well presented with a good choice available. The bedrooms were clean, fresh and very comfortable with modern en suite facilities.
When visiting Cornwall in the summer we will certainly be staying at the Angel Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnWagstaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAngelHotelHelston, Front Office Manager at Angel Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you Mrs Wagstaff for write us such a lovely review,

During your stay we got to know you (through your daughter) very well and you were a pleasure to have as guests.
We try very hard between the management and the staff to keep standards high in this hotel and this has shown us we are on the right track!
We are very happy to hear that you found all of our staff to be welcoming and friendly as this really is something we strive for.

A warm welcome, clean hotel & smiling faces all look forward to having you back.

Kind Regards and Many Thanks
Rhiannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden Town, null, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

If you fancy a very good Hotel,Great Food,Great Service,A very very friendly Hotel,Staff really do go out of their way,to make sure you enjoy your stay.I travel all over the UK,,and without doubt,will return to this very Friendy Hotel.So,next time you visit Cornwall,try this Hotel,I Promise you will Return,Great Rates,Great Staff,Great Food,Great Service,in my book,,,100% And 5 *****without the cost,,,,The Bar is also a great place,to plan your trips around Cornwall,and meet the very Friendy Locals,,,

Room Tip: All the Rooms are good,TV,Ensuite,Tea,Coffee,etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAngelHotelHelston, Front Office Manager at Angel Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our page.

We appreciate all the time everyone takes to make comments about their stay, especially when they've enjoyed it so much!
Our rooms have been recently refurbished & decorated and we're glad to see that this is going down well with our guests!
The food, again is something we have recently changed, this has had positive feedback since the change so we are very happy & confident with the new menu.

Again thank you so much and we do hope to welcome you back very soon!
Kind Regards
Rhiannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port El Kantaoui, Tunisia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

the angel in helston is not modern and that's what makes it so good, fantastic breakfast and a small but great menu all the usual suspects really well done. The staff can not do enough , I have been there for pleasure and business and cant fault it

Room Tip: double en suite is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harbourbarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAngelHotelHelston, Front Office Manager at Angel Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for writing us such a lovely review.
We are glad you appreciated the appeal of our lovely 16th century coach house!
One thing we try and do is keep the character of this Hotel without making it too dated.

We look very forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards
Rhiannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights while down in cornwall seeing friends. The staff were lovely and took good care of us. Room was warm, clean and very quiet. Perfect for relaxing in. A good sized shower which also helps. Food was fantastic, had steak first night here and was cooked to perfection, my fiancée had lasagne and she also said it was beautiful. When asking about food times the staff couldnt be more helpful and this allowed us to plan our stay easily. The managment team (Michael and Rihannon) were very pleasant and also extremly helpful, nothing was out of the question. The hotel also had parking out the back which was very helpful but is also right in the center of town so you can walk around rather than having to drive or get a taxi in. The staff are also clued up on the local attractions meaning they can give you directions if needed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAngelHotelHelston, Front Office Manager at Angel Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a lovely review.
Here at The Angel hotel we do strive to make every guests stay as pleasurable as it possibly can be and after reading your review i feel we are accomplishing this!
We are very glad you enjoyed your food as our chef has made a brand new menu so knowing this is going down well is great to hear.
I'm also very glad that you found the staff very helpful and "clued up" we do like to help you explore Helston & Cornwall with ease so knowing we have done this is great!
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to The Angel Hotel again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stopped here for 2 nights for a family wedding,bar staff showed us to our rooms,after unpacking we went down to the bar which was open til 12,staff asked us what time we would like breakfast which is a nice touch instead of being told,breakfast was good also,fryup & cereals, downside is the noise from houses on side of pub,fight happened outside. I would stay here again,other reviews doesnt do it justice,staff couldnt do more for us

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrianavfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAngelHotelHelston, Front Office Manager at Angel Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review and we do hope to welcome you back to The Angel Hotel again very soon!

Unfortunately the noise from the street is something that we can't help but we do try to keep noise from our own bar to a level that won't disturb any of our residents
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found all the staff to be very helpful and welcoming.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helston
5.8 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
593 reviews
4.5 mi away
Trengilly Wartha Country Inn
5.5 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Travelodge Hayle
Travelodge Hayle
#2 of 3 in Hayle
246 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
214 reviews
6.3 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel Hotel

Property: Angel Hotel
Address: 16 Coinagehall Street, Helston TR13 8EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Helston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Hotel in central Helston dates back to the 16th century and was once the town house of Lord Sidney Godolphin who was First Minister to 3 Monarchs. Thereafter, it became a noted coaching inn and has been trading for over 250 years. The Angel is located on the Main High street and offers 1 premier room, 13 double/twin bedrooms, 2 single room & 3 family rooms all en-suite. This is the prime location to see the Furry Dance on Flora Day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Helston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing