We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet, friendly, nice views, off the beaten track”
Review of Merther Uny Farm

Merther Uny Farm
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Merther Uny Farm
Ranked #28 of 39 Helston B&B and Inns
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, quiet, friendly, nice views, off the beaten track”
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Very pleasant B&B, on the Lizard. John and Gill made us feel very welcome. The room was clean and in good condition with great views across the valley. Breakfast was great.
A long twisty single lane track is required to get to the cottage, having arrived it’s best to bookmark your satnav as just putting in the post code doesn’t quite get you there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwaySteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2010

4 peaceful nights away in a pretty,quiet location yet excellently positioned for day trips all around west cornwall. Lovely cornish farmhouse with great views. Excellent hosts who couldn't do enough to make our stay perfect. A visit to the horse and jockey bakery in Helston is a must to sample traditional cornish pasties yum yum.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2010

This is a lovely old stone house at the end of a narrow lane. It is quiet, beautiful and has superb views across the countryside from the bedrooms. I haven't stayed in the self-catering annexe but I have seen inside and I would like to stay there next time I visit. The room I had was large and comfy, rustic but with modern amenities and the bed was very comfortable.
Gill and John Plaister are lovely people who made me - travelling alone - very welcome indeed. The breakfast is wonderful - juices, cereals, fresh fruit, croissants and cooked English breakfast. You can choose or be a pig like me and have the lot!
There's a large garden and a patio area in front of the guest entrance.

Despite the apparently isolated location, you can be in Helston in about 5 minutes. Falmouth is not much further. There are numerous Cornish villages nearby to explore and all of the lovely coast, the Lizard peninsular, the Helford river, all in easy reach. Penzance takes about 30 mins by car.
If there is a disadvantage, it is that there is no pub or restaurant in walking distance, but Gweek and Constantine are very close and both have eateries. Gweek also has the seal sanctuary and a pretty harbour.

I can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChilliBry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2010

The only nervous moment on our trip to Merther Uny Farm was when we tried to get there for the first time...especially in the last half a mile when the GPS fails you and you have to resort to road signs around the narrow roads in Cornwall. But once you get to the Farm its a delight! The property is in an idyllic rural setting ...the rooms are lovely and cosy. John and Gill are fantastic hosts and will make you feel at home in no time. There is ample parking space and even though its set in the countryside, you are close to all the Cornwall "sights". Much better that putting up in one of the B&Bs in town

Some pointers:
- You definitely need a car to get there; there's no public transportation
- The property is fun if you are alone / a couple but is even more fun when you travel in a larger group. There are two bedrooms on the first floor with a large living room (with a lovely fire place) on the ground floor. Good fun when you have friends / family around

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floydarsenal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2007

If you are searching for that idyllic place far away from the pace of modern life then Merther Uny Farm is the place to stay.
Situated at the end of a narrow lane, the farm occupies beautiful views looking south across to Goonhilly.
This has been our third stay with hosts Gill and John who always make us feel at home and provide all the comforts needed for a relaxing holiday stay.We would recommend this B&B to anyone in need of a few days R&R.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank RANDPWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2007

We spent 5 nights at Merther Uny, and I don`t think either my wife or i have ever felt so relaxed so quickly in any other b&b.

The setting is beautifully pastoral, and the effect of the five minute drive through the narrow walled lanes to get to the farmhouse is like going through a decompression chamber, so that when we actually arrived the long motorway drive from the midlands was already forgotten.

Gill and John are warm friendly hosts, and the rooms are exactly what you would expect from a centuries old cornish farmhouse, brought up to date and decorated and furnished in a very soft and comfortable way. The views from the window took me outside every morning before breakfast to admire the horses, stroke the cat, throw sticks for the dog etc in this wonderful tranquil setting.

iWhen we arrived back in the evenings, the absence of artificial light for miles around gave us a fantastic almost 360 degree view of the stars.

I`ve never written a review before so I suppose I should mention the lovely breakfasts, the ample parking, the spotlessly clean spacious rooms and wealth of local information warmly dispensed by both our hosts, which were all appreciated..

However, its the peaceful idyllic cornish setting looking down over a wooded valley, with Goonhilly Downs as a back drop that I will always remember (and most definitely return to!)

  • Liked — idyllic
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank royandali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2007

I booked this lovely B&B partly on the basis of the previous Trip Adviser review on also on visiting their website. I echo everthing the previous reviewer wrote.

Gill and John made us feel very welcome. We were two couples and booked both rooms. Both bedrooms are delightful so there was no worry as to who got the best room! The beds are really comfortable - so important. It was great to have a sitting room too. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and furnished to a high standard and all tastefully decorated with nice touches like the vase of fresh wild flowers. Gill provides soap and tissues but no other toiletries in the bathrooms - we didn't mind this as we always take our own anyway. Much more important, the bedlinen and towels are all good quality and nice comfy pillows.

The private sitting room is comfortable and tastefully decorated; there are magazines and books and a CD/radio as well as TVs in both bedrooms. Although it was May it was quite chilly in the evening and it was nice that the heating came on automatically everywhere without us having to ask for it.

We all agreed that breakfast was one of the best we had eaten, cereals, fruit juice, fruit, warm rolls and croissants, full English with proper mushrooms, not the horrible tinned ones you get so often, toast and delicious homemade marmalade and as much tea as you could drink.

In short, this is a great place to stay - we wished we could have stayed longer, and a great place from which to go walking around the Lizard area or visit some of the lovely gardens. It's also easy to get to the Helford River. Great value for money too.

  • Liked — Comfortable, clean and nicely decorated
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evethomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helston hotels
0.1 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 3 in Helston
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strathallan Guest House
Strathallan Guest House
#4 of 39 in Helston
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
No.52 Bed & Breakfast
No.52 Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 39 in Helston
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Queens Arms
Queens Arms
#1 of 2 in Breage
82 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
2.2 mi away
Harbour Inn
Harbour Inn
#1 of 8 in Porthleven
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merther Uny Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merther Uny Farm

Property: Merther Uny Farm
Address: Wendron, Helston TR13 0NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Helston
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Merther Uny Farm Helston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing