We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection!”
Review of Merther Uny Farm

Merther Uny Farm
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Merther Uny Farm
Ranked #28 of 39 Helston B&B and Inns
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfection!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A fabulous stay in this beautiful B and B in the most stunning location. The hosts John and Gill have thought of everything. The rooms are tasteful and comfortable with great views. Breakfast was delicious! The location is ideal for visiting many local places of interest. We will definitely be returning- highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

A beautiful, clean and extremely friendly B & B. Breakfasts were vast and tasty.
Had some difficulty in locating the address, But with a working Sat Nav there would be no problem.
The owner had a good supply of maps and information on local areas of interest. Lots of board games and activities for the children and family.

Room Tip: A small establishment with 2 very clean and well appointed rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just returned from a week in "Dovecote" which is the self-catering cottage attached to Merther Uny Farm's B&B.... and last minute took my Mum with us, booking her into the B&B.

My SatNav took me almost right to the door, so no problems finding the Farm. The lane is narrow, but there isn't a lot of traffic using it and plenty of passing places are to be found.

Gill, John and Carl provide a fantastic place - as others have already mentioned, you immediately feel like a member of the family. The atmosphere is relaxed and easy going, but not one things is missing from either the accommodation or the hospitality.

Mum raved every morning about her huge breakfasts and the lovely homemade marmalade. The rooms are absolutely spotless and provide everything and more than a 4 star hotel would provide, It's a perfect spot for touring around Cornwall. St Mawes via the little car ferry or boat from Falmouth, The Eden Project and Lost Gardens of Heligan.

And as others have said, I write this positive review hoping that it won't result in my not being able to book a return trip in the future, which I am sure I will do!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pineapple27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in this traditional old farmhouse b&b. The room was well proportioned and extremely comfortable. Everything was spotlessly clean. The hosts are very welcoming and the breakfasts were very tasty. It is very peaceful being off the beaten track and away from the tourist traps which was exactly what we were looking for. However, it is still in an ideal location for exploring the Lizard Peninsula. Unbelievable value. A true hidden gem!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0Reckoner0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Not the easiest place to find, tucked away up narrow roads and an eventual cul-de-sac, but well worth the effort once there. This meant it was extremely quiet and the two room accommodation was well appointed and comfortable. The hosts made one very welcome and the individually prepared breakfasts were first class . Despite the thick overnight fogs while we were there we enjoyed watching the many and various wild birds feeding in the garden which at another time of year would no doubt be a blaze of colour. It is handily placed for all of western Cornwall and only about 5 miles from Helston, so a good base for touring. We will certainly try to return when next in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon uk
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay. Lovely large comfortable room.Fantastic characterful farmhouse with welcoming friendly hosts. Very relaxing & out of the way location, just what we were looking for. Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barb87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Merther Uny farm was exactly what we were looking for- a hidden gem in Cornwall, far from the tourist traps.. The rooms are charming, I felt like I was at home, the garden full of beautiful flowers, and the breakfast in the cosy living room is big enough for two! The next time I'm in Cornwall I will definately stay here again. The only drawback (and plus point, at the same time) is that it is a bit far away from the main road, with a narrow country lane leading up to it, so may not be great for nervous drivers, but once you get there, the drive is worth it!

Room Tip: We loved the blue room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princess_galadriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helston hotels
0.1 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 3 in Helston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
0.0 mi away
Queens Arms
Queens Arms
#1 of 2 in Breage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Strathallan Guest House
Strathallan Guest House
#4 of 39 in Helston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.2 mi away
No.52 Bed & Breakfast
No.52 Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 39 in Helston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
2.2 mi away
Harbour Inn
Harbour Inn
#1 of 8 in Porthleven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merther Uny Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merther Uny Farm

Property: Merther Uny Farm
Address: Wendron, Helston TR13 0NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Helston
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Merther Uny Farm Helston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing