We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and quiet”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poldown Caravan and Camping Park
Reviewed May 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the site in July 2013 and we were delighted of the tranquility of the site. The facilities are good, but could do with some more showers. Overall, the perfect site if you want peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyCamper05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 74 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

A small and individual site.
our caravan was adequate for our needs-we were out all and every day so really only used our caravan in the evenings and nights.
Well located for the Lizard.
The caravan would benefit from some tlc in the form of a new bin,(the one there had a big split in it)hooks on the back of doors and the oven knobs being securely attached. None of these things detracted from what was a great week, but a little bit of effort would rwap rewards.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I have to say that this has got to be one of the best sites we have ever stayed on. We have been coming down to the site on and off for over 10 years (having found an advert in the local paper). At that time we didn't know what to expect, but wow, we were impressed. It is a lovely, quiet spot, perfect to relax in and its nice that there is no club-house or the fact that the site will not increase too much in size. We usually go outside the school holidays as our son is now grown up, and I have to say that the attitude of Liz Sussex 01 who stayed in August 2012 is one of the reasons we avoid going during school holidays. Who would want their stay spoiled by one thoughtless bunch who clearly don't get the idea of peace and quiet. When our son was young there wasn't so much of a play area as there is now, so we had to make our own fun, which we could do without disturbing other guests. The owners, Nellie and Giles are very nice people and we always get a Christmas card. Its pleasing that they are trying to modernise the site by adding the Teepee, but it doesn't take away from the quiet ambience of the place. It is quite simply a lovely place to visit and very well placed for visiting the local attractions, in particular Marazion and St Ives. We can't wait to take our break there next spring.

Room Tip: There are no rooms as such, but some very nice static caravans and I understand the B&B is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at Poldown and booked the safari tent - real beds, wooden floors, electricity and running water - all the fun of outdoor living without the backache!
The site is located within the idyllic Lizard peninsula, and provided us with a quiet retreat - even with two very energetic boys. The site is basic, although has all you need for a break away. If you want glitz, glam, entertainment and facilities galore this site is not for you.
The toilet and shower facilities were clean, although could benefit from a little modernisation perhaps, however we coped for our 5 day adventure!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clashworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

small site, very nice though, well maintained, very well sheltered by trees and bushes,so we were well protected from the winds no clubhouse, so no noisy drunks on there way back late, very good location, nr helston, so pretty central to explore west, east, and north
all in all a very good camp

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADRIAN b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We had a six night stay at this wonderful site. Perfect setting for a relaxing stay very peaceful and private.

Owners couldn't do enough for you and the "Information lodge" situated next to the shower block is full of information you could need about places to visit and things to do.

The site has a microwave and an electric kettle washing machine and tumble dryer and also a large fridge freezer and bbq's for all to use.

The whole site, toilets washrooms and showers were impecably clean.

The only negative is there are only three showers.

Looking forward to going again next year

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank tinker_deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Lovely little quirky campsite 3 miles out of Helston. Catered for all our needs for one night - nice little touches of space being made available to socialise with other campers and a wood burning oven and space to dry your washing

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank L16MLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helston hotels
2.6 mi away
Harbour Inn
Harbour Inn
#1 of 8 in Porthleven
510 reviews
3 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 3 in Gweek
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Queens Arms
Queens Arms
#1 of 2 in Breage
94 reviews
2.3 mi away
No.52 Bed & Breakfast
No.52 Bed & Breakfast
#14 of 38 in Helston
31 reviews
11.1 mi away
Gallen-Treath Guest House
Gallen-Treath Guest House
#2 of 7 in St Keverne
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poldown Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poldown Caravan and Camping Park

Address: 2 miles West of Helston, Helston TR13 9NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Helston
Hotel Class:4 star — Poldown Caravan and Camping Park 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Poldown Caravan And Camping Park Helston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing