We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and enjoyable stay recommend to all and reply to Liz Sussex 01” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poldown Caravan and Camping Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poldown Caravan and Camping Park
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing and enjoyable stay recommend to all and reply to Liz Sussex 01”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Arrived at the site and were greeted by the lovely owners who could not do enough and were very helpful with local information.

During our 2 week stay the weather was changeable but the site allowed variable but sensible games that were provided by the site ie board games and undercover tv area and a covered pingpong table, available at all times. The request that the owner very politely and sensibly asked was that Lizsussex01 children who were constantly shouting never talking and were annoying other residents on the site with guns with the annoying shooting noise that started from the minute they awoke in the morning till the time the children were called in..!!! That was a reasonable request but of course that was not good enough, if your kids were amused then who cares about the people near you or in tents.!!! Like you said the pitches were small but they were ample for most outfits. I have 3 children 1 in an annexe who was fuming about being woken and a 9 and 3 year old who were woken by the named children.!! 2 words CONTROL and RESPECT.
The toilet facilities are basic but are clean and ample for the number of pitches. As for the lights tripping it never happened to us and we were there 2 wks with no problems.
When it rained it did get muddy but the helpful owners offered ground sheets and car mats to avoid churning the grass for following campers what a good idea. The children were advised to keep off the grass when really wet as to avoid making it boggy, which I think is a reasonable request Lizsussex01 not being grumpy.
And last of all as for the noisy teenagers that were my son and his friends they are not teenagers they are 12 and there noise level was acceptable for the time they were all quiet and watching tv by 9:30 . Just 1 night they had fun and there was never a night when the older ones caused problems they had fun and were sensible however many complaints were made about your children by many people .
Overall to anyone who is thinking of booking please do not judge by one begrudge camper who needs control over 2 unruly kids please look at the other reviews . We had a very pleasant stay the site is small the other campers were really pleasant and the site is central for many visitor attractions a wonderful and relaxing 2 wks had and we will certainly return in the near future .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachelferris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    10
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

The site looked ideal on the website, 'small, family & dog friendly...' ha!

The site is very small (too small) with too many pitches sqeezed in & too close together. It was very muddy, facilities very basic. Washing machine which didn't clean clothes for £2.50.

Lights kept shorting out in wash up area.
All pretty minor, but it was the attitude of the owner (mr grumpy) that spoiled it for us- our children were playing happily & nicely in the PLAY area & mr grumpy told them not to play with their toy guns. The play area is nxt to the static vans on this cramped site & the owner seems to be more concerned about the static vans than allowing children to be children. The children were also confined as to where they could cycle & were also told not to go up to the play area at one point. So much for the children having fun and if the children aren't happy....

Mr grumpy's approach was inconsistent however as he did not intervene when noisy teenagers were houling & shrieking after 9pm.

The dog walking area is up a rocky stream bed- not good in the wet.

There are much nicer sites in the area, I would strongly recommend that you check them out. A brand new one (dog friendly, but no kids) has opened virtually next door- looked lovely- Bracken wood/ bracken farm??

We were pleased to leave the site.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank LizSussex01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We've just got back from a 2 week stay here, the site is a well maintained mature site with facilities you wouldn't find anywhere else . We had a caravan, the pitches were small but very well maintained however did become muddy in wet weather.
The toilets were clean as were the showers however 1 shower for the whole site was a disappointment, we only queued twice in the whole time. But another one is needed, the owners were lovely and couldnt have been more helpful, the children enjoyed making their own games, up in the park and in the communal tv area.
If its a quiet site you want you will find it here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becci-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed in the'safari tent' for three weeks.The tent is on a secluded pitch near to the facilities so was perfect for us with 3 kids-12,9 and 7 mths. The owners couldn't be nicer and are the right level of discreet yet available. The volleyball net and pingpong were great for the kids-as was the covered tv area during the olympics. The facilities are luxurious compared to our other camping experiences and are well kept but 'vintage'! The site is small and this helps keep the noise down,all the shrubs and hedges help.The communal areas are a bonus-free use of kettle,microwave
,fridgefreezer,hot water and bbqs.The coin operated washing machine needs updating though.Loved our time here,met new friends and generally chilled-a relaxed few weeks with our new baby. Dont let the damp weather put you off either-the ground has been graveled and drainage updated so even during torrential downpoors we were dry underfoot. Wellies can stay home.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank malarkinandthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed in a Static Caravan here last week, lovely relaxed little site. Caravan very clean and tidy.
Would recommend.Our dog loved it too:-)

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank lizzielou249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

Our little family of three stayed there for a week, and the site was charming, well kept and the owners very friendly. It's very peaceful and sheltered, and centrally placed for all the areas attractions. There's lots of room for the kids to play around safely too. If you want to tuck into a lovely little garden for a while, it's the idea spot!

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Jaysee1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2006

Poldown is a quiet little campsite tucked away down a country lane about 2 miles from Helston. Run by a charming couple who are very relaxed and helpful it is excellent value for money located really well to enjoy lots that Cornwall has to offer.

The level pitches (some sun, some shade) are of a good size with electric hook up if you want it. The loos and showers are basic but adequate and cleaned at least once a day.

There is a pub called the Godolphin Arms that you can walk to about 2 miles away and a shop for essentials about .5 mile away. The nearest beach is Praa sands about 3 miles away - beautifully sandy with clear water.

Poldown is not a campsite for anyone who wants entertainment, luxury facilites etc but if you want peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings it is an excellent choice.

Helpful?
15 Thank washi1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helston
7.3 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queens Arms
Queens Arms
#1 of 2 in Breage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
4.2 mi away
River Valley Country Park
River Valley Country Park
#1 of 17 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
2.5 mi away
Harbour Inn
Harbour Inn
#1 of 8 in Porthleven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 3 in Gweek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poldown Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poldown Caravan and Camping Park

Property: Poldown Caravan and Camping Park
Address: 2 miles West of Helston, Helston TR13 9NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Helston
Hotel Class:4 star — Poldown Caravan and Camping Park 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Poldown Caravan And Camping Park Helston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing