We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Exhibitions but not great value for money”

Flambards Theme Park
Ranked #4 of 47 things to do in Helston
Attraction details
Swindon, Wiltshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Exhibitions but not great value for money”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We went recently as a family whilst on holiday in Cornwall, and as per a number of other reviews, I was disappointed.

I felt the exhibitions were brilliant - although was really disappointed that the Blitz section was not bigger and even more disappointed that we were not allowed to take any photos (we visited as my son is studying WW2 at the moment and he would have liked to have taken some pictures into school).

The rides were a big disappointment too - the leaflet for the park shows it in a completely false light as there is hardly anything there now that is open (or at least wasn't when we visited).

I felt the entry price was very steep at £60 for 4 of us (2 adults and 2 children) with many extras in the park that had to be paid for. We could have gone to legoland for not too much more!

We won't be returning in the future.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ssloth, Manager at Flambards Theme Park, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear SwindonChick0209

Thank you for your review of our attraction. It's great you found our exhibitions brilliant. I am sorry your son was unable to take photographs, this is to do with the flash. However, we do have a number of staff within the exhibitions who would have been able to assist your son's project. I hope you were able to visit our exhibition shop where we also sell authentic ration books and memorabilia from the era.

All of our rides advertised have been operational during September and October excluding the Extreme Force which has had to be removed for a maintenance issue. We have clearly stated this before entry into the Park but are sorry if this was a disappointment.

We are a small family run Park and do not try to be Legoland or similar although we do reinvest into the Park whenever possible. Our prices are competitively priced for what we have on offer and can assure you that tickets for Legoland for a family of 4 are well over double the cost and our parking is free.

The 'paid for limited' attractions are not advertised within our publicity and it is completely optional whether visitors want to make use of them.

I do hope you reconsider visiting us in the future. Our aim is to always improve!

Yours sincerely

Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    435
    294
    147
    121
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Aberaeron, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

For the high entry price I did expect more. The place is very tired and run down and needs money spent to smarten the place up. The toilets were disgusting and smelled of urine and to be honest the whole site needs cleaning! This could be a good attraction so a message to the owners - get the place smartend up and then you can possibly justify the high entry price.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank garybach30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ssloth, Manager at Flambards Theme Park, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear garybach30

Thank you for your comments. I will certainly pass your comments onto the relevant management. We are competitively priced within our market but we will always reinvest into the Park when financially possible and are confident that we will be able to improve and develop our attraction in the not too distant future.

We do hope you visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely

Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Museum I have ever seen!!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

If your into museums this is the perfect place to go, the Victorian village is so well laid out, with every shop you could think off that they would have back then, and the Britain in the Blitz is just as good really gives you the feel of what it was like with the sounds of sirens and bombing noises just ashame its not as big but is still great, I've been twice this year and I'm sure ill go again in the near future, a very educational place!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarah581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ssloth, Manager at Flambards Theme Park, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear sarah581

Thank you for you fantastic feedback regarding our exhibits. It's lovely to read that you will continue to visit us in the future. You are bound to see something you haven't seen before - I always do!

Yours sincerely

Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A bit tired but still a good day out.”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

I hadn't been to Flambards in over 20 years but it's barely changed in that time. We were lucky it was a quiet day so no queues and the kids enjoyed it but it could do with a bit of revitalising.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Finnemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ssloth, Manager at Flambards Theme Park, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Finnemore

Thank you for your comments. It's great you had a great day overall. We will continue to reinvest into the Park whenever financially possible and hope you return to us again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Expensive,dated,filthy,disgusting”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Do not go!!!!! We paid £50 to get in (2xadults, 1x child) and when you get in, you then have to pay for 70% of the cheap old attractions. Nothing was open, we put money into rides and games that didn't work, but it still swallowed our money. The inside soft play smelled of stale wee, it was so dirty!! Weeks of dirt. My daughter went on a roller coaster and the man didn't even put the bar down!!! She could have fallen out! If your an animal lover then you will be disgusted at all the stuffed animals!! Even stuffed horses!!! Absolutely everything was run down, unkept and dirty. Will never waste my money there again

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KaiMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ssloth, Manager at Flambards Theme Park, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear kaimegan

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to read that you did not have a good experience at our Park. The cleanliness of our Park is generally very positive. I do hope you spoke to a supervisor or manager on the day of your visit regarding your TA comments? We do have a few 'paid for' attractions that we do not advertise. These are 'crazy golf,' 'paintball,' aqua and orbitors', prize games, 'audio tour' and the Karts. We have over 20 rides/exhibits included in the price.

The rollercoaster does not have a bar that pulls down. It is a comfort bar that can be pulled back to the visitors individual comfort requirements. I can assure you, your daughter would not have fallen out. We have an unprecedented safety record over the 37 years of operation and will continue diligently to up-hold this.

For authenticity there are taxidermy animals in some of our exhibitions. We have many thousands of animal lovers visit us each month who have commented on the realness and validity that have been created within these eras. We are sorry they were not to your taste.

Please do not hesitate to contact us should you wish to discuss your comments further.

Yours sincerely

Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flambards Theme Park also viewed

 

Been to Flambards Theme Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing