We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“drove from penzance just for your fish and chips”
Review of Nettles

Nettles
Ranked #45 of 112 Restaurants in Helston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant & Take Away
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“drove from penzance just for your fish and chips”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

my second visit and was not disappointed! waitress was lovely,very polite and friendly, fish and chips faultless, you MUST try the deep fried black pudding with sweet chilli sauce , what a treat! see you again in august thankyou 10 out of 10 kind regards allyn griffiths

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    6
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“excellent find”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

we called in on spec last week whilst on Holiday and had the most lovely fish chips and peas ever. The service was excellent and even the dog was welcome. Tea comes in a proper big tea-pot with plenty in. We could not believe how reasonable the prices were for such good food. I must also recommend the Lime and Coconut slice that i had for pud. So tasty and lovely with a scoop of Ice cream. There also for some bizarre reason a Dalek by the doorway...............Fabulous!!!!! We will be back in December for our Fish and chip Fix xxxx

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janet h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb food and fantastic prices”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Yet again nettles has excelled themselves. Proper chips and the fish cooked to order 5 of us ate for under £23 where else would this happen! The staff are fab and it's a pleasure to eat there in or takeaway

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

As a local to Helston my kids love going and if we say we're going to chippy it's are we going to nettles and are we sitting in! I don't know how the guys do it at such fantastic prices and their pies (not pasties) are to die for! Tim keeps my youngest entertained throughout the meal excellent

Helpful?
2 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The best Cafe for Fish and Chips in the area”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Sadly I didn't realise I had not reviewed Nettles. Sorry Nettles. I don't do Facebook. And when you just go somewhere regularly you often forget sometimes to tell everyone about it....

Nettles is a Fish and Chip restaurant in a classic Café style in two halves. Café décor and bohemian restaurant. I do not go there for the décor. If you want fancy curtains and plush wallpaper, your going there for the wrong reasons.

Go there simply for the best service and the great food. You can take your own wine, beer and you do not get charged for opening it.

I like doing the extremely large fish meals and sharing.

Nettles is suitable for everyone visiting Helston or the Lizard and wants somewhere on the way back. And you can book in advance.

They are so good they are on my phone! Which says it all.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bodillymill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nettles also viewed

Helston, Cornwall
 
Helston, Cornwall
 

Been to Nettles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing