We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Brilliant”

The Lizard Stallions Shire Experience Days
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: There is nothing more rewarding than getting up close and personal with the mighty Shire horse. Our experience days offer you an opportunity to learn how to care for these magnificent animals, together with their dinky friends, the miniature Shetland ponies and Dominik the Donkey. Open all year round for visits and grooming sessions, however, e are not a visitor centre and all bookings must be made prior to a visit, so please get in touch online to arrange your trip. Alternatively, stay with us at our Glamp site during July.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely Brilliant”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

What a wonderful experience, clip clopping round the town of Wadebridge on the top deck was absolutely brilliant, the kids enjoyed every minute. Well done Nicky and Pete, it was lovely to meet you both and learn about your wonderful horses

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexmoo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    1
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice little horse & carriage trip”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Lovely little trip, but would have preferred it to be a little longer, and to take a more scenic route. Nicky was very friendly and informative. Prices very reasonable too, didn't feel like we were being ripped off at all :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zonkers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky M, Owner at The Lizard Stallions Shire Experience Days, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Hopefully on your next trip you will be able to join us on one of our more scenic routes to Gyllyngvase beach, which offers stunning views of the Falmouth Bay and Pendennis Castle - perfect for a summers day/special occassions. You can find more information about the trip on the What's On Page of our website - http://www.thelizardstallions.com/what-s-on/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent - A delightful surprise find in Falmouth”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We found the ride on the omnibus drawn by two fine stallions quite by chance while visiting Falmouth and what an excellent treat for my Daughter and I.

Nicky and Pete are very knowledgeable about the horses, their breeds and the omnibus that the boys pull. It's well worth the fee and speaking to Nicky about the work that she and Pete are passionate about in highlighting that the Shire's and Clydesdale's are classed as a rare breed with the first being classed at risk and the latter as vulnerable.

Well done to both Nicky and Pete for this work in bringing peoples attention to the plight of these formidable, gentle and adorable creatures that have given so much to UK history and for the delightful ride and chat in Falmouth. 10/10.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RackhamBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Sumner, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Wonderful Lizard Stallions”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Nicky and Pete are absolute experts handling the beautiful boys, George and Ringo and the wonderful omnibus; they are truly professional in what they do.

A sight to gladden the heart as they clop their way gently around the small towns of Cornwall.

And to ride the omnibus is exciting and an experience not to be missed. You feel really grand and high up on the top of the bus. Fantastic and not to be missed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisyfitzuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing! They made my wedding day all the more special <3”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Thank you so much for being so wonderful! They decorated the Carriage out with my garlands and ribbons I wanted and the Shires looked stunning in their Brass and Harnesses! The lovely Nicky and Pete looking amazing in their outfits too! It was all thought out thoroughly by them. They even did a trial run for me just to make sure they could do it even in the rain. I have always wanted to arrive to my wedding by Shire and Carriage but these guys far exceeded my imaginings! Absolutely loved every minute! My Mum, Bridesmaids, Flower Girls and baby boy all enjoyed themselves and had a great time! The Shires did exactly as told and you can tell there is a beautiful relationship between Nicky, Pete and their Shires. Absolutely amazing. Thank you so much! xxx

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank YasminBaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky M, Owner at The Lizard Stallions Shire Experience Days, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
It was such an honour for us to be invited to transport Yasmin, her family, bridesmaids and flower girls to Pendennis Castle on our 10 seater carriage. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, as did George and Ringo and can't wait to see the photo's. Yasmin, Ian (and Michael) all looked stunning on their perfect wedding day.

Congratulations xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lizard Stallions Shire Experience Days also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing