We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect country getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Sands Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect country getaway!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed in one of the static caravans at this holiday park and it was just the perfect country break. The site was very accessible by car and just secluded enough to offer some peace and quiet from the hustle and bustle of city life, but only a short drive to the nearest town for supplies. As the location is a short distance off the main roads, it meant that we could really relax and enjoy the natural environment, with hiking paths and the beach only a short walk away. While you don't go to a holiday park expecting the Ritz, the caravans (more like mini-apartments!) were clean and tidy, with all the facilities that we needed, including most importantly, a well equipped kitchen with stove tops, and even a microwave and oven! Kell was also a lovely host, who did her utmost to make us feel welcomed at the park.

Even though the weather was still a little chilly in early May, we found that the heaters both in the lounge area and rooms worked fine and we did have ample hot water for a family of four (I guess the earlier reviewer mentioning a lack of hot water may have had a problem working the gas water heater??)

All in all, it was a very positive caravan-ing experience and we will definitely be returning again soon!

Room Tip: Try to get a van overlooking the ocean-side and you can get glimpses of the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ktvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
86
64
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We just spent a long weekend at silver sands. We had mixed feelings. Lets start with the good. the park is well maintained, there was a good dog walking field a small children's area and is small and very quite. The walk to Kennack sands was very pleasant through a beautiful bluebell filled wood. Slightly hilly climb back up, but worth the walk. Kennack sands is beautiful and even though the main beach is not currently open to dogs there is part of the beach around the headland that is. The van we stayed in was very clean.
Not so good; the road leading up is very lumpy and bumpy, we assume because of recent wet weather, but is narrow and would be difficult for two caravans passing. It was very quite, only 3 other static vans seemed to be occupied which surprised us as we had had difficulty getting accommodation for the time we needed as most places were booked up. The static van was very small but we realise the owners can't do anything about that, as its just a very old van, but a few small tweaks would have made it easier to manage. There was no hooks by the door to hang wet coats on. All our bathroom items had to live on the floor as there was no shelf in the bathroom. The hooks on the back of the bathroom door were so badly designed our towels just wouldn't stay on them.
The bad; the static van. It was very very cold and we had to get a heater for the beadroom as it was colder inside than outside. Why they couldn't have left a heater in there I don't know, as from what they said they knew it would be cold, it would have saved us from a very un-comfortable 1st night when we realised just how cold it got. We were nervous the first night of using the gas fire as it made a very loud bang as it heated up! Necessity meant by the next morning we just used it as we were freezing. It made the loud bang every time we switched it on.
No hot water, there was about 30 seconds worth, then it went freezing.
The fridge didn't work , in the night my husband managed to drag it out and swop the sockets as the one it was in seemed a bit temperamental.
The bed was possible the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in ( well didn't really sleep for 3 nights.) the seating area was much the same and very thin cushions, so after a while you felt you were sitting on hard board.
We mentioned on the way out about the bed and they assured my husband they would look at it.
Reading a sign in the bedroom it became clear why the van was so clean, as it asked you to collect a vacuum and cleaning products from the reception and clean the van before you left....blooming cheek. It's one thing to leave it in a reasonable state but I would not expect to do the job for them!

All in all I would not recommend the static vans at this site.. Maybe if you are touring or camping it would be fine. It was cheap and I guess that was the problem.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FinMcDin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have just returned from having spent the month of October here. The site was lovely, ideal for us with our two dogs, who loved running in the dog walking field. We had a super pitch, and Nick very kindly lent us the connections for waste water drainage. For 95% of the time we were totally on our own - which is such a shame. All facilities were open and available for just the two of us, whilst the toilet block was a little tired, it was always spotlessly clean and the water lovely and hot. Nick and Kell couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. We had so much rain that the ground was swamp like - not a problem, Nick and Kell found large boards for us to walk on. The walk down to the beach was muddy in places - but with all the rain this year it is hardly surprising.
Silver Sands is set in a beautiful area, with much to do and see. The walking around the coast path is great - again muddy but.... We never ran out of things to do. It is such a shame that Cornwall is seen as a summer destination.
For families, there are large play areas, sand pit and plenty of room to run around without annoying anyone alse.
Dog owners, a very large field for running and playing in, also kennel facilities if you wish to leave your dog behind any time - very useful for a trip to the Scillies.
We can thoroughly recommend the Kennack Sands Cafe (on the left as you go down the road to the sands) and would really recommend their Turbo Baps and Breakfasts.
Yes, we would really recommend this site to families,couples and dog oweners.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadDogProductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We spent 4 nights at Silver Sands camping (29 yr old couple). Upon arrival the owners were friendly and approachable and seemed willing to help - but we didn't need anything. They provided us with a map etc of the local area.

Our pitch (#8 - non electric) was in the back field. The pitches are separated with hedges either side and are big enough for a tent and car - some tents were very large and fitted fine. We looked out across to the local fields which was a lovely view. There is a summer camping field but it is slightly sloped and open to the elements - but it had views of the sea. Personally, we preferred where we were tucked away as unfortunately we had lots of wind and rain while we were there.

The facilities are good for camping - the toilets had 3 showers and 4/5 toilets (each male and female). There was also a hairdryer (£1) in the ladies. We never queued for either. There were also very few spiders etc ! Apparently the mens were slightly less clean but then it was the mens!

There is a family / baby changing room, washing up area with 4 sinks (and freezers to use) and a launderette. These were all very clean and close to all areas. If you have kids - there are lots of kids play areas and a large play field. If you don't have kids - they don't get in the way too much and even though we were right next to the play field, the kids weren't loud. There is also an information hut with lots of leaflets. There was also a bbq area, picnic area and dog walking area.

The only thing that slightly let the site down for me was the walk to the beach - it is as described a "a short 1km woodland walk through the Lizard Nature Reserve to the award winning beaches of Kennack Sands" however when its rained the walk is very very muddy and would be hilly for some. However, it would be a 5 min drive in the car and there are car parks down by the beach and 2 cafes.

In terms of the local area - we walked 6 miles south along the South West coastal path all the way to Lizard Point (3 hour hike). The path is actually a relatively easy walk - not too hilly etc. The area is very picturesque with lots of pretty coves. Lizard Point, Church Cove, Mullion Cove (best to drive), Cadgwith and Kynance Cove (drive again) are all most sees. St Michaels Mount is also very good - only a 20 min drive. The site is a good location to see them all either by foot or by car.

Would definitely recommend the site and The Lizard itself for a peaceful get away, and we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here last month. The owners greeted us and made us feel very welcome. They gave us lots of information on places to visit and where the local amenities were.
We stayed in a 2 bed superior holiday home - it was immaculate.
I am very fussy when it comes to cleanliness, but couldn't fault this place. The grounds were really well kept and the views through the trees looking over Kennack sands was really nice, also on the clear nights looking up at the stars is amazing!
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this holiday park to others.
Thank you to the owners Nick and Kell for enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoWad78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helston
3.9 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
574 reviews
3.9 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
798 reviews
6.9 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
213 reviews
18.4 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
250 reviews
24.5 mi away
Meadow Lakes Holiday Park
Meadow Lakes Holiday Park
#10 of 37 in St Austell
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Holiday Park

Property: Silver Sands Holiday Park
Address: Kennack Sands | Near the Lizard, Helston TR12 7LZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Helston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Sands Holiday Park offers you a choice of static caravan holiday homes, lodge, touring and camping pitches in Cornwall in a mature parkland setting. Set in the dramatic and beautiful countryside of the Lizard Peninsula, an area of outstanding natural beauty, Silver Sands Holiday Park is ideal for families, couples and singles alike, whether you want "away from it all" relaxation or a more active sightseeing and touring holiday in Cornwall. From Silver Sands it is just a short 1km woodland walk through the Lizard Nature Reserve to clean sandy beaches of Kennack Sands. The stunning Kynance Cove, the Lizard-the most southerly point in Cornwall and the unspoilt Helford River are all within easy reach. The rugged coastline of the Lizard Peninsula nestling many secret coves, sandy beaches and pretty fishing villages are all waiting for you to explore. As Silver Sands is a small family run holiday park, we know how important all the little touches are that will make your holiday experience a truly good one. Nick & Kell Whittle look forward to extending a warm welcome to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Silver Sands Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Holiday Park Helston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing