We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A priceless gem, ruined.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Godolphin

Godolphin
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A priceless gem, ruined.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had visited the the house and gardens long before they became the property of the Trust, and they were truly magical then. We even came to the house the day it was signed to the Trust, and had a special time with the last member of the family, as we sat in the garden together and talked about the future of the house and picked blackberries together. However, this is now not a visitor attraction. The rental property is out of our price range at £3000 a week for a holiday, and the trust have done little with the garden. The house is a real national treasure and needs treating like one, not just as a way of making money. We are so disappointed and upset at this property. Not worthy visit now except to feel excluded and very very sad.

Helpful?
2 Thank Trolliedollie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    66
    44
    18
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level Contributor
238 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Dont Bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We used to visit this property under the Historic Houses Scheme when it was privately owned and it was a great place to visit with guided tours given by the daughter in law. She brought the house to life with interesting stories and behind the scenes informationHowever, now that the National Trust have taken it over I wouldn't bother paying the house a visit.

Its only open for short periods at a time with the remainder seeing it rented out as a Holiday Let. During our visit the historic side of the house was lost, most of the guides were only to keen to push the rental aspects of the house.

I understand that the National Trust need to get an income from this property but they need to decide if a Holiday Let or a Historic House for people to visit.

I echo whats been said in another review, this is the worst National Trust visit I have undertaken in over 10 years.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank elverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely but boring...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

This house was a beautiful dwelling and grounds, but our visit was memorable for the wrong reasons. The site isn't that clearly marked and you arrive to park in a rough rubble carpark. The entrance and souvenir shop was lovely, but we arrive on a day the house wasn't open, so we carried on to have a look around the gardens. However the lawned grass, in any of the areas hadn't been cut, and no sooner had i spoke aloud to my hubby about it in conversation, someone started cutting it on one of those sit ons. Some of the borders left a lot to be desired as they were unkempt and not tidy at all, shame as there were some lovely flowers.
All in all, a beautiful place when open, and maintained properly for public use.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank northernstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Don't do it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

This has to be the worst National Trust property. Only visited the garden, really not worth going to.
I'm a member but if I'd have paid good money to go in I'd have been livid

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank NickoAnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“worth a visit if you're in the area in a week that the house is open”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

The house is only open one week in four (for the other three weeks it's rented out as a holiday let, during which the gardens remain open to visitors), but the dates are clearly available on the website and in the National Trust handbook. The house is relatively small (and yes, it's intact, and not, in the words of a previous reviewer, 'heaps of stones'); it's not a pristine aristocratic home full of upmarket antique furniture, but it has a fascinating history, the information sheets in the rooms are good, and the staff are friendly and helpful and very willing to share their knowledge. Some of them worked there when the house was still in private hands, and are clearly very attached to the place. Worth a visit if you're in the area in a week that the house is open.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank anorakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Godolphin also viewed

 

Been to Godolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing