We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing day out and its FREE”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Roskilly's

Roskilly's
Ranked #4 of 46 things to do in Helston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Roskilly’s are based at Tregellast Barton Farm on the Lizard Peninsula in Cornwall. We are a family run business milking 125 Jersey cows. Our small pastures have been farmed in a traditional and sustainable way for generations, and we have always farmed without the use of pesticides and artificial fertilizers. All of our delicious ice creams and hand crafted fudges are made using rich organic Jersey milk and cream from our own herd of Jersey cows. We also produce a range of jams and chutneys using old family recipes that have been handed down the generations. Our Farm and Café, the Croust House, is open all year round serving meals every day from breakfast, fresh salads to clay oven baked pizzas’ and American style smoked meats (summer months only). You can visit and feed all the farm animals: calves, pigs, goats, chickens, turkeys, geese & ducks. You can also go for a stroll around the ponds and withy woods and watch the milking at 4.30pm
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing day out and its FREE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

In today market where can you spend several hours walking around wonderful lakes and eating the finest cream teas and Ice cream Answer Roskliiy. Well done the place is great for children and adults alike. Cream Teas and of course the famous ice cream is simply the best. The restaurant under the vines is wonderful as is the home grown farm products on sale. What a great touch to have a taster table. i didn't get to see the cows being milked but loved the pictures of the Cow employee of the month.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    95
    23
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We happened on this little gem of an attraction by accident. They have a shop which sells Helzephron herbs which is why we went.

They have a great small animal farm which kept my daughter entertained for ages, a couple of nice shops as well as plenty of things to see (watch the cows being milked and so on). We ate there and the food was stunning, a ploughman's with large portions of three delicious cheeses was the real hit, masses of vegetables and belly pork with marmalade which was amazing.

Top this off with friendly staff and easy access with a pushchair and it is a great afternoon.

It is a little way out on a limb but marry it up with a visit to the nearby village of St Keverne which is charming and unspoilt and you won't regret it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jonpsych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“what beautiful cakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

roskillys cakes are better than the icecream not only do they look great they taste delicious we have tried them all they obviusly have a top patisserie chef the cakes are always the right texture and the pastry on the fruit pies is to die for its a real must to have a cake or lovely fruit pie with a scoop of roskillys icecream we agree the strawberry pie and apple and ginger pie are heaven also in the bull pen they have a great range of books kiss the cake cook

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank linda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Roskilly's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Roskilly's was a great place to visit, with the many ranges of ice creams too the delicious cakes supplied by Kelly, with my mum and dads favourite of chocolate orange, strawberry pie, cherry bake well and many more, every cake was amazing and is one of the best features of Roskilly's.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Must visit if you are on the Lizard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great range of ice creams made on the farm and also we enjoyed 2 evening meals there as we were camping up the road. It was really handy, only a 5 minute walk. Wood fired pizzas were great and I heard that the wood fire cooked steak was also a treat. Nice little animal farm for the children by the car park. So much of Cornwall can be expensive to visit, but Roskillys is value for money as far as I'm concerned, no entry fees, just buy what you want while there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roskilly's also viewed

 

Been to Roskilly's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing