We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“scrumtious food”
Review of Down by the Riverside Cafe - CLOSED

Down by the Riverside Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Description: TR12 6LB
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“scrumtious food”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Living locally we have a job to keep away and the visiting summer family visitors always ask when can we go to that gorgeous café in Helford village. I have just looked at the reviews given by other members and cannot agree more, the food and ambience never changes. It is worth driving a 100miles just to eat here and wander the cliff paths.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HelstonMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    9
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Lovely little cafe”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Visited this area just for the cafe after Tripadvisor reviews. Drive a bit daunting to get there but worth it. My husband raved about the Crab sandwich. I had homemade tomato soup was delicious. Sat outside in the lovely August sunshine but lots of wasps! Lovely area for a trip our first time to this area in Cornwall will return. Staff friendly and helpful. A little gem.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank trisdeccon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Fabulous food and service with friendly staff. Amazing fresh local crab sandwich. Lovely cream tea. All in a really beautiful location. Looking forward to visiting again:-)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mem1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The most amazing crab sandwiches!!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The best sandwiches ever... freshly caught crab by Lorna's dad, Chris Bean, straight out of the Helford river.

A warm, friendly welcome awaits and you'll get fantastic service too!! :-)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Spot!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Came across this place on our first visit to the area a few years ago, and we go at least once every time we visit now. What a fabulous spot to sit down after a walk around Helford or one of the beautiful coastal paths and have a gorgeous crab sandwich, or a delicious pasty - and it's all fresh and home made too. The service is always friendly and I can tell you they make a mean cappuccino too! Recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Pip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Down by the Riverside Cafe also viewed

St Keverne, Helston
Porthleven, Helston
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing