We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Cornish B & B”

Lyndale Cottage Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lyndale Cottage Guest House
Ranked #14 of 39 Helston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely Cornish B & B”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights after making a long trip from Derbyshire and the rooms were just what we needed. Extremely well furnished and decorated with local prints on the walls. All very clean & welcoming. The breakfasts were just right too. We stayed in Room 2 with a very large en-suite and the rest of the family in a smaller twin room. The prices we paid were very reasonable for the 4 star service & rooms!
The only negative thing I can say is that even though there is a private off road car park, it is a very narrow steep little drive to get to it. In my small estate car when the car was full of passengers on the way out, the tow bar did catch the road on the way out due to the angle of the drive. Perhaps the website should state that larger cars may have problems parking? My husband was very glad he didn't bring his low fronted Saab or the front sill may have had damage on the way out. Otherwise a lovely place & very hospitable, perfect Guest House accomodation.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a large en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyDennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Lyndale Cottage Guest House, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Many thanks for your kind review. We really appreciate your feedback and take on board the comment about the 'drive'. Unfortunately we don't own that piece of land so have no control over it. It was lovely to meet you all and glad you enjoyed the family wedding. Thanks for your review and for your Visitors Book comments "Fabulous Rooms, Great Breakfasts". Sarah & Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    9
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
22
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We enjoyed our recent weekend stay at Lyndale Cottage Guest House. Our booking was made by phone and all went smoothly on arrival. Trevor greeted us and explained the facilities. We had a lovely breakfast with a good choice of items offered. Our 2 year old daughter was also catered for with a booster seat and a 'special breakfast' to her liking. The guest house is all you might expect from a family run small guest house, with the exception that it was done rather well with some thoughtful touches, and sadly this is often not the case. I would be happy to recommend this for people who want a short stay in west cornwall at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Lyndale Cottage Guest House, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. It really means a lot to us to know that our guests feel welcomed and comfortable and enjoy our hospitality. Thanks again and hope to see you in the future. Sarah & Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We were welcomed by Sarah on arrival.Our room was not large but very clean and comfortable. She gave us lots of advice about the best places to see The Flora dances/times/traditions etc. On the day we got up early 7.00 a.m. to see the first dance - back to the cottages for breakfast - then out again for Hal An Tow and the Childrens Dance, followed by the midday dance and 5.00 p.m. dance. Our hosts made the day extra special with Bucks Fizz for breakfast, complimentary lilly of the valley to wear and a piece of homemade cake to keep us going. Very welcoming would happily go again at any time of year.
Tina and Dave Barker

Room Tip: Our room No.6 would not suit a very tall person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina65_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyndale50, Owner at Lyndale Cottage Guest House, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thanks Tina and Dave for your kind comments. We're glad you had a lovely Flora we were so fortunate to have the lovely weather on the day. It was lovely to meet you both, we enjoyed looking after you and look forward to welcoming you again.

We note your comments about room 6 and we do advise guests that it has a sloping ceiling and would therefore not suit tall people! Also this room is priced to reflect it's smaller size.
Sarah & Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Very warm and friendly reception. What more can you ask for? James Wilson & Craig Derry working in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hyacinth19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyndale50, Owner at Lyndale Cottage Guest House, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Many thanks James and Craig. So delighted you enjoyed your stay and glad that we could be of good service to you. Thanks very much for our kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We have used Lyndale three times now and have been very happy with the welcome, accommodation and the breakfast.
The rooms are not large but nicely done with good quality bedding and comfortable beds. There are some quite nice prints on the Walls, not the usual tat! Room 2 has a nice big ensuite shower room. It is also very clean.
Regrading breakfast, I would like the option of fresh fruit, maybe this could be on request? Kippers were not available which was a shame, but the cooked breakfast is nicely done and just the right size.
The rooms are not set up for working, but for a holiday trip, perfect I would say. Having tried several different b and bs locally, this is by far the best.

Room Tip: Room 2 for a nice big en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandCBridgend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyndale50, Owner at Lyndale Cottage Guest House, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
It was lovely to see you again and thank you for your kind comments. Just to respond to your fruit comment, we are trying to address this with more variety and we have just introduced a new summer fruit compote which is delicious with Sarah's home made yoghurt. We like to take on board any suggestions guest have to improve their experience. Look forward to welcoming you again soon. Trevor & Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Horrid. From the moment I asked for an early breakfast, I was made to feel as if I shouldn't be there. £45 a night to stay in such a small room that you cannot open the door fully because it strikes the bed. The only place to work was sitting in bed and even then, if you are tall, you could not sit up on one side, as the sloping roof of this attic room would have got in your way. Breakfast was perfunctory. Fresh fruit were 3 black bananas under the cereals. Service was appalling.

The entrance to the B&B is extremely difficult to get into and the parking places were too small. Don't stay here if you have a car bigger than a small hatchback. In fact, it wouldn't be your best plan to stay here at all.

The owners are in a hospitality industry. Maybe there's a course they can attend to educate them as to what that means, because I did not feel as if I was in a hospitality industry at all.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulGarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyndale50, Owner at Lyndale Cottage Guest House, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Customer Service is always our priority.

Had the gentleman advised us that the room was unsuitable for his requirements, then we would have immediately offered an alternative. We completely understand that what suits one person may not necessarily suit another.

It is unfortunate that upon arrival this gentleman immediately demanded breakfast at 7 o’clock, despite having been advised at the time of booking that breakfast is served between 7.30 am and 9.00 am.
However as a matter of goodwill an earlier breakfast was provided.

We are not a purpose built establishment, we are a family run guesthouse in a traditional Cornish cottage with it’s own character and idiosyncrasies.

We have hundreds of positive testimonials both on the Internet and in our visitor’s book congratulating us on our standards of service and hospitality. The number of returning guests will also support this statement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRATO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Twin room for three nights for £63 per Night (1 Night deposit)
Free Park for the car and a garage for the bikes
Excellent bike service from Porthleven.
Very good breakfast.
Five minutes walk from the centre.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorenzoFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyndale50, Owner at Lyndale Cottage Guest House, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you for posting your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our Guest house to your liking. Look for ward to welcoming you back some day. Trevor & Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helston
0.4 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 3 in Helston
86 reviews
4.4 mi away
Trengilly Wartha Country Inn
0.4 mi away
Strathallan Guest House
Strathallan Guest House
#4 of 39 in Helston
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Tregaddra Farm B&B
Tregaddra Farm B&B
#3 of 39 in Helston
138 reviews
0.4 mi away
No.52 Bed & Breakfast
No.52 Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 39 in Helston
27 reviews
2.2 mi away
Harbour Inn
Harbour Inn
#1 of 8 in Porthleven
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyndale Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyndale Cottage Guest House

Property: Lyndale Cottage Guest House
Address: 4 Greenbank Meneage Road, Helston TR13 8JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Helston
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyndale Cottage Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarah's warm and friendly service, delicious home-cooked breakfasts, using local produce, homemade jams and yoghurts, awaits you at this delightful Cornish cottage guesthouse with 6 modern en-suite bedrooms. The perfect location for exploring the idyllic beaches and coves, beautiful Cornish gardens, spectacular coastline, pretty villages and towns. Free parking and Wi-Fi, Digital Tvs in all rooms, cosy Lounge with woodburning stove. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lyndale Cottage Guest House Helston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing