We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dog friendly holiday cottage”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heath Farm Cottages
London
Level Contributor
96 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Great dog friendly holiday cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed at Granary Cottage for a week in mid October and had a great time. The cottage was bigger than expected, warm and cosy - plenty of room for my husband and I, and our two relatively large and lively dogs.

The cottage has a fenced off outdoor area so we could let the dogs out to stretch their legs. There is also a new woodland area, a short walk from the cottage, where we could walk the dogs first thing in the morning, with minimum effort.

Great location for exploring the Lizard peninsula, and for day/half day trips to St. Ives, St. Agnes and Sennen for Land's End.

Peter and Natalie were very helpful, friendly and welcoming, without being intrusive.

We stayed in low season which suited us perfectly - very quiet. I believe we were the only ones staying that week (there are c.six cottages on Heath Farm). And being October, the dogs were allowed to run free on all of the beaches.

I would definitely stay here again if it weren't for the fact that there are so many other places in the country I have yet to explore .....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaM2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

We couldn't have asked for a warmer welcome or a more ideal place to stay with our young family. Peter and Natalie were unfailingly warm and helpful. They were very generous with their local knowledge which took us to some lovely places we would never otherwise have found. The boys loved seeing the farm animals; and so did we.

The cottage (Willows) was perfect for us; it had everything we needed and never felt cramped despite having two young boys bombing about the place. Having stayed in plenty of UK self catering cottages, we really appreciated the extras - the cream tea on arrival, and more mundane items like the washing up liquid and hand towel. It was the best cottage we have stayed in (this after many years of holidaying around Britain) - we were made to feel so welcome, and you can't put a price on that.

Locally, Coverack is fantastic - very picturesque with a harbour, sandy beach and rock pools, great fish and chips and a lovely pub to eat in. The coves of the Helford river estuary were delightful. Although the Goonhilly visitor centre is closed, you can still get in with a Segway tours or just for a drink in the cafe. The mine tours are good, too. There wasn't a shortage of things to do, rain or shine. Hope you enjoy your holiday as much as we did ours.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandab5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed in Granary cottage for a week with our dog. The weather could have been better, but we had a wonderful week. The cottage was bigger than we expected and comfortable, when we got soaked it was easy enough to heat the place up to dry everything off. The gardens are lovely, small and pretty, and I really enjoyed walking around in the mornings to see what was going on in the farm. It was lambing time whilst we were there, and I was lucky enough to see a lamb being born. Peter knew I was interested so let me know it was imminent and it was a real joy to see.
We did walks every day along the coast path, all of which is easy to get to from the cottage by car. Spectacular views and wildlife. We saw a Peregrine Falcon, but the Choughs eluded us. Saw a vole and countless seabirds, stone chats and Kestrels and buzzards. We would love to return. The cream tea on arrival was a really nice touch. there are lots of good pubs quite nearby and lovely fresh fish. Dogs allowed almost everywhere, inside pubs, cafes, some shops.
Peter and Natalie are doing a grand job.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

My family and I rented two of these cottages (stables and parlour) for a week. We had a great holiday and the accommodation was good but there were a few problems.
First the positives. The area that Heath Farm is located is beautiful and secluded, yet within easy driving distance of many towns and villages, Helston, Coverack and St Keverne to name a few.
The cottages are owned by a lovely couple and you can tell that it is a family run business. We were welcomed by Peter who showed us around both cottages and left us with a complimentary cream tea to enjoy.
The cottages have everything you could need for a self catering holiday, microwave, oven, toaster, kettle, plenty of cooking pans, utensils and housekeeping supplies. Parlour cottage slept seven people, there was one double room, a room with three single beds and there was a double sofa bed in the living room area. All beds were very comfortable and we found it very convenient that there were sinks in both bedrooms, especially as there was only one bathroom. The shower room is separate from the bathroom which is also a help when there are so many people staying in one cottage. Stables cottage was slightly smaller, only sleeping four people between one double room and a twin room. Again each room had a sink and the shower was separate from the bathroom. Both cottages had heating and an electric fire so we were kept very warm.

However, one of the things we noticed when we settled into the cottages was that there were hundreds of cobwebs everywhere, in every single room. Especially hanging from the ceiling and curtain poles. To us it looked like the cottages hadn't been cleaned properly. There were also loads of spiders! This didn't bother my family and I because the cottages were so beautiful and perfect for what we wanted. It was nothing that a good vacuum wouldn't sort.
The only other negatives are very small things, the farm wasn't in very good condition. The children's play area was very small and the rocking horse in it was broken (it's head had come off, it was probably enough to give kids nightmares!).
The cottages are also advertised as having washing facilities, however the washing room for clothes was dirty and the thought of washing our clothes in there was unbearable so we washed ours out in the sink!

These cottages do aggravate me but not because they are awful. It's because the owners are so nearly there with it. Just a little bit of work to the farm and a bit more cleaning and they could charge a lot more for these cottages than they did.

In the long term, maybe updating the tv and dvd player would be a good idea and replacing the sofas as they do squeak a bit!

Don't let my comments put anyone off going to these cottages as we did have an amazing holiday and the cottages were perfect for spending time with family and the beds were really comfy! It was one of the best nights sleep i've had in a long time. Just be prepared that when you get there you might have to get the vacuum cleaner out for five minutes!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jojo1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

I’m conscious that this is the first review of this establishment, so I am well aware of my duty to be as objective and accurate as possible. The problem is that despite some shortcomings, both my wife and I seriously loved it here!

Perhaps I should start with some basics...

Heath Farm is an 18 acre smallholding located about 2.5 miles from the picturesque fishing village of Coverack on Cornwall’s Lizard Peninsular. But then, if you have taken the trouble to search for reviews of the place you probably know that anyway. An imposing farmhouse sits back from a central courtyard flanked by two blocks each containing three holiday cottages. The cottages on one side are converted from the old milking parlour and creamery whilst the other three are more recently built, tastefully constructed to echo the style of the original architecture. The newer cottages have ramps to the front door enabling wheelchair and pushchair access, although we didn’t get to see enough of the interior to observe whether this level of accessibility continues throughout.

The older cottages have nicely-sized fenced-off gardens that look out on to a yard that is home to the working part of the smallholding. The spacing of the fencing was sufficiently narrow to contain our three Yorkshire Terriers but still allowed unrestricted views of barns and animal enclosures. The newer cottages do not currently have gardens and instead look directly out on to a play area comprising a climbing frame and grass of sufficient size for a bit of a kick about with a football. However the proprietors (more about them in a minute) tell us that they are planning to build gardens for these cottages too, although we don’t know the timescale for these aspirations.

We stayed in the cottage charmingly titled ‘The Granary’. As one of the older converted buildings, The Granary has large rooms throughout and was more than big enough for the two of us and our dogs. In addition to the double bed there is a fold-up bed which would suit a child (or particularly tolerant adult friend or relative...).

Although clean throughout, there were signs of wear and tear in the cottage. This may be due to our stay being at the end of a busy summer season, meaning that there had been no time between lets to carry out repairs. The most noticeable area that needed addressing was a section of blown plaster which was pushing out the tiles on the splash-back behind the hob top, although we also noted that towel rails were rather loose on their fixings as well as there being some damaged skirting board in the toilet.

That having been said, the cottage was perfectly comfortable and welcoming. Bed linen was wonderfully crisp and all the basic supplies needed to settle in (toilet roll, kitchen roll, washing up liquid, sponges etc.) were provided so there was no need to bring our own. The nicest touch though was the Cornish cream tea, complete with home-made scones, laid on for our arrival.

Utensils for cookery are all supplied and are completely adequate for most basic culinary tasks although one shouldn’t expect everything one needs to provide a full five-course banquet. During our stay we were able to whip up chilli, enchiladas and roast dinners for the two of us without any problems.

Heath Farm is run by Natalie and Peter, a friendly and approachable husband and wife team who are a font of useful local knowledge, able to field queries varying from places to eat and drink to great walks and on to where the nearest vet can be found. Guests are welcome to take an interest in the farm itself and we were able to help with feeding the pigs who were in residence during our stay. The farm is also home to a couple of ponies, some sheep and chickens as well as a trio of guinea fowl who can be quite noisy until they get used to you!

The farm grounds themselves are in need of a bit of tidying up, although in many ways the unkempt courtyard and ramshackle barns add to the charm of the place. Peter was in the process of renovating one of the barns when we were there, so it may be that in due course the pots in the courtyard get weeded!

What we loved most about Heath Farm though was the sense of total peace and calm. Being so far from any major centres of habitation the air is totally quiet at night, with no low hum of traffic or any of the other distractions of modern living. The only break in the atmosphere is when a search and rescue helicopter from RNAS Culdrose passes overhead, but this isn’t so often that it becomes any sort of nuisance.

Speaking of being far from the maddening crowd, it is worth noting that when you stay at Heath Farm, you are a little way from some amenities. The nearest supermarket is in Helston which, on the narrow Cornish lanes, is about 15 minutes away by car, although there are convenience stores closer by in St Kerverne. If you want to walk to a pub, it will be a couple of miles each way down unlit lanes. That said, you will find that a surprising amount of Cornwall is within an easy drive. Whilst we were there we managed to get as far west as Land’s End, as far north as Padstow (or RickSteinLand as I believe it is being rebranded) and as far east as Mevagissy. If you prefer two-legged locomotion, you are less than two miles from the coast path and there are numerous inland routes to enjoy as well.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Heath Farm. Even if the decor wasn’t perfect, it was cosy and comfortable. As responsible dog owners (i.e. we didn’t allow them to run wild amongst the livestock) our boys were unreservedly welcomed – unlike some allegedly “dog-friendly” lettings that we investigated which would charge an extra £15 a week for each dog. The location was perfect for what we wanted and if we are back on the Lizard again, Heath Farm is where we will stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheapbutdemanding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helston
1.6 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Paris Hotel
The Paris Hotel
#2 of 7 in Coverack
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queens Arms
Queens Arms
#1 of 2 in Breage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
9.3 mi away
Harbour Inn
Harbour Inn
#1 of 8 in Porthleven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
4.0 mi away
Gallen-Treath Guest House
Gallen-Treath Guest House
#2 of 7 in St Keverne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heath Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heath Farm Cottages

Property: Heath Farm Cottages
Address: Heath Farm Ponsongath, Helston TR12 6SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Helston
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Heath Farm Cottages Helston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing