We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so glad we picked this camp site ..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chy Carne Holiday Park
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“so glad we picked this camp site ..”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

we chose this camp site because the reviews said it has a very relaxed atmosphere also dog friendly & we could have a camp fire . we were not disappointed , what a fab place! with everything you could need , a pub with lovely comfy seats outside where you could take in the beautiful views, a large shop , & a snack shack which sold all sorts of food... plenty for adults & children to do , large tv in the pub marquee as well as a pool table , also table tennis on the camp site & children's play area .
very dog friendly ,with plenty of doggie bins around & water bowls.. it only cost £1 per dog per night ..unlike some of the more well known campsites which charged £5 per dog ! lovely little beach only a 10 min walk away time restrictions for dogs ..but just over the sand dune 5 min walk from kennack sands is another beach which is dog friendly all year .
we would of stayed longer if we didn't have to work the next day .....would recommend the cliff walk from kennack sands to cadgwith ..beautiful views ! with a lovely little pub and restaurant in cadgwith to recharge your batteries for the walk back .

Room Tip: try to find a flat area to pitch your tent .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daisy_may10_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    46
    19
    13
    26
See reviews for
131
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

reading some of the "bad" reviews did not put me off, unfortunately some people would not be happy if they were in a five star hotel, this is camping and caravaning people get your heads round it do not expect luxurious surroundings.
this is a beautifully located site with some of the best views i have ever had on a camping pitch, everyone on site were helpful and couldn't do enough to point us in the right direction, facilities on site were great and with the addition of new shower, toilet and washing up blocks can only get better, as for paying for shower time great idea keeps the idiots who like to hog them for half an hour at a time away from them :-) everything was claean and tidy and well looked after WE WILL BE VISITING AGAIN stay away you moaners

Room Tip: No i am keeping the numbers of the best pitches to myself ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marks1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just back from a weeks family holiday at this amazing site.
Accomodation- We stayed in a 3 bed static caravan. The caravan was clean and had a good lay out in terms of rooms. We've always stayed at a well known caravan park nearby and whilst the caravan may not be quite as luxurious as those we've stayed in previously, this is more than reflected in the price and we really had no complaints at all in terms of our accommodation.
Chy carne site- The site is so thoughtfully laid out, it really does have everything you could need. There's a gorgeous bar area under canvas, with a comfy outdoor settee & chairs overlooking the sea outside, it's even got a fire put to keep you warm on the chilly nights. It's very family friendly and we felt safe allowing our 9&6 year olds to play out (haven't allowed them to do that at other parks) at the play areas.
Staff-this is where the site really comes into its own. Every single member of staff from the owners to bar staff to cleaners are super friendly and helpful. My little girl said that the shopkeeper (owner!) was the nicest & friendliest shopkeeper in the whole of England!
We loved it that much, we arranged to stay an extra night, of which the owners were very accomodating and we'll certainly be back again next year. Thank you :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marieact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have spent a full week @ this camping site and it has been a pleasant adventure. After a long trip we got there and were very kindly greeted and shown to our pitch. The staff/owners seemed to be working constantly to improve the site, they seem to be building/improving shower/toilet blocks around the site, leaving only one set to work, however it wasn't that far to walk to from any point in the campsite.
The view of the sea was amazing (amazing enough to keep us going and put the tent up so we could have a stroll around!).
The walk to the beach was short, about 7 minutes (on a narrow road, but there was a safer path midway) couldn't get lost even if you tried!. The beach itself was stunning, busy enough but not crowded, kids loved it!
The only thing we didn't like was that the showers operate with 50p coins (for 5 minutes), we didn't know this until we got there all set for the showers and no 50p coins, oops!
It was also very easy to get to places like The Lizard, Helston and Penzance amongst others from there.
The campsite was very quiet at night, and even though there were lots of dogs while we were there, it was clean and there weren't any issues with barking or anything to do with dogs.
Overall a very pleasant and enjoyable stay, thank you very much

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, Bucks, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We've just returned from a 4 night stay at Chy Carne over the bank holiday/half term period. The site is in a fantastic spot on the Lizard! It's about a 20min drive to Helston which has a large Tesco and Sainsburys for everythig you could need. A 10min stroll down to Kennack Sands is lovely although it is a steep hill so kids and seniors might struggling coming back!
A couple of points to note:
1) The showers are 50p for the first 5 mins and 10p for every subsequent minute so make sure you have plenty of change. This restricted time people spent in the showers so neither of us had to queue once. This was only mentioned in the detail for showers on the website-might be worth mentioning on the face of the "facilities" page.
2) We specifically booked pitch number 79 so that it'd be near the shower block without being right next to it. We were told that this block was actually under construction and not yet open so the nearest block was a short walk away which is fine during the day but annoying in the rain at night. Hopefully the new block will be open soon and others won't make the same mistake we did. In fairness, we were offered an alternative pitch but this was after we'd set up camp! The website says this will be open from 25th May. It wasn't and this information again was only in the detail of the showers etc, not on the face of the "facilities". Not metioned on the map when booking that these were under construction still.

Had a lovely time and would definitely return-excellent site!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 0758212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have just come back from staying in a 3 bed caravan at chy carne. We stayed for 3 days and couldn't of really asked for anything better. The caravan and site itself, was very clean and well kept. The owners were brilliant;very friendly and helpful. Lovely views of the sea. Although it is kind of in the middle of nowhere it is pretty central to where ever you want to visit. We went to lands end, st ives and newquay and all took within an hour to get to, so not bad. We went to the tent area in the eve and had a good laugh. The owners put the fire pit on in the communal area as was a bit chilly!

I would definitely recommend staying here and would visit again.

This is definitely a high 4 rating.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leeann84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

My young family and I stayed here 2 summers ago, I remember it well, we arrived late on a Sunday afternoon, only to find a tent pole had broken on our tent and a large hole had appeared in our tent!! Being a Sunday and after 4pm we had limited options of how to make the best of our situation, I went and asked if there were any caravans available and unfortunately for us they were all fully booked, however the daughter of the camp site owner offered us 2, 2 man tents to tide us over until the following day when we were able to go into Helston and purchase a larger tent. The family could not have been more helpful and accommodating, I will never forget the kindness shown, the actual location of the camp site itself is so idilac, the children had a great time, it really was a family friendly camp with music/entertainment on alternative nights which was really nice. The views from here were amazing and it was great for dog owners, I can not find a bad word to say about our stay, the facilities were good and I know that we will definitely be returning to Chy Carne again this summer.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helston
3.8 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
547 reviews
3.7 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
788 reviews
7.3 mi away
Trengilly Wartha Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
24.9 mi away
Meadow Lakes Holiday Park
Meadow Lakes Holiday Park
#10 of 37 in St Austell
176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queens Arms
Queens Arms
#1 of 2 in Breage
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy Carne Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy Carne Holiday Park

Property: Chy Carne Holiday Park
Address: Kuggar, Helston TR12 7LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Helston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Chy Carne Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy Carne Holiday Park Helston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing