We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”
Review of Hollow Tree House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hollow Tree House
Ranked #20 of 39 Helston B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We've just spent a pleasant three night stay here, whilst walking on the South West Coast Path. Everything we could say is already in the positive reviews below (like "Wonderful stay" and "A Hidden Gem"), and we can confirm that every word of that review is spot on!
Marjorie couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. She even offered to dry our soaked walking shoes and jackets over the Aga, after a typical Cornish day!
We've stayed at many B&Bs whilst walking the path. Most are perfectly OK, but sometimes we encounter an outstanding one that really impresses us. This is one of them.
Our only regret is that as we move ever eastwards on our walks we won't be able to base ourselves here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Hollow Tree House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 29 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

Last year I stayed at Hollow Tree House while on a course nearby. I enjoyed it so much that this year I booked again and it was like coming home. Marjorie and Peter are welcoming and interesting hosts who cannot do enough for you. Their high standards (and delicious home made cake and shortbread!) ensure complete comfort. Utter bliss. I shall be back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miranda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We have just spent 2 nights at Hollow Tree House and it is very comfortable and great value.
Marjorie and Peter are very welcoming and friendly

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandSBoradstairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed for two nights at Hollow Tree and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. From the moment you arrive you are made to feel at home, with a very warm welcome from the treasure that is Marjorie (and tea and home made cake).

The rooms are extremely comfortable with high quality decor, furnishings and linens. The decor is tasteful and very appropriate for the type of property. The rooms have french windows overlooking well established gardens, and are absolutely pristeen. There are tea making facilities and a flat screen t.v., lovely toiletries and best of all, a jar of homemade shortbread!

The bathroom is not en suite, but just across the hall, but the family accommodation is screened off from the guest area, so privacy is not an issue. The bathroom is spacious, modern, and absolutely gleaming. We felt as if we were the first people to ever use it.

Breakfast was absolutely delicious and so nicely done, and there is a good choice available. High quality produce is used, and you are treated to such friendly, personal, yet still unobtrusive service. Special thanks to Marjorie for waking us when hubbies alarm failed to go off. He would have been seriously late to work without her intervention.

I can't think of a single thing they could have done better, and should we need to visit the area again will definitely be back. Thanks Peter and Marjorie for a memorable and enjoyable stay in your beautiful home.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed at Hollow Tree House for 3 nights in August and Marjorie made us feel at home from the word go with a welcome hot drink and home made cake.

Marjorie & Peter (we never met Peter) have 2 bedrooms for paying guests. The bedrooms don’t have en-suite facilities but have access to a private bathroom. When I rang to book, Marjorie told me that they only let out the two rooms together if it’s the same party, so as there were only two of us we had the bathroom to ourselves.

The bedroom is very cosy, with french doors and a wonderful view of the garden and beyond. There is a wash hand basin in the room with soap, hand lotion, cotton buds and cotton wool – which I thought was a very thoughtful touch. There were fresh flowers in the room and drink making facilities with home made shortbread. The room was very clean and comfortable.

The bathroom is quite large and probably the cleanest bathroom I have ever stayed in. It positively sparkled at me!! Although you have to cross the landing to reach the bathroom, there is a screen on the landing between the guest side and the family side, so privacy isn’t a problem. The family use their own staircase.

Breakfast is something to look forward to. Lashings of fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal and fruit juice followed by a choice of cooked breakfast. Marjorie uses good quality ingredients and everything is freshly cooked.

The house and garden is a delight. It is a 5 – 10 minute walk from the town centre but feels as if it is nowhere near a town – a haven of peace and tranquillity. If you’re looking for somewhere modern – don’t stay here – but if you want old world charm, comfort, good quality food and hospitality, this is the place for you.

This was the first time we had stayed in a B & B and we weren’t sure what to expect - it was perfect. I feel the standard has been set rather high – Thank you Marjorie.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cgxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hambugerin52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helston
0.3 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 3 in Helston
88 reviews
5.8 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
813 reviews
0.4 mi away
Strathallan Guest House
Strathallan Guest House
#3 of 39 in Helston
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No.52 Bed & Breakfast
No.52 Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 39 in Helston
30 reviews
2.3 mi away
Harbour Inn
Harbour Inn
#1 of 8 in Porthleven
497 reviews
4.5 mi away
Tregaddra Farm B&B
Tregaddra Farm B&B
#4 of 39 in Helston
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollow Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollow Tree House

Address: 27 Church Hill, Helston TR13 8NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Helston
Price Range: $45 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hollow Tree House is a Silver Award winning, 4 Star rated B&B in Helston, Cornwall. It has two double rooms, each with wash basin and access to a private bathroom.Furnished in traditional fashion the rooms allow visitors the space and comfort to relax at their leisure. Choices of hot drinks, home made shortbread and a flat screen digital television in each room allow for private-time for guests.Located at the head of the Loe Valley and situated on the edge of the sixth century market town of Helston, Hollow Tree House looks down this sweeping landscape and onto the sea at Loe Bar. The house is situated in its own grounds down a quiet and tranquil private lane, and it is here that Marjorie and Peter Webb offer you the opportunity to relax, accompanied by the very best in Cornish hospitality and the finest English home cooking.Come and stay! You might not want to leave! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hollow Tree House Helston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing