We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crown Inn and Lodges
Ranked #10 of 39 Helston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had a fantastic 3 nights stay. Bernie and Dave made us really welcome and we feel part of 'the family'. A full English breakfast is tradition on the first day but 3 of us couldn't manage it on day 2 and 3. The food in the restaurant is good quality, plentiful and piping hot. The accommodation is clean and has everything you need. It's quiet too. The Crown Inn is really central for touring many places in Cornwall. We will certainly book again when we go to Cornwall.

Room Tip: There is a family lodge with 2 rooms, two lodges that sleep 3 and a double/disabled lodge
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VicMoor2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Crown Inn and Lodges
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 54 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

I travel around Cornwall a lot and have stayed in many places in recent years. The Crown Inn however, is by far the best accommodation I have come across! The rooms are light, spacious and immaculate. They’re set rather picturesquely at the back of the pub, facing wonderful gardens and countryside. The pub itself is everything you want could want from a traditional Cornish pub! The menu serves up a mixture of traditional pub grub (all portions are absolutely huge) along with freshly made curries that I’m told the chef makes to order. I’m not a really a real ale person, however the locals certainly are and it really adds to the whole atmosphere of the place. The landlord and landlady couldn’t have been more accommodating and I would certainly recommend going for both bed and breakfast, because the full English is delicious. The Crown Inn is like a little escape from reality and a wonderful retreat from busy life. It’s near enough to everything (15-20mins to any attraction/tourist spot) but far enough away from it all, quiet and very relaxing. Will definitely be back again soon!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186338Erica_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Just home from a beautiful week in Cornwall, made even better by the outstanding standards of the Crown Inn, Crowntown, Helston.

Our lodge was immaculately clean, spacious and had everything we needed, added to this the staff and hosts were second to none, nothing was too much trouble.

A lovely setting with good real ales, poured straight from the cask as such ale dictates, a wide selection of meals to choose from, good quality and huge portions.

To the earlier comments re the Dublin Bay Mussels, whilst they may be frozen, this is a good quality family run business. Yes fresh Newlynn Mussels would be fabulous, but they would also be much higher in price - and the Crown does an amazingly good job and attracting families on family budgets. To be fair there are plenty of opportunities on days out to have that extra special super duper fish speciality if that is what you want, but few of us these days can afford it everyday of our holiday!!!!

Well done to Bernie and Dave and all the staff at The Crown Inn, who went above and beyond the call of duty to make our stay so very enjoyable, even allowing us to come back to them for breakfast when we had moved on to another establishment as we had booked so late the Crown could only accommodate us for 2 nights, will know better next time and we will be booking in advance and will be staying here for our whole visit.

Big thank you to you all for a great holiday.

Room Tip: Book Early as the Crown is very popular and has numerous return visitors year on year.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diverrob180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at this pub in June for 5 days bed and breakfast,after booking our break in april.We had read the reviews and thought it sounded great.In May we read fandango"s review and were slightly put off.
Our break was fantastic,the food (as the other reviews stated) was supurb ,this is the best pub food we have had,the real ales of which there are 4 always on was second to none and is still served straight from the cask.Dave and Bernie are first class publicans and nothing is to much trouble.This is the first review i have written , but felt compelled to write it.We have booked a late summer break at the crown and have reccomended the crown to our friends and familly.

Room Tip: The lodges are detached from the pub , but set within the grounds.The lodges are all fairly big and...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The rooms are chalet like and spacious, the people here are all lovely and can't do enough to help you. the only problem with the Crown Inn is that they buy their food in from someone like Brakes. Why sell boil in the bag Irish mussels when you are a few miles from lovely fresh Newlynn mussels? I understand why pubs buy in this kind of food, but when I stayed at the Ship in Portloe they had to turn people away for their home cooked food so give it a try guys!

The breakfast is enormous, it could keep you going for days, and the real ale is good if slightly chillier than it should be. I would stay here again, but I wouldn't eat here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fandango11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Loved the food and atmostphere in this local pub so much we spent two of our three nights weekend break eating here. Made to feel very welcome on both occasions even though on one visit there was a Christening party. Great Cornish beer on tap too,
Apparently there are lodges behind the pub and if you stay the night you have a full English for breakfast the next morning. You won't need a lunch after that if the evening meals are anything to go by.Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonNefertiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Visiting the Crown inn in April and this will be my 11th time in the past 6 years.
The warm friendly pub is second to none in West Cornwall & is a great base for a touring holiday. The food is great and not pricey but the full English breakfast is awesome just what us rugby fans need to start the day.
I have taken my family down a couple of times and they love the place.
Great place in rugged Cornwall and Dave & Bernie will always look after you.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helston
2.5 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 3 in Helston
88 reviews
6.1 mi away
Trengilly Wartha Country Inn
2.2 mi away
Elysian Fields
Elysian Fields
#1 of 39 in Helston
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Tregaddra Farm B&B
Tregaddra Farm B&B
#4 of 39 in Helston
141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queens Arms
Queens Arms
#1 of 2 in Breage
91 reviews
2.5 mi away
No.52 Bed & Breakfast
No.52 Bed & Breakfast
#14 of 39 in Helston
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Inn and Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Inn and Lodges

Address: Crowntown, Helston TR13 0AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Helston
Price Range: $96 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run business nestled in the beautiful countryside of west Cornwall but only 10 minutes from Cornwalls stunning beaches.We pride ourselves on our perfectly kept ,ever changing selection of real ales and as far as possible, locally sourced food, cooked in house for you. Our Lodges are in our stunning grounds and garden,all with on-suites ,king sized beds ,TVs and tea and coffee making facilities.The lodges are independent from the inn with their own secure parking ,breakfast is taken in the inn with a selection of cereals ,cooked breakfast , toast and preserves and teas and coffees ,fruit and juices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Crown Inn and Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Inn And Lodges Helston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing