We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Local Pub, Dogs Welcome”
Review of The Paris Hotel

The Paris Hotel
Ranked #32 of 113 Restaurants in Helston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $21
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Veryan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Local Pub, Dogs Welcome”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We often visit Coverack when we are on holiday in Cornwall. It is a very pretty, quaint village with a lovely beach (just a bit rocky from the steps to the sand). When there, we always call in to the Paris. If you go on a nice day, you can sit out in the beer garden and look straight out to sea - which is always a bonus!

We usually eat here at lunch-time, just because it is too far from where we stay to travel there in the evening and we love their sandwiches. I would recommend the granary bread - it is lovely, as are the chips :)

A plus, for us, is that dogs are always welcome.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julieann100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    79
    12
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Local Family Pub”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We are at the Paris several times during our recent holiday in Coverack. It's a good local pub and you can take your drinks out and sit down on the harbour wall in the evening, which is picturesque and can be a lovely warm sun trap in the evenings. The food either in the bar or in the restaurant is the same menu with a tasty choice of locally cooked dishes. About £50 for a family of four including a couple of drinks for the parents. Kids are welcome in the bar but, if the tide is right, they can spend an hour jumping off the harbour wall into the sea while Mum and Dad relax with their drinks. Looking forward to going back next year.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank roadwarriror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great ambiance at historic hotel”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have been to the Paris a few times when visiting friends at lovely Coverack. The Paris is their local pub and the atmosphere is great. We attended the quiz (didn't do very well) and ate there .I had the sea bass , which was delicious and my husband chose the seafood chowder ,excellent. This is a great pub with a charming history named after an ocean going liner which ran aground nearby . Hope we have many more visits.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eileen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth aus.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

we enjoyed a delicious meal here, my husband had the crab and lobster dish and i had the lasagna, good service as well

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank speed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paris Hotel Coverack”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Hospitality second to none, food 100% with top class service. Menu varied and great value for money. Beer first class.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulPenzance893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Paris Hotel also viewed

 
Coverack, Cornwall
Coverack, Cornwall
 

Been to The Paris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing