We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in a B&B.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strathallan Guest House
Ranked #4 of 39 Helston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gravesend
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best stay in a B&B.”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Just can't say enough about this gem of a B&B...................hosts, accommodation, bathroom, food, location all above excellent. Wow!! I love the idea of a fridge the room. There was a selection of soft drinks at very good prices (just leave the money on the tea tray) also a cork screw and enough room for your own drinks. Tea tray had a wide variety of teas, coffee, hot chocolate and cookies too. Never had time for the evening meal but the smell of it being cooked I will make time on our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmelnetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David and Val J, Owner at Strathallan Guest House, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thankyou very much for taking the time to review Strathallan, we are glad you enoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    19
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
48
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wednesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just round the corner from the Blue Anchor couldn't have wished for a nicer Guesthouse , fantastic hosts , fabulous breakfast , very comfy bed , lovely room , ideal location . Need I say more ticked all the boxes will definitely be staying again 10/10 thanks again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David and Val J, Owner at Strathallan Guest House, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hello Steve and thanks for your nice review. I'm very glad you enjoyed Helstonbury and your stay at Strathallan. We look forward to hosting you again the future.

Thanks again,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This 'guest house' has all the refinements you would expect in a top quality hotel attention to detail second to none - the breakfast menu is extensive even including eggs benedict - fabulously prepared and presented - as for the evening meals - fresh local ingredients superbly prepared by the owner a chef for many years and it shows!! - be prepared to not eat lunch - the room was spotless and decorated to an exceptionally high standard with top quality toiletries and large white fluff towels!! There is a fridge in the room which you can use for your own drinks etc but is well stocked with a selection of reasonably priced soft drinks - there is a lovely garden you are encouraged to use - we wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone and look forward to returning in the not to distant future - thank you all for your hospitality!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David and Val J, Owner at Strathallan Guest House, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Angela,

Thank you so very much for your excellent review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Glad you enjoyed the garden and also your evening meals. It was a pleasure to cook for you and I look forward to doing so again in the future.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at this Guest House for 6 nights. Our room was clean and comfy and the bathroom was a decent size. We were particularly happy to have a fridge in the bedroom which was stocked with reasonably priced soft drinks. Breakfasts were beautifully cooked and presented. We also ate an evening meal twice which was of an excellent standard.
We would definitely recommend this Guest House.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarilynSouthsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David and Val J, Owner at Strathallan Guest House, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thankyou for your very nice review, it's much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Strathallan and thank you for your kind comments about the housekeeping and the food!

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very clean rooms, superb food, excellent hospitality, would recommend The Strathallan to anyone visiting this area! Dave and Val made our stay really pleasant and went out of their way to point out local attractions and places of interest. The gardens are well looked after and a superb place to relax after a hard day of sightseeing!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boss4283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David and Val J, Owner at Strathallan Guest House, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We put 100% into everything that we do here at Strathallan and receiving reviews like this from yourself makes all the hard work worthwhile. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Spent a week working locally and was booked into the Strathallan by work.

From arrival, David was really helpful, informative and offered plenty of suggestions of places to visit to eat, and ones to avoid.

My room was light, very tidy and comfortable, the fridge was handy too.

Breakfast is delicious and cooked properly with real rather than instant coffee.

Whilst parking is tight, there is a free car park just a minutes walk away so even that is not an issue.

I know that when I go back to the area, I will certainly be staying at the Strathallan again. Thank you.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Pompeytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val J, Owner at Strathallan Guest House, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, even though it was a working visit! Glad all the information I gave you was of some help. Also, thank you for your kind comments about the room. We are currently re-vamping all the rooms at this time. Very happy you enjoyed breakfast. We use all local free range products from our excellent butcher here in Helston. We look forward to welcoming you back to Strathallan in the Future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldstream, ScotKathy 'mason' Wland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed in the Strathallan in February of this year and now we are thinking of rebooking we realised that we did not get the time to do a review. Our hosts were fantastic and I found out the Davy is a chef of 30 years +. This was reflected by the quality breakfasts that we enjoyed. This made us decide to eat there in the evening and we were treated with some fine dining. The super king size bed was very comfortable and the shower pressure really woke me up in the morning. I cannot wait until our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathywright_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val J, Owner at Strathallan Guest House, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thanks for the excellent review, we are very glad you enjoyed your break with us! Thank you for the lovely comments about the food, at breakfast and in the evening. We were just informed on Friday that we have been awarded with a 'Best Breakfast Award' from Visit England, and our percentage score has increased vastly due to the rennovations we have made. It was lovely hosting you and we very much look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helston
0.1 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 3 in Helston
87 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
593 reviews
5.4 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
440 reviews
6.4 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
685 reviews
2.0 mi away
Harbour Inn
Harbour Inn
#1 of 8 in Porthleven
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathallan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathallan Guest House

Property: Strathallan Guest House
Address: 6 Monument Road, Helston TR13 8HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Helston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Strathallan Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Strathallan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathallan Guest House Helston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing