We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A peaceful haven”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Lodge

Boscrege Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Boscrege Lodge
The Lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Boscrege Lodge
The Lodge
Private Garden for The Lodge
Hendra, 5 minutes
Para Sands, 5 minutes
St Ives
St Michaels Mount
Boscrege in the snow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Helston, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Caroline...
1 review
“A peaceful haven”
Reviewed September 15, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

On arriving at the Lodge, we were warmly welcomed by Julian, the owner, given a guided tour of the property & quickly felt very much at home. The Lodge was beautifully clean & equipped with everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The vast array of breakfast goodies was exceptional & eliminated the need for a mad dash to the shops. Double doors at the back of the property open out on to the pretty garden, with a small paved area complete with a table & chairs, perfect for an alfresco breakfast or evening glass of wine.
There are some lovely walks directly from the cottage, which is also well placed for touring around the very scenic local area.
We loved our stay at the Lodge, so much so, that before leaving, we booked our return visit. Roll on October!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2016
Hi Caroline, thank you so much for your lovely review. Your October stay is all booked, it will be lovely to see you all again, where did the summer go !! Apparently, the fishing down at Prussia Cove has been excellent this year so no excuses this time when Paul comes back empty handed........again !! Thanks again, see you soon and have a safe journey, Julian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good location - easy to reach either coast
Liked least: Forgot my slippers and tile floor was a bit cold on my feet!!!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2016
Thank you Gail, that's very kind of you. It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family to Boscrege, oh, and not forgetting your well trained (well nearly !) dog, bless him ! I'm glad you enjoyed Kota Kai down in Porthleven, that place really is a hidden gem. I look forward to your next visit, if only to see the progress on the dog training front, ho ho ho !! Take care, thank you, and hope to see you again very soon, Julian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tour65155...
1 review
“Lovely week holiday in a brilliant cottage”
Reviewed August 27, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Just had a brilliant week in The Lodge with our two grandchildren. After an horrendous journey from Kent we received a very warm welcome from Julian. The Lodge was immaculate and everything was provided that we could possibly need. The fridge was filled with goodies for our Sunday breakfast and plenty of extras that we didn't expect. The children were thrilled with their bowl of sweets, and the vase of fresh flowers and the bowl of fruit were thoughtful additions. The Lodge was in a secluded peaceful setting but close to beautiful beaches and Porthleven where there were plent of places to eat. Julian was always on hand to give directions and advice of places to visit. Thank you Julian for making us feel very welcome and very much at home. We will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2016
Bless you Stella, it was a pleasure to welcome you to Boscrege. It was lovely to hear the children playing happily in the garden, and to hear of their adventures with their grandparents, but I expect you'll have needed a few days to 'recover' back home in Kent ?! I look forward to seeing you next time, best wishes, Julian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 24, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2016
Oh, thank you Vicky, that's very kind of you and it was a real pleasure to have you and your family to stay here at Boscrege. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found The Lodge to your liking. The beach at Gunwalloe is one to ad to the list for next time ?! You certainly packed plenty into your stay and some places I've yet to visit so Kynance Cove here I come ! Thank you and take care, Julian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pigeon43
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Absolutely fab-u-lous. 😚”
Reviewed July 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

After a very long drive from norwich we received a very warm welcome from julian who showed us round the Villa and had left goodies in the fridge so no need to go off shopping. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and well equipped.The villa situated at the end of a lane so lovely and quiet. Plenty to do and see we could have filled another week! Would love to go back another time and be prepared with walking boots. Thankyou julian. Hope to return and would definately recommend to anyone !

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2016
Hi Tim and Karen, Thank you for your generous review, very kind of you. It was a pleasure to welcome you to The Lodge at Boscrege, and I'm so pleased you had a lovely week. Walking boots are a great idea as there are lovely local walks out from the Villa, or just a short drive away (Prussia Cove coastal walk is a must next time !). Thanks again for taking the time to review, and I hope to see you back again sometime soon, Best Wishes, Julian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 17, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2016
Thank you Jill for the kind words. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your visit, and I hope the beautiful picture you purchased in St Ives reminds you of happy times in Cornwall with your Mum for years to come. I hope you can come back sometime, when some coastal walks can be on the agenda. Thanks again and Best wishes, Julian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home away from home comfort and facilities in a beautiful part of the country
Liked least: Having to go home!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2016
Hi Elaine, Bless you, what a lovely review and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I must say that I do miss Daisy barking at me in the morning as I go to refill the log basket for the wood burners, such a cheeky character. Come back anytime as I'm sure each of the seasons will be very different down here in Boscrege, and you'll be able to do some of those walks you'd earmarked. Thanks again, and hoping to welcome you back very soon, Julian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing