We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tolroy Manor Holiday Park
Ranked #4 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Hayle
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Booked this using the sun holidays got to admit I wasn't expecting much but have to say the accommodation was clean and ideal for what we needed. Didn't really use much on site as were out exploring most of the time we were there but even though we don't drive found this was a good location to get to other places

Would go again

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lou818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Tolroy Manor Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Hello Lou

Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback; it’s always a pleasure receiving such positive comments.

We do take great pride in cleaning all grades of accommodation to a very high standard and it’s brilliant that this isn’t going unnoticed. All comments will be passed on to our Housekeeper and the cleaning team.

We are very lucky with the location of our park in such a beautiful part of Cornwall and we are delighted that you were able to share that experience.

Let me thank you again for taking the time to leave this lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our park very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 650 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Lovely park,clean and tidy. Staff friendly and helpful. Money well spent.close to beach n st Ives yet lovely and peaceful.camp entertainment is great also,indoor swimming pool help also. What more can I say come people and enjoy your holiday x

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Tolroy Manor Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Hello Paul

Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic review. It is satisfying to hear that you had a great time on our park.

I have passed on your feedback on to the department managers so they can share this success with their teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed here in 2013 Easter and really enjoyed our stay.

On arrival, we checked in, the staff were friendly and approachable.

The site could not offer any more facilities than it did. We payed £100 for our stay which lasted a week. It was amazing value for money. Its location is excellent about 15 minutes from St Ives and 20 from Penzance.

The cottage was clean and had a fully equipt kitchen. The bar/entertainment was ace. Similar to that on a Haven site (Brought back some memories). There was loads of equipment for kids, shop, pool tables, dart boards etc. It literally had all you could need.

The cottege had 2 bedrooms with a sofa bed so could sleep 6 at a push. It had a tv and was reasonably well furnished.

It did get cold at night (time of year) and the duvets were not quite big or thick enough. I wish i had taken my own. This is my only small critisism as for couples and families you cant go wrong for value!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rgle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Tolroy Manor Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic review. It is satisfying to hear that you had a great time on our park. I have passed on your feedback on to the department managers so they can share this success with their teams.

I was disappointed to read your remarks about the duvets. Had you simply asked at reception, you would have been given extra bedding to protect you from the cold. If we don't know you have a problem, it is impossible for us to deal with it.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed here in Strawberry Fields, Strawberry Lane for 2 nights in Feb 2014.
Cottage was beautiful, clean, spacious, warm and well equipped.
Excellent location, close to attractions and local shops.
Short journey to St Ives etc.

Room Tip: Take a trip to Mutton Cove to see the seals
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faye22_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Tolroy Manor Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Hello Faye

What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Tolroy is a fabulous place to stay for your holiday in Cornwall. We've been to the John Fowler at Hayle and we'd never go back but this one is great. Stayed in a 3 bedroom house which had all the bits and bobs we needed. Had new shower suite. Only criticism is the sofa beds DESPERATELY need changing.
Entertainment was great and we had a really good time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JD0401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Tolroy Manor Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review thank you, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon, - our returning guests are so important to us and are the reason that we have been so successful for the past 60 years.

I now know that the other John Fowler park you refer to is the St Ives Holiday Village and you are quite the correct, the units at Tolroy Manor are of a more permanent structure. However, you will be pleased to hear that those chalets at St Ives are being slowly demolished and replaced with fantastic new lodges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

A quiet park but in a lovely setting, friendly staff everywhere, nothing was too much trouble. Accommodation was perfect for all seven of us. Bar was quiet (i don't mind that) but you could go around to the entertainment bar if you wanted a bit more action. Food was good and they even offer breakfasts at the weekends (saves cooking). Crazy golf is fun and free just a small deposit for the equipment, snooker, pool, swimming pool, tennis courts, sauna all good. shop well stocked at reasonable prices for a holiday park. A car would be ideal to enjoy this holiday to its best.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Dm1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Tolroy Manor Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and how helpful and friendly the staff were. We pride ourselves on our family feel at John Fowler Holidays, and are delighted to have such loyal customers as yourselves.

You are quite right about the necessity of a car, in fact both our brochure and our website clearly state, "A car is recommended to get the most out of a holiday at Tolroy".

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

After reading all of the other reviews I really wasn't looking forward to going to Tolroy but it wasn't as bad as I expected.

Stayed in a Crofters Chalet in Tudor Court. Yes there was a problem with condensation but we left electric heaters on and windows open a whilst we were there and this was fine. The chalet was clean and comfortable.

The car parking situation means that we did have to walk further than we would have liked to the chalet - this was a bit of a pain in the dark during heavy rainstorms with shopping/bags. There are no marked out spaces so towards the early evening it does look like cars have just been abandoned everywhere.

The pool is small and was very full and we were there off peak. The water was warm and the building was also warm but the changing rooms were disappointing. There were no lockers to store your belongings safely and they were very small. Lifeguard on duty was very polite and helpful. There were also small floats and 'noodles' for the kids to use in the pool. Yes the décor was very dated and there were tiles missing but it was clean.

The food was reasonably priced but nothing special.

We went to the entertainment bar on two evenings and the kids seemed to enjoy the kids club. The '4 corners game' they play does have the potential to descend into chaos and younger children did get knocked over. The dance floor is split into 4 corners and the kids had to chose a corner then one of the 'stripeys' would pick a corner to be out and the kids in that corner would have to sit down. The kids seemed to enjoy it though.

Our kids were disappointed by the arcade. We didn't have any change and when we went to the bar to get some we were told they didn't have any change even though we said it was for the arcade. This was in the evening about 1930 and the bar by reception had been open for a while so I couldn't understand why they didn't have change of £5.

The park is ideally located for Cornwall's attractions and close to the A30.

I think the park could do with updating the décor throughout the main club house but as a base the place is ideal especially when you consider the price compared to other parks in the area

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMA81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Tolroy Manor Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. It is satisfying to hear that you had a good time on our park.

I sometimes wonder who writes the poor reviews about such a lovely park but perhaps, more importantly, why. When we try to contact the writers of the really bad ones to discover what exactly went wrong with their holiday, you can imagine we get no reply.

With regard to the damp smell we are well aware of the reason but it is so difficult for us to deal with. Sadly, some people will occupy a holiday unit and not open a window for the duration of their stay. This was probably the case with the previous occupants of the chalet you stayed in. Cooking and sleeping with windows closed will slowly take its toll - especially in Devon and Cornwall where the atmosphere is usually so much more humid than most people are used to. I think we all know what happens when a property is not regularly aired. I am pleased to read that you dealt with it quickly.

The parking situation is an interesting one. When the park was designed, for safety sake, it was decided to keep cars away from as many front doors as possible - something which is appreciated by most people with young children. Obviously, this doesn't suit everyone.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayle
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Hayle
Premier Inn Hayle
#1 of 3 in Hayle
779 reviews
2.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Hayle
Travelodge Hayle
#2 of 3 in Hayle
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,044 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,776 reviews
3.6 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tolroy Manor Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tolroy Manor Holiday Park

Address: 28 Tolroy Road, Hayle TR27 6HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Hayle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Hayle
Price Range: $54 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tolroy Manor Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Tolroy Manor Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tolroy Manor Holiday Park Hotel Hayle
Tolroy Manor Holiday Park Hayle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing