We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St Ives Bay Holiday Park
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Hayle
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Family Holiday”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here for two weeks at the beginning of August in our tourer. Have to say that first impressions were a bit disappointing and even the children were asking to go back to the site that we had stayed at for a few days before going to St Ives. The site is full of statics/chalets and the touring/camping areas are dotted inbetween. There are a couple of negatives if you are touring! When camping etc. I am used to having space for the children to play, in most of the touring areas there is no spare space! We were really lucky where we were pitched (I had reserved a pitch in a particular area), but if I was sited in one of the other touring fields I would not have been impressed. The pitches seemed to be quite packed together and not very protected from the elements and believe me if you are in a caravan or tent when the wind picks up here you want some protection!! However, as the days went on and we explored the park we discovered that it really was quite good. The beach is amazing and you will never tire of the view from the Sandbar. The food and drink from the Sandbar is good too and not too expensive. They put on some outside sport activities (football, beach games etc.) on the evenings for the children which was good. There are two playareas, one either end of the park, however my two spent most of their time playing in the sand dunes. I can't comment on the evening entertainment as we stayed around the caravan and the children played with the neighbours children. If you are going to St Ives I would recommend the Park & Ride. We paid £8 for a family Ranger ticket return (this was from Cardigan Bay) and £5 parking but it was worth it not to have the stress of parking in St Ives!! We are talking about coming back next year as it is now a firm favourite!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steph0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stivesbay, Owner at St Ives Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thanks for your review. Hopefully others will find it useful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    212
    52
    25
    37
See reviews for
465
132
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
135 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here in August for 1 week in a Chalet. The Chalets (B4) are basic but for £450 per week during peak time you can't argue with that.

The beach is superb and literally on your doorstep. My Aussie Husband rated it alongside some of the best beaches back home.

The site has marvellous facilities especially for the kids. Best of all was the evening entertainment, especially for the kids in the Dynamite Bar. They have a separate kids room with their own entertainment so the kids could come and go as they pleased and it allowed the adults to have their own me-time. Ah bliss!!!

Only 1 grumble was that the kids room in Dynamite Bar desparately needed hard flooring rather than carpet as it smelt of urine. Don't know if this was because we were there late in the season but it is something that Management should consider replacing.

Room Tip: Book a Wednesday to Wednesday booking (B4 chalet) as you will avoid all the Saturday traffic on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ferg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stivesbay, Owner at St Ives Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thanks for the fab review. comments noted and will be checked out straight away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

On looking to holiday in Cornwall this year I came across St Ives Holiday Park & from Trip Advisor found excellent reviews. So for the first time in a couple of years, I went for this holiday centre. I wasn't disappointed. This is certainly the best holiday centre I have stayed in. The chalet was fine for me & my family, who were using it as a base to visit other places in Cornwall. The reception were helpful, the shop well equipped & staff friendly, while the bistro & bar (which we used a few times) followed the high standard this centre sets for itself. Some of the facilities start to be shut in September (due to lack of numbers I guess) but this didn't change our experience. The laundrette was clean & tidy & there were various ways to access the beach. The Internet was accessed best at the conservatory / bistro / bar but I quite liked getting away from it all in this sense. Anyone looking to visit Cornwall this place is certainly up there.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank NeilOakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stivesbay, Owner at St Ives Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you! we appreciate your review very much. Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just to let anyone who is considering a holiday at this park you would not be disappointed .This year we holidayed on the Wednesday to wednesday as this fitted in perfectly with our daughter returning to school .Our accomodation was the 4 person chalet to my suprise it was spacious and the room in the bedroom and shower room compared to the caravans was great .
The shower was lovely the kitchen was more than adequate for the little i wished to cook .The camp entertainment for the children was great even though my little girl had been 3 times before we had to be at every night 7.30 sharp .Mr Bamboozle is not to be missed .
Club nightly entertainment started with bingo thankyou Chris always entertaining .lol.Singers and bands all of a high standard love Shirley Bassey .
Reception staff were polite and helpful swiming pool is great and the life guards are ok .
Will be back next year with my sister and her grand children .
Thankyou from the Richards Family .

Room Tip: Chalets near the clubhouse as the site is very large and can be a long walk back from the club house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stivesbay, Owner at St Ives Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
thanks for the kind comments. Wednesday chalets are being refurbished (exteriors) this winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Such a shame that One very rude staff member has put us off from ever returning again..We have been coming here for a few years now. Great views and beach and have always enjoyed it until the rudeness this year .... will never return.. such a shame as was looking forward to a big family holiday here next year on our recommendations will now look for a new location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stivesbay, Owner at St Ives Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Just had two week stay from 31 aug. First week was fine second dissappointing that there was no entertaiment just an over crowded sands bar still open. We've been visiting this site for many years but have never known it to start closing down so early in the year. The caravans are still of an high standard and the location is super, but in 30 years the site has trebled in size but only a conservatory and the family room moved from above the sands bar to the side as changed and unfortunately the season is down to just three summer months. We will be visiting again next year because we like the area but it will only be for one week.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Keikem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stivesbay, Owner at St Ives Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks for your comments which are noted! Opening and closing dates for all facilities are in the brochure and on the website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Came here last year in August when we had the 'week of hell' weather-wise but still loved the site. The staff were really helpful then so we pledged to return. This year we had great weather and a fantastic time.
+ Great location by the dunes and beach which the kids love.
+ Showers and washing up included (no foraging for 20p each time unlike other sites - Callow Top take note)
+ Clean
+ Lifeguard patrolled beach with high vantage point. These guys do a great job.
+ Good facilities, beer and cider on draught.
+ Good entertainment - very good band one night
+ Very relaxed and unregimented
+ Good value for a top location
+ Last but not least, very friendly and helpful staff. The maintenance crew lent me a hacksaw to cut new poles to size (broke last year in the gales) Promptly came down and gave us a jump start a couple of times until I could replace the failing battery on the car. Such a friendly team, great customer service.

- None really! Pity you can't guarantee the weather

Will be back next year.
See my review of Callow Top - St Ives Bay knock them into a cocked hat.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lozza99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stivesbay, Owner at St Ives Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks for such a generous review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayle
2.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
3.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,618 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Hayle
Travelodge Hayle
#2 of 3 in Hayle
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
St. Ives Holiday Village
St. Ives Holiday Village
#19 of 21 in St Ives
885 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Atlantic
The Atlantic
#7 of 7 in Carbis Bay
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Ives Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Ives Bay Holiday Park

Property: St Ives Bay Holiday Park
Address: 73 Loggans Rd, Hayle TR27 5BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Hayle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Hayle
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run holiday park on fabulous sandy beach. Caravans Chalets and camping in the dunes. Bars, shop etc. Many units with fab sea views. Ideal for families and kids. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St Ives Bay Holiday Park Hotel Hayle
St Ives Bay Holiday Park Hayle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing