We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC PLACE!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St Ives Bay Holiday Park
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Hayle
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC PLACE!!!”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Reading the negative comments about this place I find it hard to believe we all stay in the same place! Food..great.staff..great..caravans..great. Beach...great.! Which is why we go back there year after year! Keep up the good work guys, we wouldnt go anywhere else! Thanks for a great holiday , yet again! See you next year!!!!!xxx

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    212
    52
    25
    37
See reviews for
465
132
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
manchester, uk
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Just returned from a lovely holiday at St Ives Bay Holiday Park. We had brilliant weather which made the holiday.
This is a quiet holiday park leading (albeit with a steep slope) to the beach which stretches for miles and is not busy (well at least it wasn't last week). I could have spent all day on the beach there but wanted to get out and about to visit the many lovely places in Cornwall.
We were a bit disappointed to find that the Dynamite club was not open last week even though it was School holidays. However it did not spoil our holiday. There is a nice swimming pool that never seemed too busy and a cafe bar which I thought was a bit expensive for snacks. There is a pub on site with seating outside overlooking the sea if the weather is nice.
There was also a fish & chip van at the entrance to the park (we did not use so cannot comment). The shop was well stocked but was only open until 5pm, but a short walk/drive away there is a Lidl shop or a bit further a co-operative.
Nearby is a retail park with the usual Next, Boots with pharmacy open until midnight etc.
It was a really relaxing holiday with spectacular views of the beach/sea/lighthouse from our caravan which was a brand new Raven 2 bedroom. It had an ensuite to the master bedroom (just wc and sink) and a 5ft bed (the mattress was a bit hard). Other members of our family stayed in an Osprey which was 3 bedroom, lovely and new and clean and also with great views of the sea. It had decent sized beds in the twin rooms too, not the usual slimline ones.
It even had a small hill with rabbits hopping in and out of burrows next to the caravan.
I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again and hopefully get lucky with the weather again.
It would be nice if they could make an easier access to the beach for young children and older visitors as the slope is quite steep and tiresome on the way back up meaning that my mum and auntie couldn't access this beautiful beach.
To summarise: a lovely park, nice clean caravans, beautiful beach and close to the many seaside towns this area has to offer.

Room Tip: Caravans with sea views are a must. However, these are quite a walk from the shop/club/reception if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sah897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

If you're looking for an unspoilt campsite offering spotless chalets, caravans, tent pitches etc spread over the wonderful dunes that are Upton Towers in walking distance of Gwithian then look no further. I can't fault this place and even the short hike (need a bit of puff) up and down to the beach is worth the stunning views this place has to offer. Hire a wetsuite from Pete and no matter the weather, the 3 mile of sandy beach is your entertainment. Facilites are limited to one shop, one pub, clubhouse (peak season), pool, conservatory/cafe with free wifi and it's the unspoilt, non comercial aspect that makes this site the best I've stayed. Must be good, 2 years in a row and booking again for next year!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CazzerR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Please ignore negative reviews this place is amazing quality caravans the staff are helpfull the beach is amazing the views are stunning and the place is spotless we are coming again and again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dazzler74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beddau, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

As a regular visitor to Corwall it's only recently I've stayed here. We enjoyed the site so much we have now been here 4 times.

We've had an A5* chalet for 3 visits which are tucked away at the furthest point of the park yet very conveniently close to the swimming pool, café and beach. And an A4* chalet on one visit because we booked late! Bearing in mind the volume of feet coming through these chalets they're clean, bright and well maintained. These have an open plan living area and whilst the kitchen has minimal pots pans and cooking utensils they're sufficient for most needs - but knowing this we bought the extra equipment we like to use with us the next time. The two bedrooms are surprisingly spacious and built in cupboards swallow up your belongings to save cluttering up the living area.

The staff are very polite and helpful. Nothing seems too much bother for them even at the busiest times. You can pre-order provisions from their shop to collect on arrival. Amazingly on our 1st visit they couldn't source most of our wish-list from their shop (a lot of organic items) - so had gone into Hayle to buy the missings items for us! That made us feel so welcomed and set the scene for a wonderful holiday.

Entertainment is not 'our thing' but it's very popular with many guests. Noise from the bars is generally low and no nonsense security stops any unruly behaviour. My children did go to one event with friends they made and thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

The swimming pool is generally not over used and a quiet time can usually be found. The adjacent café serves good snacks, has great views out to sea, and a few bar room games which go down well with the children.

There are a number of small play areas for the children dotted around the site which is great. The launderettes are good on site too, able to cope with large volumes of visitors.

For years we have stayed in cottages and farmhouse accommodation. But not now. This site is well run and well managed with cheerful staff :-)

Room Tip: The A5* chalets are well positioned and in a quiet part of the park. But if on a budget seek one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maestro2296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed, a family of 8 in longships last week.

I have to say we were very disapointed with the lack of care and the poor facilities on offer.

The location is fine with open views to the sea which is a very steep walk from the house. nothing wrong with views and location.

very glad not there in busy season as it is located next to the restaurant and bar and is also 20 yards from a childrens play park, so no quiet times on the balcony are likely when busy, however overall its a good location if you like a lively location for your holiday. and nice views

The house was very poorly prepared for our visit:

Bins in both bathrooms full of nappies left by previous guests.

All dining and side plates were stacked filthy dirty in the cupboard, clearly not washed by previous residents and not checked by housekeeping staff.

external waste bin full with other peoples waste.

TV cable faulty took 3 days to repair what was a defective cable that should have been checked before we moved in.

downstairs bathroom pull cord for light snapped off ( we fixed it ourselves)

Toilet extractor fans loud and vibrate throughout the building when turned on.

House construction is poor . Loud creaking floorboards disturbs everyone in bedrooms below, no chance of an early morning coffee without waking entire house with loud creaking floorboards.
Walls thin and of poor construction so no or little privacy, also apart from one double and one twin all beds are bunks, and not very roomy.


An excellent kitchen is hopelessly understocked with the neccessary items to have a family meal around the large dining table.

only one set of very cheap cutlery per person, no serving spoons, slices, etc. If you have a 2 course meal you will have to wash up during the meal to allow enough crockery and cutlery to be usable during the meal.

No serving dishes, serving tongs or bowls apart from one fruit bowl, no mixing bowls, gravy jugs, or anything else for that matter. Absolutely poor and limited supply of poor quality limited kitchen items.

one 10 inch frying pan for feeding 10 people, an absolute joke!! 90% of the cupboards in the kitchen were empty.

if you like a decent cup or mug to drink out of you are out of luck, just one cheap mug covered in advertising for the site is supplied. Cheap tumblers like cheap toothbrush glassess are all thats supplied, no slim jims or a beer glass for a long drink.

given this is advertised as their premier accomodation I would suggest this is a misleading description.

I normally avoid leaving negative reviews, but this one is justified due to the appaling lack of customer care shown when I reported my concerns to reception no less than 3 times.

A very rude young girl interjected when I spoke to a member of the counter staff to say , when I asked why there were only cheap mugs in the house, that " customers asked for decent tea cups and saucers to be removed and only wanted cheap mugs" !! talk about patronising, Her idea of customer care is you are wrong we are right!!

When i explained about the filthy crockery, we washed everything before we could use it, she said I should have told them on arrival and housekeeping would sort it out. I explained we arrived after 5pm and they were all long gone with just a security man who handed us our keys, to this she shrugged, but never apologised for this poor hygiene issue.

I asked why there were inadequate kitchen utensils and was told housekeeping would sort it out, guess what nothing was done. We went to hayle pound shop and lidls and spent about £30.00 on some basics for the kitchen as it was hopelessly equipped.

so overall a dispapointing trip, anyone staying in peak and paying 1.5K a week would be advised to check they have restocked the kitchen, fixed the faults, cleaned it properly and have done something about the poor build quality of the building generally.

had someone had the courtesy to respond to my complaints whilst on site I would not have left this honest but negative feedback, the patronising young girl needs to be trained in appropriate customer care techniques!!

a very disapointed family, let down by poor service standards and lack of attention to basic standards.

Room Tip: avoid this house until refurbed and properly fitted out. make sure its been properly cleaned when yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gromitandwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

Have been holidaying here all my life have been coming here for twenty four years now and I love every minuet I stay there, facilities are great , love the food at bay bistro , it has everything you need I would recommend it to anyone .

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawreli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayle
2.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
3.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,617 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Hayle
Travelodge Hayle
#2 of 3 in Hayle
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
St. Ives Holiday Village
St. Ives Holiday Village
#19 of 21 in St Ives
885 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Atlantic
The Atlantic
#7 of 7 in Carbis Bay
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Ives Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Ives Bay Holiday Park

Property: St Ives Bay Holiday Park
Address: 73 Loggans Rd, Hayle TR27 5BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Hayle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Hayle
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run holiday park on fabulous sandy beach. Caravans Chalets and camping in the dunes. Bars, shop etc. Many units with fab sea views. Ideal for families and kids. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St Ives Bay Holiday Park Hotel Hayle
St Ives Bay Holiday Park Hayle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing