We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun - can't wait to try again”

Gwithian Academy of Surfing
Ranked #2 of 3 Tours in Hayle
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come and surf with us at St Ives Bay in Cornwall. Learn the basics of surfing or fine tune your technique with a surfing lesson at the Gwithian Academy of Surfing - one of Cornwall's longest running and most highly regarded surf schools.At our surf school we take surf tuition seriously and work hard to make sure that your surfing lesson is as fun and rewarding as possible. For this reason all of our coaches are fully qualified as surf coaches, lifeguards and first aiders and two have even coached the British Junior Surfing Team on a number of occasions. A surf lesson with us can help you to achieve all of your surfing goals.Gwithian Academy of Surfing is an Academy of Surfing Instructors Accredited Surf School (one of only three in Britain) that operates from Gwithian - the Northernmost point of St Ives Bay - and is very close to the towns of Hayle, St Ives and Penzance.Our surf school is run from a purpose built beach-side location where we can offer changing facilities, a classroom for teaching surfing theory and providing video analysis, a gym and ample parking.Gwithian Academy of Surfing offers group and private surfing lessons for all levels - beginners, intermediate and advanced- and for all ages. We regularly cater for families, backpackers, children, schools and corporate groups.Beside our surf school we have a surf shop where we can spend time with you to find the right equipment to suit your build, style and ability.Accommodation can also be provided in our beautiful seaside village to help make your stay the perfect surfing holiday.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Although I've never tried surfing before, the staff were great - really helpful and encouraging. I can't wait to try again next year.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Jude R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyson G, Owner at Gwithian Academy of Surfing, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

We are stoked that you enjoyed it so much! Thanks for writing a review for us and see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 63 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

All of the staff were really professional and excellent teachers. They encouraged and helped all members of the group including all ages and fitness levels. There was an excellent ratio of instructors to participants.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Karina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyson G, Owner at Gwithian Academy of Surfing, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate it and we are stoked that you keep coming back to us. See you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I completed some surfing sessions with my partner at Gwithian Academy of Surfing in August and it was brilliant. We chose to do two sessions and this included a 2 hour lesson each morning and an additional hour to use the equipment on our own. As beginners, this was perfect, especially since we spent the majority of the time in the water. The instructors were really friendly and helpful and the whole experience was well organised and efficient.
I would recommend doing a surfing course with them and will definitely be returning.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Little_Miss_Trucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyson G, Owner at Gwithian Academy of Surfing, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you for the lovely review, we are delighted that you had such a good experience with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Amazingly good price for wetsuit hire compared to other local businesses. Very friendly staff who are willing to advise you on safety as well as location :)

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank 32Ginny81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyson G, Owner at Gwithian Academy of Surfing, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate it and we are delighted that you found us to be such good value. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We booked this on a whim as part of my Hen week in Cornwall, thinking it would be a great idea. Now, i'm no spring chicken, and i'm certainly not built for head to toe neoprene (?) but as i was with my mates i thought, why not.

I have to admit we messed the guys around quite a bit, changing the numbers, dates etc right up until we had no choice but to go that day, or not at all and they were very patient with us.

So it was that 5 of us 30 something complete non surfers dragged ourselves very unwillingly to Gwithian for what i belived would be the most humliating experience of my life.

As it was, the surf was very low - to the point that we offered to not bother going. A suggestion that was naysayed by the lovely team who cajouled us into our wetsuits and marched us down to the beach.

I'm so glad they did. What a laugh! Even the fact that our instructor was probably young enough to be my son and i couldn't even get on the board laying down, let alone standing up didn't dampen our spirits. Two ofour party actually managed to surf, not bad considering less than an hour earlier we had no idea what way round the board went.

All in all a brilliant experience that i recommend to anyone of any age. I'll definitley go again.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Kayzee76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyson G, Owner at Gwithian Academy of Surfing, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thanks for the review and for coming to us for your last adventure before marriage! Hope everything is good with you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gwithian Academy of Surfing also viewed

 

Been to Gwithian Academy of Surfing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing