We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandbank House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandbank House
Ranked #2 of 15 Hayle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glos
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great place"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed for just one night, booked at very late notice after my husband had ridden from John O'Groats to Land's End - and Julie and Chris could not have been more accommodating. A beautiful room, excellent bathroom, welcome glass of mead and homemade cake and a very good breakfast. As frequent travellers to South Africa we tend to gauge standards by the amazing b and b's we have stayed in over there - and Sandbank House is of that same high standard. Turns out that's what the rooms, house, breakfast and service have been based upon! We can highly recommend it - and are very grateful for the kind donation to my husband's bike ride charity.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BabsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandbankholidays, Owner at Sandbank House, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We're very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Sandbank House, and appreciate the comparison to the beautiful B&B's in South Africa. We hope to see you again if you come back to Cornwall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
64
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Windach, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We came here, devastated after several usual B&B nights in narrow beds, bathhroom on the floor and pretty old houses. Here you got the opposite! Wide beds and modern rooms in Hollywoodstyle, bathrooms were you can get lost. Cosy towels and a nice view over the beautyful garden. Everything you will dream about breakfast including fresh stawberries, tea,coffee, eggs etc. etc. will be prepared by the nice hosts.We never wanted to get off this place, but after 4 nights we had to face reality again.This was our nicest stay on the Island and to it's very best it is no fake comment. It is highly recommended by Doris and Christoph from Bavaria.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandbankholidays, Owner at Sandbank House, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and we're very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We hope to see you again when you come back to Cornwall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We only wanted one night to see our friends who were on holiday nearby and a lot of B&Bs in Cornwall have minimum stays. Not here, so welcoming and lovely little touches like the splendid port and breakfast made our stay just perfect. Good sized bathroom unlike some of the cupboards which pretend to be bathrooms, fluffy towels and hot shower, what else could you want? Would go again for sure.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RedLeafFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandbankholidays, Owner at Sandbank House, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We'd love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

This B&B is a little gem! The hosts are so welcoming and the place is just perfect. If you're looking for a luxury room with awesome shower, great location go walking, top notch breakfast and friendly accommodating host this is the place to be.

Pre-booked we arrived by bicycle drenched by the rain but we were welcomed in with a warm cup of tea. After showering up we were give some local advice and we set off for a walk on the dunes beautiful spot..
love it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank datravellerdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandbankholidays, Owner at Sandbank House, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and always good to hear that people have enjoyed their stay at Sandbank House and the location. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had a wonderfull stay at the Sandbank House! Everything was very good. We had booked the Garden room. This room is very comfortable and cosy and it has a very nice shower too. Besides the windowview is beautiful.

As we are not much into full english breakfast, Julie made us a very nice continental breakfast. Breakfast was served in a very beautiful sunroom with garden view.

Julie and Chris, the B&B owners, are friendly and welcoming people. We felt very well looked after.

We would highly recommend this nice B&B and we hope to stay at the Sandbank House again soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DvW76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandbankholidays, Owner at Sandbank House, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Sandbank House and thank you for your very kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayle
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Hayle
Premier Inn Hayle
#1 of 3 in Hayle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
4.0 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
3.5 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Hayle
Travelodge Hayle
#2 of 3 in Hayle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.4 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 3 in Hayle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbank House

Property: Sandbank House
Address: 51 Upton Towans, Hayle TR27 5BL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Hayle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hayle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandbank House is a friendly, family-run Bed & Breakfast that offers a warm welcome. Our en-suite rooms are tastefully decorated with a wide choice of breakfasts served in the conservatory. All bedrooms are tastefully decorated to a high standard. Sandbank House dates back to 1898 and is nestled in a peaceful conservation area on the eastern side of St. Ives Bay. A two minute drive from Gwithian Beach and ten minutes from St. Ives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sandbank House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbank House Hayle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing